We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Amazing private en suite apartments!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MEC Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
MEC Hostel
Ranked #21 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Kefar Sava, HaMerkaz, Israel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing private en suite apartments!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was probably the best hostel we had in Ireland. The private en suite turned out to be an amazing victorian loft, with a kitchen, washing machine, sitting area, TV, clean bathroom (including a great tub) and a good-sized bed. The only thing I didn't like about the apartment was that in order to get to the bed, you had to climb up some stairs, which was a bit scary in the dark.

The hostel's breakfast was a really good value for money - for one euro, we got cereal ,juice, boiled egg, toast with jams, cheese, and tea/coffee.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Inna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    54
    31
    12
    6
See reviews for
5
26
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hostel is in a brilliant location and on a very nice street. The pool table and table tennis table are a good addition. There are too many rules regarding where you are allowed to eat and drink and if you are looking for a lively hostel, this is not the one for you. Mainly families and quiet couples. Also take you own bedding as duvet covers aren't washed! :/

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CF1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

In the most perfect location, a short walk from Connolly Station from which you can get trains, buses or trams to anywhere in dublin at very reasonable prices.
Great atmosphere! The relaxed little common room always has people reading and browsing the internet, or having a cup of tea. Sharing dorms really adds to the experience.
You get the most simple breakfast but for 1euro it really does the job for a wee bite before heading out into the city.
Only problem I had was that the doors swing round and slam fast so when you're trying to sleep in the mornings and others are up and getting ready its impossible to sleep through the constant bangs which start quite early. But provided you want to get up and make the most of your stay it's actually a pretty useful alarm clock!

Room Tip: Don't worry about going into a dorm and sharing with strangers. It really adds to the experience...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank corragh d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I am only talking about the private ensuite apartments here. They are awesome. For 60 for a couple a night I expect a clean and comfortable bed and bathroom. On top of that, we got a huge loft with own kitchen and a washing machine. And there was a sitting room with a fire place included - how cool is that? And a huge bath tub inthe bathroom. Decoration and everything was really pretty. It felt like being suddenly transported into an episode of "Downton Abbey" (and I'm not talking about the servant's rooms here!). Very very cool. When coming to Dublin one more time, we will definitely stay here again. Check out the pics, I uploaded some.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ac24ac1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Poland
Level Contributor
217 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It was a decent place, though I rented this flat/ensuite (?) in 2006. But I remember it was OK - clean and tidy, small kitchen, comfortable beds. Pretty spacious room with an mezzanine (entresol) at a rather reasonable price. I enjoyed the stay. And!!!!!!! it's just next to James Joyce's Centre, which made me soooo happy:)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franeczka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

You get exactly what you'd expect for €15 a night! The rooms weren't massive, the facilities weren't the most modern, but we had no problems what so ever. Staff were helpful and friendly, communal facilities e.g kitchen and living areas good and for us very importantly a good free wifi connection throughout!
Under 5mins walk from o'connell street the location is amazing for the price, couldn't have asked for a better budget stay :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed201295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baden
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

This place is really good value for the price. The beds are comfortable by hostel standards and my friends and I got a lot of information on places to go and good nearby places to eat. All the staff we encountered were good humored and nice. Bathrooms are about average for a large hostel but nothing too awful at all. We checked in very late at night and checked out very early and had no problems.

We walked everywhere we needed to go from this hostel. It's not necessarily right in the middle of all the action but it's only a 15 minute walk from most things to see.

There are 2 decent size common room areas. Some computers with free internet, a pool table, television and small book exchange. Your stay includes breakfast (coffee, juice, cereal, toast, hard boiled eggs, grapefruit). The only negative is that there are no lockers, the atmosphere is a bit quite and it's a big hard to meet other travelers there (but then you could just go down to Temple Bar and meet people there).

There is no illuminated sign in front of the hostel but there is a decent size white sign on the ground by the door. it should still be easy enough to find. I always felt safe walking around the area at night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KristenDayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Egali Hostel
#13 of 99 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
Abbey Court
#12 of 99 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 761 reviews
Four Courts Hostel
#19 of 99 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Dublin International Youth Hostel
Jacobs Inn Hostel
#2 of 99 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 1,526 reviews
South City Centre
Ashfield Hostel
Ashfield Hostel
#10 of 99 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MEC Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEC Hostel

Property: MEC Hostel
Address: Tallaght Cross West Hotel 42 North Great Georges St, Dublin 1, Ireland (Formerly Mount Eccles Court Hostel)
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Mec Hostel we provide a range quality accommodation for our guests in Dublin's city centre, from private suites with private bathroom and kitchen to shared dorm room accommodation at very attractive prices. Housed in beautiful georgian buildings on one of Dublins finest historical streets. With our very friendly and helpful staff, spacious lounges and rooms with keycard access and free lockers, garden terrace, Mec Hostel is the Ideal base for your visit in Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your MEC Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing