We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roxford Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night stayed in the economy single room 124 and it was just fine, place is clean warm and such a short distance from city, great transport options on your door. Would definitely stay again

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Ray F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    287
    57
    18
    6
See reviews for
162
477
78
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
93 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I stayed for 4 nights in an Economy Single room. The room was very small, but well appointed. There was a sauna in the room that took up a lot of space. Would be much better value w/o the sauna in the room. The bathroom was nice. Not too small. Enjoyed the jacuzzi tub.

The hotel is located about a 20 minute walk/7 EUR cab ride/1.40 EUR bus ride from the city centre. Very safe, posh area. Bus stop right outside the hotel. Cabs everywhere.

They have free unsecured wifi which worked only part of the time I was there. But I found this to be a common occurrence in Dublin. Wifi was out everywhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RestlessRebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I chose this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor and I was not dissappointed.
Very friendly and helpful staff, I was offered tea or coffee on numerous occasions, served in the lounge.
My room was clean, comfortable, and even had a jacuzzi in the bathroom. It was cleaned every day.
The hotel is situated about 15 minutes walk from Trinity College 25 minutes from the Liffey.
There is a bus that runs past the hotel every 15-20 minutes to the City centre and back for 1€ each way.
I decided not to have breakfast at the Roxford as I like to eat out, and just down the road towards Trinity College is Kilkenny, a family homeware store that has a restuarnt on the first floor. For 5€ you can chose four breakfast items and for 7€ you can choose six items plus brown or white toast plus tea or coffee, and it was all really, really good quality, hot, with great service. The relish is a must to try!! It was so good I decided to have go back the next day and have the extra items. Kilkenny also have a lunch and evening menu changed daily!

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Mrnick99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here on a midweek trip and it was absolutely fantastic. We had a gorgeous room with a high ceiling that just made it feel so spacious, the hotel oozes character but has all the amenities too. The high speed internet was excellent, which I needed for work. The parking is very secure and there are plenty of spaces.

The room had to be the cleanest and best maintained of any I have stayed in, the DVDs in the room are a really nice touch, and I found the desk with the fax/printer very useful. We didn't use the jacuzzi bath or steam room but they looked good.

The staff are excellent, very helpful, friendly and accommodating, I was able to use the hotel as a base even after I had checked out.

This will now be my default hotel when visiting Dublin. Very happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

A friend and I just completed four nights at the Roxford Lodge Hotel in Dublin's Ballsbridge District. Close to Aviva Stadium where we enjoyed a rugby test match between South Africa and Ireland, the hotel is also within easy walking distance to the central part of the city [for spry Guiness-drinkers like ourselves] or an easy bus ride or taxi away.

From the airport, the AirCoach stops within 150 metres of the Roxford at School House Hotel. Be warned, though, if you buy a return ticket in advance as I did leave plenty of time for your return journey. Our bus was at least 25 minutes late so we ended up grabbing a cab anyway.

As for the Roxford, the rooms are clean; the hotel is quiet; and the prices are reasonable. While ours did not come with the complimentary Irish Breakfast, we enjoyed the 6 Euro continental starter that was not only more than adequate, it was far more than either of us would eat in a typical day back home.

Of special note is the service. Agnes, Desmond and Jennifer were terrific. Every night when we returned to the hotel, Agnes was there to offer us a pot of tea or coffee and some cookies in our room -- the consummate hostess. When we discovered a broken hanger rod in our closet, Desmond immediately appeared to fix it. And Jennifer proved to be the ultimate guide, directing us to points of interest cultural and festive.

If you want to be in the middle of the action, then the Roxford may not be for you. If you like to be near the action in a quieter part of the city, and if exceptional service means anything to you, consider the Roxford for your next trip to Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary1669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel’s a gem. On arrival I was made to feel I was the most important customer it was ever going to have to stay within it.

Stephanie (the receptionist) made me feel very welcome and with an immediate offer of tea or coffee I was convinced I had made the right choice of hotel for my Dublin stay.

As an unaccompanied traveller I was delighted with my room. It was not big but it was of sufficient size and was spotlessly clean. It was well furnished and had a delightful bathroom. The Jacuzzi was the icing on the cake for me.

The hotel is in a nice area and if public transport is your means of getting about the bus stop is beside the hotel and a modest fare (1.4 euros) will get you into the city centre.

I had breakfast in the hotel. It was freshly prepared, tasted great and was well presented by a pleasant member of staff.

I hope to go to this hotel again. This was my first stay in the Roxford; having stayed in quite a few Dublin hotels in the past. Any future stays in the south side of Dublin will definitely be in this one.

Room Tip: My room was located on the ground floor at the front of the building. The front of the building is n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobReilly494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,851 reviews
2.4 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,027 reviews
2.4 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#16 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#2 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
1.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
1.1 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#5 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roxford Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roxford Lodge Hotel

Property: Roxford Lodge Hotel
Address: 46 Northumberland Road, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#16 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#26 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Roxford Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Roxford Lodge Hotel is situated in the heart of Ballsbridge, one of Dublin's most fashionable and exclusive areas. It shares its location with that of the World's Embassies, the Royal Dublin Society (RDS), Lansdowne Road Rugby Stadium, and many other luxury hotels such as The Four Seasons and Jury's Hotel to name but a few. This elegant Victorian townhouse is only a short stroll from the bustling centre of cosmopolitan Dublin, and the city's main tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Roxford Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roxford Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing