We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Dublin Vaca” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Waterloo House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterloo House to your Saves list
Waterloo House
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 171 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Dublin Vaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Reasonably priced, great service. Attention to detail was surprising -- stayed four nights and had four perfect breakfasts. Evelyn and her colleagues were warm and welcoming hosts. Close to the non-tourist pubs & restaurants: eat at the Butcher Block and drink at M. O'Briens.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JRANnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I had a most pleasant stay at this b&b back in September. The owner and staff were extremely polite and went out of their way to to help me. I would recommend this hotel to everyone. very easy to get a bus into city centre. I was looking for an apartment for my son to rent and with the guidance of staff and owner I was able to make the perfect choice. Breakfast is very nice !

Hope to stay there again !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purneema t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Went to Dublin for 2012 Marathon, selected Waterloo House for its location. Incedible B&B - if you want to experience Ireland, stay here. Staff makes ever accommodation,we needed to maintain medicine temperature and staff bent over backwards. Travel plan changed in mid-visit, staff re-arranged accommodations so we could stay there. Irish breakfast and other breakfast choices are wonderful. Clean, comfortable, priced right, location perfect for walking anywhere. Bus services to anywhere 100 feet away. The Waterloo House is Irish, feels Irish and made me want to stay in Ireland.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My daughter and I travelled around Ireland and wanted to spend our last
2 nights in Dublin. Unfortunately the Irish football finals were that night. I
am not a big B&B person, but took the chance. Boy were we pleasantly
surprised!

This B&B is run more like a hotel. The owners had purchased two houses
and turned them into a B&B. There is 1 person at the desk at night. The
room we stayed in (lower floor facing the street) was huge, comfortable and
quiet. I felt like I was in a hotel suite. We elected to sleep in and did not partake
of breakfast, but there were several quaint restaurants within walking distance.

The walk to downtown Dublin was only about 15 minutes. I would stay here
again if I have the opportunity to visit Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mtk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great staff,great breakfasts and a lovely quiet room.Felt more like home than your usual hotel.Comfortable 15min walk to the centre of the city.For sightseeing further out,taxis were in abundance and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Contact the hotel directly to get a better price. Rooms looking over the rear garden are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Thistlebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
588 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Thank you to Mary Jo and staff - we loved our rooms and hospitality at the Waterloo House. They treat the guests with such a personal touch and the food and furnishings make us want to return very soon. The environment is very comfortable, spic and span clean and great location. Plus, it is a very affordable B&B. Thanks again to Mary Jo for personally making sure all guests arrive and stay in comfort and leave quite well rested

Room Tip: All beautiful, but one on the ground floor has a fireplace and looked very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had already stayed at another place close by just 3 days before.... And for the same amount money, there was simply no comparison.
Waterloo House is a great accommodation choice if you are looking for somewhere quieter to stay and you don't want to stay right in the middle of Dublin. Having said that, the walk into Dublin isn't that bad and there is a hub of shops, cafes and restaurants just a 10 minute walk away, called Raneleigh Village..... Great tapas restaurant here!
Our room was a real surprise, so much more spacious than we had anticipated with a king sized bed overlooking the lovely back garden.
We were welcomed by a friendly Irish woman, which made a nice change to be greeted by a local who really knew about the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
2.1 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,448 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#16 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 880 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#15 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 3,196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#11 of 171 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 444 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 171 in Dublin
5.0 of 5 stars 2,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 8-10 Waterloo Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#27 Family Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#36 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Waterloo House 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Four Star Guesthouse and our facilities include the following: * All rooms are en-suite, T.V., telephone, hairdryer and trouser press, tea/coffee making facilites in all bedrooms. * Lift access available to all floors. * Extensive breakfast menu is served in our garden-level dining room and conservatory and includes Full Irish Breakfast, Catch of the Day, French toast, waffles, croissants, homemade soda bread, fresh fruit, stewed prunes, apricots and yogurt. * FREE Wireless internet access either to our computer or your own. * We provide a 24 hour taxi service. Waterloo House has a unique and ideal location south of the city in the embassy belt with only minutes walk to: • City centre, Stephen's Green, Grafton Street, Museums, Trinity College shopping centre • Entertainment hub of Avivia Stadium & RDS Arena adjacent to house • A Walking Haven on our doorstep - Grand Canal, Herbert Park (32 Acre Public Park) and Sandymount Strand • Excellent 'menu' of quality restaurants • Nodal point of Cafes, Bars, banking and laundry services • Epicentre of the best of the city's transport system Located within close proximity to a wide range of public transport services, DART, numerous Dublin Bus routes (37, 38, 38A, 39, 145) Aircoach stop point with fast and direct access to Dublin Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Hotel Dublin
Waterloo House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing