We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“The internal needs some work, but I recommend for a vacation in Dublin.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Heviz, Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The internal needs some work, but I recommend for a vacation in Dublin.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had been a weekend in this hotel. It's a small hotel, very quaint. The building exterior is quaint, made ​​of red bricks. I liked this classic and cozy style .
The room was a little small, there was a canopy bed. The bathroom was a bit tight and I did not like the wallpaper.
The internal needs some work, but I recommend for a vacation in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SarahMarc6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,009 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    546
    324
    97
    28
    14
See reviews for
133
552
29
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel inherits all the charm of a 19th century school. The rooms have enough space and the bedding is quite comfortable, There is no mini-bar in the rooms, but the hotel offers free bottles of water and free biscuits.The decoration is very simple but very cosy. you'll definitely find the bathroom equipment tricky to operate (maybe an irish standard ?)
The hotel location is 10-15 minutes off the down town (Trinity college), next to a canal. The airport shuttle Aircoach stops right at the entrance of the hotel.
Be careful if you intend to work and need your wifi intensively. The connection is hard to establish and it seemed some areas were not covered, so my wife who was there for a conference had to go regularly to the lobby to work.
The hot breakfast is very good ( eggs+sausage+pudding and the pancakes).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSaint17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Lovely hotel in a fantastic location. Very nice area with local bars and restaurants and could walk to the city centre. Hotel full of character and rooms clean and comfortable. We had the ground floor rooms with a door that opened into the courtyard, as there was 3 couples staying in 3 adjoining rooms it worked out very well. The hotel also has a friendly bar area, with real fires which was lovely. Very welcoming bar unlike some hotel bars which can be cold and clinical. The only disappointment was the breakfast service, it was very poor. After being shown to our table we waited 15 mins and still no one had offered us tea/coffee, as there wasn't any staff present we had to go through to reception to ask for service, not good. We then had a huge Wait for the breakfast. We mentioned this again to reception and were told "sorry we are short staffed and we didn't expect it to be so busy". We had been booked in for 6 months so it wasn't as though they didn't know we were coming?. Also she said we have a wedding part in for breakfast at 10am tomorrow so if you don't want another wait, avoid this time. Not good, asked to speak to the manager, but was told not available and she would contact us, never did. Surprise surprise. It's a shame as the hotel and Dublin are great. It's not an inexpensive hotel so I would have expected better customer service especially from the front of house girl. rest of staff did seem nice, so maybe a one one. Probably wouldn't stay again although going back to Dublin in dec for Christmas shopping.

Room Tip: If staying with friends, ground floor rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzyofyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

What a lovely old world type of hotel! By old world I mean it had a real homely feel to it. The staff were friendly and very personable and the welcome was warm and genuine, not like some of the bigger high turnover hotels to be found in cities these days. We stayed for 3 nights on the 1st, 2nd and 3rd Nov 2012. The room was very comfortable and of a good size with a huge double bed to die for. It was clean and all the furniture was of a good high standard. The bathroom was a fair size not huge however big enough; the shower was strong and didn’t suffer from the annoying temperature fluctuations you sometimes get, that said adjusting the temperature was a tricky affair! We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant on the first night and found the food and service to be very good and at a reasonable price. The same could be said for their bar food which was equally as enjoyable. The bar was generally busy however not crowded and is full of charm. We enjoyed some live music on the Thursday which was of a high quality yet not so loud that you couldn’t chat which added to the whole experience. This is a charming hotel well situated to visit the city with warm friendly staff oozing with can do attitude and we will definitely be back for more!

Room Tip: We stayed in the canopy room highly recommend them !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyerboy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a beautiful hotel with real character. The restaurant and bar have a fantastic high pitched ceiling and amazing architecture. The bedrooms were excellent and beautifully designed. The staff were excellent, efficient and friendly. I cannot say enough good about our experience at this hotel

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendankenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent service. Quaint rooms with comfy beds.
Breakfast was very good.
Would recommend the Schoolhouse hotel and hope to stay there again on future trips to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mo1873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire in UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Schoolhouse Hotel offers boutique-style luxury, with a "home away from home feel". It is located in Ballsbridge, which is just outside the city centre in Dublin 4, but is easily accessible to the heart of Dublin by the Luas (tram service) and car.

The hotel is small but provides a personal service to guests, with little touches like an evening ice bucket service to rooms. The rooms are decorated to a nice standard with enormous beds and are spacious.

The hotel has a lovely bar area adjoining the main hotel, which also serves hot drinks and brunch-style food, plus delicious home-cooked main meals and desserts. The standard of the food is exceptional, with hand-prepared dishes of a very good size. You are not disappointed with the food, particularly as the portions are more than ample with a variety of dishes to offer, including seafood, duck and delicious pies.

I have stayed at this Hotel now about four times, and each time have to say the staff are polite and very keen to please. A truly exquisite venue in probably the nicest part of Dublin!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs, the rooms are nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMB_3600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,016 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#2 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#19 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#41 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Property: Schoolhouse Hotel
Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#21 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing