We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, v.comfortable, superb breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 31
Save
You added Number 31 to your Saves list
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, v.comfortable, superb breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Once past the unpromising exterior of the entrance, everything was just marvellous. More a B&B than a hotel, but what a B&B. Lovely adaptation of a Georgian house. Luxurious rooms, gorgeous veranda with long communal dining table with the most fabulous breakfast. You certainly won't need any lunch.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ncvfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    146
    42
    27
    20
See reviews for
131
325
59
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
469 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This charming inn located about a 5 minute walk from St. Stephen's Green is fabulous!!! The owners take pride in this property and it shows. We flew in from the states and sent a note stating that our flight would be early (as in 5am) and would it be possible to check in early. Low and behold, our room was ready for our weary bodies and the entire staff could not have been more accommodating! Additionally, a traditional Irish Breakfast is included in the price of the room and was EXCELLENT. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a beautiful setting, clean and comfortable room, and a wonderful breakfast. Thanks to the owners and staff at Number 31.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mis_Adventurous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

When we arrived we were greeted with a lovely cup of tea and cookies. Our room was large,very beautiful and had excellent beds and bedding. My only complaint about the room was the lack of light. There was a comfy chair to sit in, but absolutely no light to read by. Very poor light in the bathroom as well. Good location. Nice courtyard and great breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denverkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Fond memories, great rooms, friendly service, clean, cute garden, and great breakfast meaning overall great value and satisfaction. A real haven amongst the city! And all with a smile and that personal touch. A wonderful first or last stop in Ireland to gather yourself and explore the CBD. Wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlinnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is tucked away and easy to pass by, but it was a great location for exploring Dublin for the first time. We were welcomed immediately from our overnight flight with a great breakfast and a place to store our bags. Maps of the city were provided and places to see and eat were circled. We were in Ireland with our two grown daughters and our niece and we all had rooms in the Georgian townhouse through the garden. The rooms were spacious and nicely decorated, and the townhouse had its own door to the side street. The hospitality was outstanding and the breakfast was incredible. Number 31 takes about 5 minutes to get to st Stephens green which was our key starting point for exploring. Great location and gets you out of the center for a quieter nights sleep.
When I return to Dublin this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsyvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This hotel is run by the best people! They are extremely accommodating, service minded, great people. They made our stay so relaxing. The hotel itself is quite cute...love the place. Comfortable beds, too!! Breakfast is very good selection.
I would definitely stay here again. Nice neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

Let me start by saying that this is a lovely hotel with a very charming host and staff. In addition, they serve a delicious breakfast. And now for what could use improvement... First, in order to get Wi-fi you need a voucher that requires a password and you have to register on a website and it all is a lot more complicated than it should be. Every other place provides one simple code. Second, we could not control the heat in our room and we first baked like potatoes then fried like chips until we decided to open the window to a noisy Dublin street that lead to sinus issues the next morning from being exposed to the elements. We also got little sleep due to the discomfort. I don't recommend this hotel if you have problems climbing stairs or if you want to be in close proximity to all the action of Dublin. It is definitely a good mile walk in the coldest of Ireland weather to get to pub central if you stay here. On the other hand, if you want away from the tourists, there is a nice pub full of locals just a few blocks away. They will direct you.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sassenack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#18 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,079 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#6 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#44 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing