We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good facilities but not very social”
Review of MEC Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
MEC Hostel
Ranked #28 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hostel was in a good location, the room was extremely spacious and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms weren't very clean and there was no hot water when I wanted to shower.

Though the room was good, I wouldn't recommend this to someone travelling alone and/or for a bit of a social place. Unlike other hostels, this one didn't have much promotion of get togethers, pub crawls etc.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlisonLever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 183 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012

Me and two of my friends arrived late at the hostel (which by the way, was dangerous to go to from the bus station). The staff was not really nice and when we arrived in the room there was a poop of something (i guess it was a rat) on my bed. Disgusting.
The room above us made so much noise it was impossible to sleep. I had to go to the reception to ask, and hopefully the receptionist went and said something to the guys and they stopped... but only for this night.
Otherwise, the hostel has a really good location, the breakfast is 1euro, and the shower is hot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gaelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was probably the best hostel we had in Ireland. The private en suite turned out to be an amazing victorian loft, with a kitchen, washing machine, sitting area, TV, clean bathroom (including a great tub) and a good-sized bed. The only thing I didn't like about the apartment was that in order to get to the bed, you had to climb up some stairs, which was a bit scary in the dark.

The hostel's breakfast was a really good value for money - for one euro, we got cereal ,juice, boiled egg, toast with jams, cheese, and tea/coffee.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel is in a brilliant location and on a very nice street. The pool table and table tennis table are a good addition. There are too many rules regarding where you are allowed to eat and drink and if you are looking for a lively hostel, this is not the one for you. Mainly families and quiet couples. Also take you own bedding as duvet covers aren't washed! :/

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CF1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the most perfect location, a short walk from Connolly Station from which you can get trains, buses or trams to anywhere in dublin at very reasonable prices.
Great atmosphere! The relaxed little common room always has people reading and browsing the internet, or having a cup of tea. Sharing dorms really adds to the experience.
You get the most simple breakfast but for 1euro it really does the job for a wee bite before heading out into the city.
Only problem I had was that the doors swing round and slam fast so when you're trying to sleep in the mornings and others are up and getting ready its impossible to sleep through the constant bangs which start quite early. But provided you want to get up and make the most of your stay it's actually a pretty useful alarm clock!

Room Tip: Don't worry about going into a dorm and sharing with strangers. It really adds to the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank corragh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am only talking about the private ensuite apartments here. They are awesome. For 60 for a couple a night I expect a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom. On top of that, we got a huge loft with own kitchen and a washing machine. And there was a sitting room with a fire place included - how cool is that? And a huge bath tub inthe bathroom. Decoration and everything was really pretty. It felt like being suddenly transported into an episode of "Downton Abbey" (and I'm not talking about the servant's rooms here!). Very very cool. When coming to Dublin one more time, we will definitely stay here again. Check out the pics, I uploaded some.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ac24ac1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was a decent place, though I rented this flat/ensuite (?) in 2006. But I remember it was OK - clean and tidy, small kitchen, comfortable beds. Pretty spacious room with an mezzanine (entresol) at a rather reasonable price. I enjoyed the stay. And!!!!!!! it's just next to James Joyce's Centre, which made me soooo happy:)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Egali Hostel
#13 of 124 in Dublin
163 reviews
Spire Hostel
#18 of 124 in Dublin
129 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Abrahams Hostel
#19 of 124 in Dublin
581 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#32 of 124 in Dublin
422 reviews
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 124 in Dublin
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEC Hostel

Address: Tallaght Cross West Hotel 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin D24 VX61, Ireland (Formerly Mount Eccles Court Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 124 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range: $14 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MEC Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mec Hostel we provide a range quality accommodation for our guests in Dublin's city centre, from private suites with private bathroom and kitchen to shared dorm room accommodation at very attractive prices. Housed in beautiful georgian buildings on one of Dublins finest historical streets. With our very friendly and helpful staff, spacious lounges and rooms with keycard access and free lockers, garden terrace, Mec Hostel is the Ideal base for your visit in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your MEC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing