We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a bit tired”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #34 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 29, 2009

As we approached the Waterloo House I was very encouraged that we had picked a winner. Brick, Georgian, parking available, quiet neighborhood, and very easy walk to the center of Dublin. A computer was available to get on the internet and the owner very helpful when she was around (which was rarely)l. The rooms were drab though and in need of updating and the "corners" were not all that clean. Rates for Dublin are good, but some of the nicer downtown hotels were offering about the same rates...if we were to go back, I probably wouldn't chose to stay there. Too bad, because with a bit of attention it could be outstanding. I would recommend only if you were looking for something very basic.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garudagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (600)
There are newer reviews for Waterloo House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 600 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2009

Waterloo house is a pleasant townhouse in Georgian Dublin. Our room was spacious and pleasant. The breakfast is served in a dining room on the ground floor with a sunny conservatory. There is a broad choice of breakfast options.

The hotel is located in a good location for those willing to walk a bit. It is a 15 minute or longer walk to most locations of interest, but the area is quieter than the more central area. It is only a short distance to Permbroke Road with shops and restaurants and good taxi service.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canute_the_Great
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2009

The Waterloo House was warm and inviting from the first day. It is located in Ballsbridge- a very nice and quiet section of Dublin. We felt as if we were away from the hustle and bustle of the city- but still able to walk anywhere into town from there. The rooms are clean and cozy and the staff is wonderful. The breakfast is so delicious- and the wait staff are friendly and accomodating. We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Dublin! Thanks Waterloo House!!

  • Stayed: March 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetpea0308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2009

Very nice quiet place to stay. Rooms were very comfortable. We had a room on the bottom floor near the breakfast room. It was rather small but very comfortable. If you are opting to stay in a 3 star facility don't expect 5 star appointments. Everything was clean, neat, and the food was great. We also found some construction, but such is life. We are headed back to Ireland in the spring and will once again stay at the Waterloo House.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbyty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Waterloo House was perfect for our weekend away. It's a gorgeous building, the rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated (including the reading room where we relaxed with a book for a full morning), and breakfast was delicious. It's a pleasant 10-15 mins walk into the heart of town. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank GoodosOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

October 25, 2008
I stayed 6 nights and enjoyed every minute. The staff were wonderful and helpful, always going the extra mile The rooms have lovely appointments, and the breakfasts are delicious. I will recommend this to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank bears336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2008

Superb place to stay, and excellent value, sincerely could not rate it highly enough.

Old Victorian building with high ceilings, giving the rooms a sense of vast space, generous sized room with a massive King sized bed and large TV. The TV had all the expected channels in Dublin.

I stayed here two nights and found the room to be well fitted out and exceedingly comfortable. Rooms are quiet, bright and fresh.

The Waterloo House is only walking distance from the heart of the city and is surrounded by excellent restraunts, no need for Taxi’s here.

Staff are very friendly and helpful they have plenty of suggestions as to where to eat depending on what your budget is, and of course absolute authorities on everything Dublin.

Breakfast is included, which is rare these days. Quality and freshness is what you'd expect from a 5 star, they also very happily cooked my breakfast to order exactly as I wanted it. You can even sit out in the conservatory on a blissful blue sky morning and enjoy your start to the day. Excellent REAL fresh fruit salad as well!! - Very seldom see this anymore.

Good off road parking is available to the front and is a bonus this close to the city centre.

Also unlike any other hotels in the area where you can spend up to €35.00 a night on broadband access- this is free in the waterloo house!!

Yes, there are NO extras to pay for – your room rate is all inclusive, I find this a more honest approach to business than finding out you have to pay for a heap of extras, which I have seen to double my bill.

All in all a real joy to stay in, I'll be back next time I'm in Dublin.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank KerryTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#26 of 150 in Dublin
1,185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#73 of 150 in Dublin
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#31 of 150 in Dublin
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
1,373 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#5 of 150 in Dublin
1,622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Herbert Park Hotel
Herbert Park Hotel
#16 of 150 in Dublin
2,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $141 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing