We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while on a business trip, very clean, staff very friendly and helpful, perfect location, would definitely recommend. The owner recommended a fabulous restaurant around the corner "Bloom Brasserie" and I must say it did not disappoint. All together a great experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JohnMalone196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 615 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Waterloo House was very nice, elegant and quiet, all this for 99 euros, breakfast and parking included.... Beautiful building, charming dining room overlooking the garden, nice entrance room with fireplace, peaceful neighborhood with lots of restaurants and pubs 20 mn by foot from the city center, free wifi… The only dark point was the mattresses which were not firm enough and had probably seen better days (we were in the back bedroom on the first floor). We would definitely go back if we were sure to get better bedding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yjg805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is a townhouse boutique hotel. It is run by friendly, somewhat quirky, people who truly want you to have a nice stay. Waterloo House is in a lovely neighborhood away from the craziness of Grafton St or Temple Bar. However, all tourist areas are within walking distance. This involves an easy, safe walk of about 15-20 minutes. A friend and I stayed here twice this summer and enjoyed it both times. It is so nice to be away from the noise and crowds but still in a lovely area with pubs and restaurants.

The breakfast room includes a glass enclosed room looking out over the garden. It is lovely on a cloudy day. Our hostess told us it sometimes gets steamy on a sunny warm day, but we did not experience this. Breakfast includes a cold buffet and a hot, cooked to order meal, as well. It is truly delicious.

The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of lighting in the room. The room and bathroom were clean and well-equipped. Oddly enough, each time we arrived the windows were open and there were flies in the room. We went out for the afternoon and evening. By the time we returned they were all gone and never came back.

The guest who has difficulty with stairs should beware of the front entrance which has a lot of steep steps. The staff will happily open the grade level door for you if someone can get up the steps to get their attention.

Although we did not have a car, the availability of the small parking lot would be a plus for many people.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be away from the hustle and bustle of downtown Dublin, but is physically fit enough to walk to the attractions or is willing to pay for taxis.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms require going down a short flight of stairs. If that is a problem, ask at the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktlbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

A very nice hotel, with an excellent staff. Very personal, felt like home away from home. Well located in a quiet street at walking distance from most restaurants, parks, museums etc.
This review should be 200 characters minimum, that's why I'm writing this sentence

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My adult children and I had a lovely stay here early July. They had a room with a double and a twin bed and I had a room with a double bed. The ensuites were small but immaculately clean. Breakfast was one of the nicest we've had in similarly rated properties. We enjoyed the 10-15 minute walk to the hop-on-hop-off again bus route. We tended to get a taxi home from wherever our day ended!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Staying at Waterloo House was indeed very enjoyable... Beautiful building, elegantly furnished interiors, charming little garden, cozy dining room, amazing guest room with a huge fireplace, wonderful peaceful neighborhood not far from the city center, free wifi, free parking, helpful staff and friendly guests... However, breakfast, though delicious, was rather poor in quantity and variety, the lighting of the parking area and the front of the building was not enough and there was not a sheltered place to smoke a cigarette (this is a problem if you are a smoker in Dublin where it is raining all the time). Finally, although my overall opinion was very good, I have to say that I found it a bit too expensive for a typical B&B.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vasso V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A charming, little hotel, in a calm part of the city, but not to far away from the center. Just a nice stroll away from the pubs and shopping streets.

The interior is "oh so English" or Irish. But very typical, clean and in good shape.

The owners were very helpful when we needed an adapter for our european cables.
And the veranda (all glass) is so nice to take a good breakfast in the morning. That is really unique and very enjoyable.
And it is easy to park a car, if you rent one. Wifi Quality was great.

I would return there anytime...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Big_L_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 150 in Dublin
604 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
1,441 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#74 of 150 in Dublin
811 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandymount Hotel
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,620 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#4 of 150 in Dublin
1,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $94 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing