We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Schoolhouse Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dylan Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mespil Hotel(Dublin)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,252)
Filter reviews
1,252 results
Traveler rating
667
407
119
41
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
407
119
41
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree moviesunique hotelgrand canalcity centreminute walkmerrion squareaviva stadiumtrinity collegebord gais theatregreat barquiet locationroom was largedublin airportbar fooddart stationbreakfast was deliciousgrafton st
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
699 - 704 of 1,252 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at Schoolhouse and it really could not have been nicer stay. The Bram Stoker room was a great size, the amenities were exactly what we needed, and the location was excellent as well. Far enough away from the hubbub, but a nice walk if we wished to experience the hubbub.

We pre-paid for a full breakfast and felt it was a lovely value. Great food, freshly prepared. We also had a nightcap in the bar our second evening and it was wonderful. The ambience is very relaxing and architecturally interesting as well.

The best part was the service. Zoe, at the front desk, especially was fantastic and super helpful with questions, etc. We plan on returning to Dublin in the next few years and plan to stay here again. We would recommend it to any type of traveler, who wants something more than a B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anamcara1004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here one night with late checkout to allow us time to get back and shower. Everything is within walking distance. Our room was lovely and cosy, beds were comfortable. There was a kettle with tea, coffee and cookies in the room. We ate lunch at the attached bar and it was reasonable. They have vegetarian and gluten free options. Our stay included breakfast which was anything off the breakfast menu. Staff were friendly and very nice when we needed help.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruuree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Excellent bar. Food very good at very reasonable prices. Avoid toilets these are terrible. Would be embarressed if my Customers had to use these facilities. All in all well worth a visit particularly if toilets improved.

Thank 519Phoebe
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Schoolhouse is centrally located in Ballsbridge literally right down the street from Trinity College. There is on site parking if you have a car and most everything in the City Centre is within walking distance - we even walked to the Guinness Storehouse. The room was quite large with a great, large bed. The bathroom had a really good shower head. The wood flooring in the bathroom kept popping up, but we simply kept a towel on the floor to keep from stubbing our toes. It appeared that the hotel had try to address this issue and you could see where they were making upgrades to the bathroom itself - very nice. The Staff was very helpful & friendly. We loved the fact that you left your room key at the Front Desk. Breakfast was amazing! A full buffet with grains, breads, nuts of all kinds & juice plus you could order additional items off the menu. If you like smoked Salmon order it! Irish meats & fish are some of the best in the world! The Pub also had excellent food and great service. With the history of the hotel I would be interested to know if it has any hauntings. I'll look this up as I did have an interesting experience the first night, nothing bad at all. Just interesting and smelled of a rose powder perfume. Lovely place to stay, great location, excellent food and Staff.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandiegoBethany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The Schoolhouse is slightly idiosyncratic, charming and a tiny bit Fawlty Towers all rolled into one. Its location is excellent affording easy walking to many of the important parts of the city. On entering my room the TV screen welcomed a Mrs Patel...wrong sex and ethnicity, I'm afraid-or maybe there's a policy of doubling up guests? The rooms are cosy rather than opulent and the shower so good that I managed to flood the bathroom floor. Breakfast in what must have been the old assembly hall was excellent, hot and well presented. The wooden panelling and staircase on a dark, windy October early morning brought instantly to mind an imagined atmosphere of hymns and stern addresses in front of expectant little boys and girls. Anyway-catering wise, the full Irish really is...er...full and will keep your batteries charged for most of the day and there's a good range of cold food and cereals. All in all, it's a friendly, quiet hotel that is a little bit different-and all the better for it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews