We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location - Good B&B” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Waterloo House
Ranked #21 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
374 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great location - Good B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great location just off Pembroke Road and a pleasant walk up past St. Stephen's Green to Grafton Street. Many restaurants, cafes and bars within a 15 minute walk. Room was well fitted out with great bed coverings and sheets. Also great to have private car parking on site. Staff very friendly.

Only downside was that breakfast on Sunday finishes at 9:30 and everyone rushed to get there at the last minute - so it took over an hour to get breakfast. Suggestion - let breakfast run to 10:30 and perhaps this would be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crocodile_Ddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    161
    41
    16
    6
See reviews for
83
232
56
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Reasonably priced, great service. Attention to detail was surprising -- stayed four nights and had four perfect breakfasts. Evelyn and her colleagues were warm and welcoming hosts. Close to the non-tourist pubs & restaurants: eat at the Butcher Block and drink at M. O'Briens.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRANnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a most pleasant stay at this b&b back in September. The owner and staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to to help me. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. very easy to get a bus into city centre. I was looking for an apartment for my son to rent and with the guidance of staff and owner I was able to make the perfect choice. Breakfast is very nice !

Hope to stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purneema t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to Dublin for 2012 Marathon, selected Waterloo House for its location. Incedible B&B - if you want to experience Ireland, stay here. Staff makes ever accommodation,we needed to maintain medicine temperature and staff bent over backwards. Travel plan changed in mid-visit, staff re-arranged accommodations so we could stay there. Irish breakfast and other breakfast choices are wonderful. Clean, comfortable, priced right, location perfect for walking anywhere. Bus services to anywhere 100 feet away. The Waterloo House is Irish, feels Irish and made me want to stay in Ireland.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter and I travelled around Ireland and wanted to spend our last
2 nights in Dublin. Unfortunately the Irish football finals were that night. I
am not a big B&B person, but took the chance. Boy were we pleasantly
surprised!

This B&B is run more like a hotel. The owners had purchased two houses
and turned them into a B&B. There is 1 person at the desk at night. The
room we stayed in (lower floor facing the street) was huge, comfortable and
quiet. I felt like I was in a hotel suite. We elected to sleep in and did not partake
of breakfast, but there were several quaint restaurants within walking distance.

The walk to downtown Dublin was only about 15 minutes. I would stay here
again if I have the opportunity to visit Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great staff,great breakfasts and a lovely quiet room.Felt more like home than your usual hotel.Comfortable 15min walk to the centre of the city.For sightseeing further out,taxis were in abundance and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to get a better price. Rooms looking over the rear garden are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thistlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
922 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thank you to Mary Jo and staff - we loved our rooms and hospitality at the Waterloo House. They treat the guests with such a personal touch and the food and furnishings make us want to return very soon. The environment is very comfortable, spic and span clean and great location. Plus, it is a very affordable B&B. Thanks again to Mary Jo for personally making sure all guests arrive and stay in comfort and leave quite well rested

Room Tip: All beautiful, but one on the ground floor has a fireplace and looked very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pembroke Townhouse
Pembroke Townhouse
#73 of 150 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.4 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#28 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,082 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Property: Waterloo House
Address: Waterloo House 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin DO4T651, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#31 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#32 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing