We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My idea of a perfect hotel”
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 31
Ranked #33 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 25, 2013

From the minute I walked through the garden I knew this was my kind of hotel. Small, personal, quirky and with friendly, attentive staff. Very relaxed (lovely sunken sofas), spotless modern, well-equipped rooms and a wide choice of freshly-cooked locally sourced breakfasts - best porridge ever. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DH-M11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

343 - 349 of 834 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2013

The modern decor may not appeal to everyone, but my friends and I loved Number 31. I cannot imagine being in a more convenient, quiet accommodation that is so close to everything yet not in the "touristy" part of town. And breakfast rates a "wow!" as it is served family style in a simple space just outside the kitchen (there are also tables literally outside). Excellent choices of fruit and granola would be enough, that is, before your cooked breakfast order arrives and adds to the pleasure. Noel and Linda are friendly, helpful proprietors. Be sure to ask directions to the canal and walk along the path all the way to the river Liffey.
There were a few technical issues that were just a little unduly challenging for this place. Getting on the wifi was difficult to figure out on our own. Moreover, getting kicked off and having to log on again every time our phones went to sleep was annoying but was not unique to Number 31. Lighting in room 15 (below street level) was low and without options for improvement. It was also not obvious how to turn on and regulate the shower. These were small distractions, but some orientation--there was essentially none--would surely have helped. I would definitely stay at Number 31 again, however.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank timinorlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a good sized B&B within a short 10 - 15 min walk to city centre. No licensed bar, room service or restaurant in sight. On first impressions we weren't sure if we had come to the right place, located in a lane way & no signage. This can add curiosity for some and confusion for others. There was only 1 staff person here when a number of us checked in short succession. Be patient and just keep ringing the bell. Eventually someone will open the door! The interior has a vogue magazine element about it, although areas are showing some real wear & tear. Some guests made comment about the stairs as there was no lift. We were fortunate to be on the 1st floor in the Georgian building which has a separate entrance onto Fitzwilliam.
There is a lovely small courtyard garden separating the property buildings, which gives access to the common area and breakfast room upstairs.
Our room was clean and quite spacious. Bathroom had a large rain shower which was different.
Breakfast had a very good variety to suit most tastes with a good selection of cooked meals.
There are plenty of restaurants within minutes for dinner.
LITTLE THINGS TO KNOW

Order your tea/coffee in the common area - no room facilities

Bath towels are tiny

Parking is off site and you must grab a button to get to or move. It's tedious

Room lighting very poor for reading or hair & makeup.

On showering, no matter how hard you tried, the floor would be drenched. More a safety thing really

Finally, our attempts at free Wifi ended in buying a £20 sim. No big deal

I can see the appeal to this style of lodging..... No large groups or children (usually) and still a fairly intimate ambience.

Thank you for a memorable stay

Room Tip: Request a lower floor if stairs pose a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank incink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in April for my husbands birthday. The hotel is just amazing with large spacious rooms, comfy beds and lovely bathrooms. Staff are really friendly and the breakfast lives up to the rave reviews on trip advisor. We cant wait for another excuse to return.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracy105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Thank you Noel and Linda for a wonderful stay last night and for putting us in the most gorgeous room. Donna and I had a blast in Dublin but really appreciated our lovely retreat to come 'home' to. Your houses are perfect, and we loved the mix of old and new. Your staff is friendly which relaxes your guests and makes everyone else friendly too! It is like one big party staying with you guys. I will be back. And for other readers - don't hesitate. Just book it and you can get on with your life and end your Dublin hotel research right now!

Room Tip: I didn't see the rooms in the more modern part, but the Georgian House was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We returned to Ireland this year and can report that #31 was as good as ever. A wonderful location close to the center yet quiet and walking distance to most attractions. Great hospitality and wonderful breakfast. Noel and Linda couldn't have been nicer. See you again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank cocolito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed two nights in May. We were in Room 19 which was on the first floor of a Georgian house with super high ceilings, comfy bed, and a wonderful bay window that looked out on a fabulous small city garden. The room was pleasantly quirky. Juxtaposed to the traditional Georgian setting with gold leaf moldings was a modern chandeliar and lighting! The garden connects the hotel rooms to the dining room, reception and sitting area. The staff was amazing. Our flight was delayed and we arrived after breakfast was completed but Linda immediately insisted that she could whip us up a full Irish breakfast which she immediately did.Every need was attended to and every question answered. Internet service is free for the first 24 hours. I don't know if you get a new free password after that. The hotel is conveniently located in town but there is a short 10 to 15 minute walk to get to the sites such as Trinity College, Grafton Street, etc. Only criticism is that the towels were a bit rough and threadbare and the reception area looked tired could use freshening up.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank BigintrepidTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#41 of 150 in Dublin
917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Dean
The Dean
#73 of 150 in Dublin
834 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Merrion Hotel
The Merrion Hotel
#1 of 150 in Dublin
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $165 - $330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing