We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attic Hideaway”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2009

Converted old brick college building with a very nice bar & breakfast room. Staff bent over backward to be helpful with directions, restaurant choices. Breakfast large but average Ireland - basic cooking - toast, eggs, meats. Good croissants though a bonus. The chicken wings in the bar are incredible. We had the attic room that was seperate from all the others - nice bathroom although shower was difficult to use - sideways. Big canopy King bed. Tea and cookies at afternoon in room waiting for you. Ice in buckets and sparkling and still water included. Parking is included but difficult to manuver - small. Was further from the tourist spots and night life than we expected. Had to taxi or drive but parking in town is very difficult. Near American Embassy.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slce123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2009

Room was small & the bathroom tiny. Our reservation said free internet access and movies- Well neither was free. Breakfast okay. The most unexciting one of our 12 day trip. Dinner was pricey but the steak was good. To us over-rated and too expensive for what you got. We stayed elsewhere in Dublin and had a larger room and better breakfast for 1/3 less with FREE internet access.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toobusyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We really enjoyed our stay at the Schoolhouse. I had a business trip and at the last minute added my college aged daughter to the sojourn. Breakfast was great every morning and was included in the price. The architecture and themed accoutrement were charming. The rooms were very small - kind of like a New York hotel experience. It was fine for us, but I would imagine unless you were related it might feel a bit cramped. You can walk to everything and the airport bus brings you right to the hotel doorstep. I got a very good deal via the Dublin tourism site and the hotel management said they strive to offer the best price directly on their website. Would definitely stay again, but probably not with my husband or son who would look like Gulliver in the room.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garratys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2009

History, Great food and drink, fab staff, parking, central, what more could ya ask for!!!I My girlfriend and i stayed 2 nights in this very romantic, charming hotel which played its part in the 1916 rising, the turning point in irish history, our freedom from british rule.. there is still bullit holes in the woodwork from the fighting between the british army and the irish volenteers on easter week 1916..

The food is fantastic and the Guinnes is so so good, we had our breakfast brought to our room on both mornings and believe me its worth it!!! Best breakfast ever!!!!!!! The building itself is beautifull...

All i can say is go there!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mickSligo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2009

I have stayed at the Schoolhouse on several previous occasions, but this time it was disastrous. The restaurant was closed to guests because of a private party (no mention of this when booking) and guests had to use the bar to eat. The staff there were unable to cope. Part of my meal arrived very quickly, before the table was even laid. It was already only lukewarm (someone else's wrong order?), and got colder waiting for the cutlery. The side-salad arrived later, and the wine only came as the main course was nearly finished.
In the bedroom, the central heating remote control (the only way to turn it on) was missing. Having stayed there before I knew what was required (others may not have done) and a trip to reception produced a replacement. However this didn't work. Another trip to reception, and a visit from the receptionist to the room, produced the verdict that the central heating was broken. I asked for another room, but the hotel was full. I asked for maintenance, but they had gone home. The receptionist suggested I use the free-standing electric heater in the room, and offered to provide a second. However, i've never seen one of these before at this hotel, and suspect that the heating was known to be not working, which is why there was no remote and the heater was already there.
Also, the sink was blocked, and emptied very slowly. i didn't even try to get this fixed, as I'd already been told that maintenance had gone home for the night.
All in all, a disaster, well below experience on previous visits.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed in the School House, Dublin for New Years eve and found the whole experience a perfect way to welcome in 2009.
The hotel itself is full of character and the staff are charming. The bar is particularly cosy with roaring open fires. The bedroom was larger than we expected with eveything required to make the stay comfortable. Its about a 15-20 minute walk from Temple Bar.
The breakfast was very good with a full continental and a la carte selection.
Well worth a visit-we'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manoloCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2008

We stayed here for two nights beginning November 4 and were immediately impressed by the warm welcome we received from the young lady at the reception desk.
During our stay she and her colleagues - including those serving the delicious breakfasts in the restaurant - could not have been more pleasant or helpful.
However, some aspects of our room (105) were less positive.
Black mould was starting to build up on surfaces around the bath.
The tile grouting had seen better days and the bottom of the shower curtain was very discoloured.
The sink overflow was also in need of a good clean.
The toilet was clean enough but its exterior was stained at the bottom which I assume was the result of polish being applied to the wooden floor.
In the bedroom itself dust had built up on the upper rims of some of the lampshades.
The inside of the kettle on the hospitality tray had also seen better days.
The bed itself, however, was comfortable and all linen including sheets, duvet cover, pillowcases and towels were spotlessly clean.
Basically, a little more attention to detail with bleach and a vacum cleaner's dusting attachment would have gone a long way to rectifying these faults.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hopingtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#37 of 150 in Dublin
1,790 reviews
1 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
2,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#24 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $124 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing