We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in downtown Dublin; wonderful hosts!”
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #40 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location in downtown Dublin; wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed August 5, 2010

Number 31 is ideally located within walking distance of Grafton Street, with sights and shopping galore. Noel and Deidre were ever helpful hosts with great advice on making the most of our time in Dublin. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful, carrying us until dinner. Noel made our dinner reservations at Olivier's, only a short walk from the B&B, where we had a fine meal. Our room was spacious and clean, and because it was on the interior courtyard, very quiet for downtown Dublin. Overall, a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actollison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    151
    44
    27
    20
See reviews for
135
342
59
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I had been to Dublin before but the wonderful people at 31 made for an absolute superb experience. Great care and interest in what you'd like to see and do and the design of the hotel alone is super-cool.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas_Storesund1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Spent two nights at this superbly located hotel. The host Noel, was first class and we put his excellent knowledge of the area to good use. The rooms are spacious with all the mod cons you would expect. We were warmly received throughout our stay and served the best breakfast ever. This family run hotel is definantly worth a visit and comes highly recommended. We will definantly be going back.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londoner72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
367 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

Make certain you book to stay in this Georgian Terrace hotel when in Dublin! It is well situated for both business and leisure purposes. The rooms are elegant and spacious and the breakfast second to none! The host, Noel, a real gentleman, will ensure that you are comfortable and well-cared for. This is a unique experience and a refreshing change from the normal hotel chains. The rates are extremely reasonable. There are two very good restaurants a short walk down the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houlihan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Encourtering the by now famous Number 31 welcome after a 30 hour non-stop journey from the antipodes ensured our three weeks in Ireland was going to be an outstanding adventure and experience.. Apart from the warmth and ever present sense of welcome this Georgian haven puts you right where you need to be in beautiful Dublin. Local knowledge and invaluable advice is constantly on tap from mine host and a major confidence boost when setting off to explore all that lies outside its gracious walls.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delamain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2010

We stayed in the Georgian building. The rooms were lovely, clean, and comfortable. Noel is a charming host....we thoroughly enjoyed him. The breakfasts were lavish and delicious. The hotel is conveniently located....just a few minutes from St. Stephen's Green and Grafton Street. This hotel was wonderful!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEK5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2010

There we were, dropped off by our taxi outside Number 31, feeling (and I'm sure looking) disoriented and disheveled after the long flight from California. Then Noel bounds out, greeting us by name, grabbing our luggage, and welcoming us inside. We were well before check-in time, but he offered us coffee and snacks in the gorgeous courtyard while they got our rooms ready. (Speaking of rooms, we were set for the family room, but they offered us two doubles for the same price!).

Once we settled in, Noel gave us an overview of the city and offered suggestions for how to spend our time. Some innkeepers can be pushy or overbearing, but Noel's suggestions were just that. The hospitality carried over to the kitchen, as while we enjoyed some great breakfasts during our 10-day trip across Ireland, Number 31's were right up there at the top. All in all, a perfect way to start any Ireland vacation.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfitz916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Schoolhouse Hotel
#30 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
Kilronan House
#41 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 858 reviews
Waterloo House
#25 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,417 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing