We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly A Delightful Place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #26 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Truly A Delightful Place!”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Waterloo House is a charming place. Tended with care and dedication. It shows. For starters, it is not a chain hotel, or an impersonal place. You will have a boutique experience – warm, personalised and attentive.
The location is fantastic. Though not in the City Centre, it is just a 5 minute bus ride, or if you are up to it, a 20 minutes walk. A number of good restaurants are in the vicinity of the Hotel at Baggot Street. Starbucks is diagonally across the street.
The breakfast is served at the Hotel in a delightful area on the ground floor overlooking a small garden. The housekeeping is really good.
My only little niggle- we were in a triple room, but the room was very cramped. For a couple, the size is appropriate.
Should I visit Dublin again, I would definitely stay here.
I would recommend staying on their top floor, the 3rd for a clear unrestricted view from your window.

Room Tip: Any room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuragRanjita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    170
    43
    16
    6
See reviews for
85
239
61
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is really a great place to stay during your visit in Dublin. The breakfast is amazing, the people are super nice and the rooms are really comfortable. Especially the beds are extremely comfy. It is located in a great area with a lot of supermarkets and the walk to the city center is not too long.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie1204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

I really liked this place. The location is in a pleasant part of town, easy walking distance into the city centre. Plus with parking provided, always a help in the city. The house decor was in keeping with the property, super clean and comfortable for such grandeur. My room was compact I'd say but perfectly comfortable, I could have stayed sleeping much longer! Breakfast offered a great choice, not just the irish fry, which was an added bonus. And it was also a very comfortable spot, conservatory, overlooking a homely garden. The price is competitive I'd say for what you get, classy charming elegance. I'll definitely return again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yellodiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

This is one of the best guesthouses / family hotel I've been to.
It is located in a beautiful part of Dublin and a short stroll from the city.
It is beautifully decorated and when you walk in there is an air of calm which was great. My room was super overlooking the garden. Very comfy beds, fabulous fluffy pillows and a great duvet.
A small but worthy point to note: sockets are next to your bed (which nowadays in hotels are hard to find) so you can charge your phone and put it on snooze without actually getting out of your bed to do it!
Breakfast was in the conservatory and was gorgeous. I had French toast - just yummy! Staff were very friendly.
Highly recommend this delightful place and will definitely be back!

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank dublinwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Very nice hotel. Great value. Just a short walk (15 minutes or so from Temple Bar/City Center).
Rooms are nicely decorated. Had a minor issue with our room, but the owner was eager to accommodate us and fix the problem.
Rooms are newly redecorated and beds are comfy.
Breakfast room is splendid, and the breakfast options are many. From the "Full Irish" to the waffles and on to the French Toast, all was deelish. Fruit, cereal, and yogurt included as well. Nice.
There is an atrium adjoning the breakfast room so it is bright and sunny (when the sun decides to come out).
Excellent!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Located in a classy part of Dublin, the rooms are elegant and very comfortable. The breakfast was first class, and all the staff were cheerful and very helpful. Highly recommended for those looking to sample Dublin's delights.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Accommodation: The room we had was rather small. The bed for two persons was smaller than a queen and there was hardly any room on the floor to put two medium luggage bags. However, although the furnishing was old, the room and bathroom was very clean. It was sufficient for a short, simple stay.
Breakfast: Breakfast options were good - there was a buffet spread to supplement cooked breakfast you can order from the menu. The area where breakfast is served is really pretty - just where the back garden in. There were a lot of guests the 2/3 days we were there and because they were in a large group, they had moved tables and chairs and removed cutlery from other tables for their own use, making it difficult to find a space to sit for breakfast. They had also finished a lot of the items from the buffet table and it took a while for the guest house staff to get them replaced.
Location: Location of the accommodation is really good - just off a main street which has a lot of eateries, a small supermarket and pharmacy. It is a nice 15-20 minute walk to the Trinity College area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimimiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#9 of 153 in Dublin
1,235 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mespil Hotel
Mespil Hotel
#29 of 153 in Dublin
430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 153 in Dublin
1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 153 in Dublin
1,522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 153 in Dublin
550 reviews
0.8 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#22 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing