We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Fanstastic boutique hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 31
Save
You added Number 31 to your Saves list
Ranked #26 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fanstastic boutique hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Beautiful property just south of the city center. Close to everything, but a bit off the beaten tourist path. Charming staff with great recommendations for local restaurants. Absolutely fantastic breakfast! Nice sitting area with lots of books and a fireplace near the front door. We were sorry to leave and would definitely return.

Room Tip: We loved our with a view on the top floor of the older (of two) houses. However, it was four flight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BootlessJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    140
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
123
314
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were welcomed early and enjoyed a much needed delicious full breakfast. Our bags were stored since we were so early. The room was lovely and comfortable. The restaurant recommendations were awesome too!! Loved it!

Room Tip: We went last April and enjoyed 31 very much. Looked like all room were just as lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank glasson123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

What a find! Number 31 is in a perfect, central location. Our room, just one floor up, was lovely and quiet. While I understand some people's comments to the effect that they would have preferred a more formal reception desk (there isn't one), our welcome was warm and helpful. As soon as we rang the bell someone was there to offer us tea and cookies, and help us to our room with our bags. Innkeeper Lowell couldn't have been nicer and his suggestions for what to do in Dublin - including places we otherwise would not have seen - were spot on. And the advertised "best breakfast in Ireland" is no exaggeration-fantastic. We would absolutely stay here again, anytime we're lucky enough to return to Dublin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SadiehNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

On our drive in from the airport our wonderful taxi driver told us that she's heard from a number of her passengers about how wonderful Number 31 is, especially the breakfast. Well we certainly weren't disappointed. We loved the fact that the hotel is about a 10-15 minute walk to the center of the city. Breakfast were wonderful and the staff was happy to give us advise as to our days activities. As another reviewer noted you had to get your questions answered at breakfast as it was not always easy to find staff. If climbing stairs is a problem you should ask for a first floor room as there are not elevators (at least that we saw). Our only complaint was the towels...thin and not soft. Small bath towels. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank segoldb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We were delighted to receive a warm greeting and a welcoming warm breakfast on our early arrival here a couple weeks ago. It only got better from there. We booked a superior room and were not disappointed. We stayed 5 nights in Room 20 in the Georgian house and another night at the end of our Ireland trip in Room 21 or 22?. Both rooms were spacious, beautifully designed and well appointed. The public areas and garden between the modern and Georgian rooms are strikingly beautiful. Breakfast each morning was a special treat, cooked to order, with a lavish buffet of fruits, cereals, and yogurt as well. Noel and Linda and their staff are friendly and eager to accommodate in any way, whether serving coffee or tea near the fragrant fireplace in the cozy sunken lounge, arranging taxis, sharing tips on restaurants, or highlighting nearby points of interest. This is a very special place to stay in Dublin and a highlight of our trip--especially good for beginning and ending a trip to Ireland on a high note.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omagh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I recently enjoyed my second stay at Number 31 with my wife for our anniversary and again we were blown away. It is like a little jewel in the centre of Dublin. If you are fed up with large hotels lacking in character and customer service then I urge you to book into Number 31.

The rooms are lovely and the buildings both on Leeson Close and Fitzwilliam Square are beautiful (award winning architecture). You are right on the edge of St. Stephen's Green so we were able to walk to The Gaiety Theatre no problem (wife in heels!).

The highlight again was the breakfast (also award winning...plaques to prove it!!) and the host, Noel. As we sat for breakfast we were given freshley squeezed orange juice and fresh coffee along with artisan breads. Noel then serenades you with the menu (verbal..no need for menu cards here, the staff are too good at their job for that at Number 31) which includes the full irish, the mushroom fritata, eggs benedict (beautiful) and he never forgets the "little bowl of porridge". As you wait all you can here is everyone praising their breakfast and sharing their particular choice with their family. This doesn't happen in any other hotel I have stayed in!

Give the plastic hotels a miss and book Number 31 the next time you are in Dublin. Don't worry about parking either. They provide secure, free car parking.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barrymccaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

we enjoyed our stay here: lovely , warm owners who love what they do and friendly staff.
Rooms vary greatly in size and comfort and noise level from the street: ask for quiet room away from street if you are noise sensitive at night
fabulous breakfasts with lots of hot choice and cold choices (especially fruit)
One issue if you want help after breakfast time: rarely could find anyone to assist with reservations, etc other than at breakfast. No one at front desk
More of a B&B than a hotel if that is important to you
otherwise, good location for walking around

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,015 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,015 reviews
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#21 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing