We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great small hotel, larger chains could learn a lot from this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #14 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great small hotel, larger chains could learn a lot from this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night following a 3 night stay in Galway for a friends wedding. We just wanted a launch pad to spend a afternoon early evening in Dublin have a few pints of Guinness and listen to some folk music. We arrived to a warm welcome, be warned the parking is round the back of hotel and you will need to get code as it is gated - which is excellent. The room (budget double) was tiny but packed with everything you want, and it had a comfortable double bed, high standard of furnishing, lots of sockets, iPod dock, quality wifi (not the rubbish stuff you get in most hotels) and was clean as a whistle. All in all a great small hotel at a great price and we took in most sights by walking (we are both fairly fit in our early 30's and after 3 nights of indulgence wanted to walk off some excess). Book it!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank robmanmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    295
    61
    18
    6
See reviews for
166
486
82
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids) stayed in the Roxford family room for three fabulous nights. When we arrived tired and jet lagged, Lynnsie at the front desk, immediately welcomed us into the lovely parlor room and brought us tea, water and snacks. For the remainder of the three days she helped us organize some wonderful day tours and gave us great site seeing tips. The hotel is in a nice residential area, close enough to walk to all the main attractions but out of the direct center for a quiet night sleep. Our room package came with a complimentary breakfast which was impressive and delicious: a full "cooked to order" menu plus a large continental spread of juices, yogurt, cheese, fruit and cereal which kept us full of energy for hours. I would highly recommend the Roxford Hotel for your stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRNaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had a 3 night break at the start of August 2013, took my mother with me & we had 2 double bed rooms, my room had the sauna which I did not use (the handle was broken on the sauna room door) & the Jacuzzi bath, which worked fine.

My mother’s room had a show only wet room (at our request) as she is disabled, however, she said she had nearly slipped on the floor of the shower room & there was no none slip floor or mat down.

On our arrival the very helpful lady on the front deck, showed us to our rooms but the lift door would try & close even if you were part way in the lift & would not re-open automatically, which the lady commented on that they need to fix the lift door (for me it was not a problem but for my mother or a young child it could have been a different story).

We asked if there were any small shops as we needed something to eat, the lady said about the restaurant or could make us a sandwich, however, the following day about 5 mins walk was the Spa shop that had I known I would have used. There is a bus stop outside or you could walk but it’s a far walk into the city centre.

We picked B&B when we stayed & the breakfast was a good spread & you could have a cooked breakfast at a small extra charge but we did not have this.

The rooms had LCD flat screen TV, a DVD player & some DVDs to play, however some of the TV channels did not work.

Overall it’s a nice B&B (more than a hotel), however, the cost is far too high for what is on offer (albeit this is in part due to the exchange rate) & I would not look to stay there again if I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dda3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This small hotel was comfortable and charming, more like a B&B with perks. Staff was incredibly friendly, and offered us coffee and bisquits on our arrival. We stayed 4 nights and had continental breakfast every day, which was only 6 euros but with a lot to eat (the full Irish breakfast for 12 € would have been too big for us). The location is a bit off the city centre, but within walking distance (about 2 km) -- if you like walking I think it was better option than taking a taxi: driving in the city centre is really slow and the traffic is cramped. Extra luxury was that there was a small infrared-sauna in the room, which we used every day! The bathtub could also be used as a jacuzzi. The room was very clean and it was really quiet during the nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 462Laurel_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Roxford Lodge is a quaint hotel/B&B which is a short cab ride from the airport and close to the sites in Dublin in a quiet residential type of neighborhood. We were greeted by Lynnsie who was so welcoming and helpful and made our first day in Ireland a positive one. The rooms have a certain charm to them as does the whole hotel. Our kids stayed in a triple room which was spacious and comfortable. Our double room met all of our needs and the beds were above average in comfort. The breakfast was delicious and their porridge (oatmeal) was the BEST I had in Ireland. Give yourself a bit of extra time with breakfast as the ladies in the kitchen really like to take care of you and it may take a bit longer than expected!
Roxford is a quick 10 minute walk to Trinity College and the Book of Kells and Dublin Castle is just about 10 minutes further. An enjoyable walk past a few places to grab a bit to eat and some pretty homes.
I would stay at Roxford Lodge again and recommend it as nice place to stay outside of the City Centre yet close enough to everything you would like to see/do.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OhJackieO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braselton, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

This has been the most charming, most welcoming, and friendliest hotel I've ever stayed at so far. They went way beyond all of my expectations. Every body was easy to approach and talk to. The hotel met all of my needs while going the extra mile in ways I didn't expect. The entire hotel was clean, the room was very clean, comfortable, the bed was perfect, with the window open you could barely hear anything from outside, and the restaurant was great. It was my first Irish breakfast which is pretty similar to an American breakfast but with the addition of black and white pudding. I'm not talking about custard here but give it a try. It's 15 minutes away from the airport and a 5 minute walk from the Chop house. I highly recommend this hotel because from here on out this will be the only hotel I will be using when I return to Dublin.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This is much more a large B&B rather than a conventional hotel. The room was so idiosyncratic, on three levels, with full kitchen, bar and work space, in addition to sauna and hot tub! The staff couldn't try harder to accommodate us and assist with cabs and directions, especially Leslie.

Room Tip: Try the "executive Suite" it's memorable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveVienna_Austria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,929 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,725 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#2 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 520 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#7 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,111 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 151 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing