We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great stay in a special hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Schoolhouse Hotel to your Saves list
Schoolhouse Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Würzburg
2 reviews
“A great stay in a special hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

We stayed 4 days and it was an amazing experience! The location is great, the staff is very friendly and helpful and it's only about a 15-minute-walk to the city centre. The hotel is right beside the canal in Ballsbridge and it's peaceful.
There is free wifi and even free movies. You definitely won't get bored.
It's also very easy to get there as there's an aircoach-stop right outside the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank heeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

I arrived at the hotel to be met by very friendly staff, who were most helpful. The room was very nice, and something a little different to the normal 'chain' hotels, where they all look alike, the decor was most pleasent, providing a very homely feeling, and you imeadiatly feel all relaxed. Just the thing after a busy day of meetings....

Theres two restaurants, one very fine dining, (unfortenatly I didnt get the chance to try this one on my visit) and also a bar that serves food, which was very good, especially the steak :-)

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank paulie2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2011

This is a really great hotel. The staff are particularly friendly. We ate in the bar restaurent and the food was delicious. So near to the city, we walked to Grafton Street in 20 minutes. Wonderful breakfast, especially the pancakes. The only drawback was that the shower curtain needs to be replaced..

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elderberry28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

To sum up the schoolhouse its nice, the receptioinst was very nice and competent. The room we were given was freezing, so she immediatly retified this changing the room for us (which was toasty). The rooms are good in size, and have everything that you might want in a mid range hotel. The beds are very comfortable. However 4 star it ain't folks, and if you've paid for a four star you will be disapointed. We would rate it as a very good Guesthouse. Its nice, cosy, homely, there is a bar with lovely decor with average bar food and very average, over-priced wine list and restaurant. We paid €85 an internet special. It is situated well with everything within walking distance, it is on a main bus route, including an Aircoach stop just outside which services dublin airport.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank concannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

Had a great time at the Schoolhouse Hotel. Lovely neighbourhood, great room, nice ambience in the hotel. Extremely convenient for city centre while offering a measure of peace and quiet. Also exceptional value for money for Dublin City (Advance Purchase Rate from hotel itself).

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed just one night in the Schoolhouse Hotel. On arrival, we were greeted by a very friendly, helpful receptionist, however our hotel room was very sub-standard. The room was freezing cold, and the dated heating system took forever to warm up. The wooden radiator cover had a hole in it, like as if someone had put their leg thorugh it !!
The shower curtain was a disgrace, with mildew scattered all over the curtain. The bed was large but uncomfortable. To say this is a 4 star hotel baffles me......2 star is more appropriate.
On our second night we stayed in a proper 4 star hotel, - The Gibson Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tilly10dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Just returned from today from 3 nights at the Schoolhouse Hotel. We had booked 2 rooms; and we were disappointed on every level.
First of all, it is not a 4 star, luxury hotel as described. No attention whatsoever is paid to detail.The reception area was shabby, the hallways dingy, the rooms tired and depressing. In both rooms, wallpaper was peeling from the walls in areas; light bulbs were missing; bathtubs chipped and shower curtains mildew stained. We had booked the hotel requesting a cot in one room for a five year old, when we arrived there was a pack and play for a baby. There were no bottles of mineral water, no luxury bathrobes until I called and made a request. When we arrived back rom sightseeing, the bed looked as though we had just gotten out of it and the wastebasket was full. I went out into the hall and asked the maid if she had fininished the romm and she said she had so I askled her to please come back and make the bed, etc. I left a letter for the manager (who turned out to be someone other than who was listed in their info booklet...which, one would expect would be changed and refilled each day but it was not) I never received the courtesy of a response.
On the second morning we asked reception to make a reservation for dinner that evening in the hotle bar/restauarnt she told us "absolutely not, the bar doesn't take reservations, just walk in." Needless to say when we arrived, they asked if we had a reservation and, fortunately the bar manager Adam was terrific and made a place for us as soon as he could because of opur five year old.
I cannot say the recpeion hotel staff was particularly friendly...the only positive about the Schoolhouse is the bar/restaurant is lovely. But stay somewjhere else and go there for a drink or dinner!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tewksburyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#16 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 881 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#9 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,567 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#24 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Business Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing