We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but overpriced and breakfast and horrific WiFi connection”
Review of Schoolhouse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Schoolhouse Hotel
Ranked #27 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed at the Schoolhouse Hotel for two nights on a business trip to Dublin. It was just around the corner from my meeting venue and about a 10 minute walk from the city centre, so very conveniently located. An airport bus stops right in front of the hotel as well. My room was quite big and nicely decorated, even though it was on the ground floor and didn't have much of a view. It featured a kingsize bed with comfy linen, a seating area and a bathroom with full bath. The decoration is classic, ging well with the historic building - very charming overall. All rooms are named after famous Irish persons. My room was quite cold, but the aircon worked exceptionally well, so that it got cosy quite quickly. Breakfast was not included in the room rate and I got room service one morning. It was 7.50 EUR plus 5 EUR room service charge which was horribly overpriced. The continental breakfast consisted only of one croissant, one danish (both very dry), toast (which was missing in my case), some butter, a choice of juice, tea/coffee and cereals/porridge. There was no cheese, jam, fruit or anything else to go with the dry croissant and Danish... the second morning I opted for just using the tea making facilities and getting breakfast elsewhere. Very annoying was the fact that Wifi wasn't working at all. Considering the fact that the hotel is used by a lot of business travellers, it was extremely unfortunate. The reception staff was very friendly and apologetic, but couldn't do anything to make the situation better.

My rating is solely based on the room and decor, not on breakfast or Wifi - otherwise it would have been poor, unfortunately!

Room Tip: I'd try to get something upstairs to have a view and a not so dark room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,215)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

808 - 814 of 1,215 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Schoolhouse hotel in June 2011 . Not only was the room spacious and well appointed, but the bed was very comfortable. I loved the charm and detail given to all of the rooms in the hotel. We had excellent service from all of the staff, they even allowed us to park our rental car at the hotel the remainder of the day after we checked out.
The great thing about the hotel , primarily, is that it caters to a more mature crowd and is not the run-of-the-mill hotel chain. It was quiet, comfortable and really conveniently located to parks, museums, shopping and restaurants.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrystal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The Schoolhouse Hotel has a very warm and compfortable ambience. We arrived too early for normal check-in but the lovely Receptionist was so helpful in arranging our bags to accomdate our shopping and plans to tour Dublin. We were within walking distance to many activites.
Don't miss Trinity College (Book of Kells) (The Old Library).
Food was delicious both in main dining room and Pub. I have been to Ireland fours times, the Fish and Chips in the Pub are the best I have had!
If you are looking for compfort and Great Value, This is it!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ray b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in the Schoolhouse and had a lovely stay. Hotel is really nice, different from the main "chains", and well located, being only 15-20 minutes from St. Stephen`s Green etc.
All the staff we met were friendly and helpful, and the atmosphere was welcoming.

My only complaint was the cooked breakfast which wasn`t as good as I expected, not well cooked or particularly appetising, and we had a very long wait on day 1, even though the dining room was not particularly busy.

We didn`t use the restaurant in the evenings so I cannot say if the food was better then.

I would be happy to stay again, but might get breakfast elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

From the moment we walked in the door, we felt we were in the perfect setting for a movie on Ireland. The cast was exactly what we would have expected in both looks and demeanor. The staff was as sweet as could be and we fell in love with all of them. We wanted to take Claire, Jenny and Michele home with us. They all were dedicated to our happiness and comfort. The pub and restaurant were outstanding. Bryan and Siobhan went out of their way to make our pub experience the most memorable. When we showed up with 15 people after the Navy - Notre Dame football game, they moved tables and chairs to accomodate us even though we did not have a reservation. The hotel rooms were beautifully appointed and extremely spacious. The hotel was so nice that we cancelled a reservation we had at another hotel in order to spend more time here. We can't wait to go back to The Schoolhouse. The Airport Express bus drops you in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a basement corner room with circular access to the aft alley. The room was a perfect tempera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The long and the short of it is, I loved this place.
We arrived early in the hope we could leave our bags, and the lovely receptionist (we met three during our stay, all equally lovely) made nothing too much bother. Once we had got back from a days exploring, we settled in to a large room with a huge bed.
It was one of the best nights sleep I have ever had, walking distance from the middle of dublin and yet totally quiet!
The bathroom was fantastically decorated and the shower was the very definition of a power shower, and the water was HOT, can't stand warm showers.

Was sad to leave and will be back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmapony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SchoolhouseHotel, General Manager at Schoolhouse Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hi Emmapony,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to read them and I will be sure to pass them onto all of the team that made your stay so enjoyable.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel, hopefully it will be in the near future!

Many thanks,

Jenny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

This was our first trip to Ireland and we stayed at the Schoolhouse Hotel on the southern side of Dublin. Excellent hotel accomodations, superb staff, great restaurant as well as a separate pub that was a great place to wrap up a great day in Ireland. Excellent access to the Air Coach bus from the airport, close to the Grand Canal rapid transit train, and on three major bus routes to the Dublin city center. Close enough to walk to the Aviva stadium. Surrounded by trees in a very nice part of Dublin.

Room Tip: This hotel has an elevator so no need to worry about carrying luggage up the stairs. We were in room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomC1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,542 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
1,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 151 in Dublin
1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
2,515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,772 reviews
1.0 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#11 of 151 in Dublin
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schoolhouse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schoolhouse Hotel

Address: 2 - 8 Northumberland Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $123 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Schoolhouse Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a class of its own... For those seeking somewhere truly different in Dublin, The Schoolhouse Hotel Ballsbridge is definitely ahead of its class, one of the leading D4 hotels. Unique, intimate and ideally located, the four star Schoolhouse Hotel in Ballsbridge Dublin 4 exudes a warm and friendly atmosphere. Described as a hidden gem in Dublin city this D4 hotel is located just 10 minutes walk from many of Dublin's main visitor attractions: the fashionable area of Grafton Street, Trinity College, Temple Bar, St. Stephen's Green, The National Museum, The R.D.S and Landsdowne / Aviva Stadium. Boasting luxury d4 hotel accommodation in Ballsbridge, each of our rooms have Super King Size Double Beds or Deluxe Twin Single Beds and include a host of luxury extras such as Full Irish breakfast in the comfort of your room or at The Restaurant in The Schoolhouse, on site Car Parking, Mineral Water, Tea, Coffee & Cookies, Movies, Email & Internet on your plasma television, Luxury toiletries and a Schoolhouse bathrobe on request. As one of the best Ballsbridge hotels Ireland has to offer you will be in a haven of luxury at the Schoolhouse Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Schoolhouse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schoolhouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing