We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Come for the breakfast, stay for the hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Number 31

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Number 31
Save
You added Number 31 to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
santa barbara
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Come for the breakfast, stay for the hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My wife and I had the great fortune to stay at Number 31 during two separate visits to Dublin last week. Number 31 is in an excellent location, within walking distance to St Stephen’s Green, Trinity College, and Grafton Street shopping. The B&B is architecturally interesting, blending old Irish/Georgian, with modern furnishings. The rooms were large and comfortable, with excellent beds and linens, and modern bathrooms. But the most outstanding feature of this B&B is the unbelievable friendliness and caring of the hosts, and the employees. The proprietor Noel, welcomed us with a hospitality which we have rarely experienced in our many travels. Although the Irish are amongst the most friendly people we have come across in our worldwide travels, he treated us truly like family. We were in Dublin to visit our daughter, who was studying at Trinity College for the semester. Even though she was not a guest at Number 31, he treated her as if she was not only a guest, but part of his family, asking her to come to breakfast with us each day. The breakfasts are outstanding, with many choices of full Irish breakfast, various permutations of eggs and omelets, frittatas, Irish oatmeal with honey, home baked breads, cereals, all of which were delicious. The food seems to be prepared by a true chef, not just a B&B owner with an interest in cooking. The breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland. Stay at Number 31 for the lovely furnishings, great location, incredible breakfasts- but most of all, stay for the warm welcoming hospitality of Noel, his wife, and their staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jfriedsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    140
    39
    26
    19
See reviews for
123
314
58
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

lovely night spent here last night
great breakfast and attention to detail is beyond compare
thank you very much
in the depths of a recession the cream rises to the top
no more hotels for me in dublin
i think ive found my home away from home
paddy from sligo.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

If you are looking for something a little special and authentically Irish, this is THE place to come and stay. Warm friendly staff, a beautiful unique property and breakfasts to die for.
A little tricky to find, but don't let that deter you. This little jewel is worth seeking out.
I will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The owner, Noel, is a treasure. Not only is he extraordinarily pleasant and humorous, he is also witty, polite, helpful and knowledgable. He and his staff provided great eating recommendations, touring ideas and directions.
Breakfast was delicious and varied options.
My greatest frustration was finding the place. Leeson close is a little alley; hard to find. And to the best of my knowledge, is not marked as a B&B. the door just bears the number on it and is surrounded by ivy. Once buzzed past the door, one enters a courtyard. Then, a glass window marked with the name of some architectural firm but no bnb name. Ok enough about that. Rooms are large, clean and a bit spartan. Detail is good but goes along with general funky nature of place. 31 is only a five minute walk from Sussex bar ( pretty good food and reasonable) and Canal bar. Canal bar is great, busy, buzzy and worth the commotion. Canal is more french influence with sussex still trying to find its niche. Location pretty good; a 5-10 minute walk from st. Stephen's and 30-45 from guiness.

Room Tip: Be mindful of street noise like any other city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pncboy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Second time staying at Number 31, and we went out of our way just to stay there this past weekend. Excellent location, and the hospitality is just amazing. No complaints whatsoever. Very relaxed & homely atmosphere, and probably one of the few places left whereby you can truly feel at home whilst travelling. Nothing bad to say about the place. Another very pleasant stay, and we'll be back next time we're in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Grood location, good room, great welcome, fantastic breakfast!
The only bad point is that the price was too high as it had no hotel facilities as such.
I would certainly go back again if the price was a bit lower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 240fedora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
197 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The welcome was indeed both warm and competent, the breakfast excellent, and the beds good. Tea and coffee available at any time on request. Elegant decoration.

A few small quibbles. Bathroom very dark, room quite dark. Room had single glazing on to street, but noise not a problem at night. No bath, just a shower, though other rooms may differ. Towels rather small. Hard to find somewhere to plug in the hair dryer. More of a guesthouse than a hotel and as such not cheap. Would I recommend it? Yes.

Room Tip: If size of room, noise or type of bathroom is an issue for you then telephone first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank verity1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,012 reviews
0.7 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 2,012 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel
#20 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 864 reviews
1.8 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#7 of 150 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Number 31? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Number 31

Property: Number 31
Address: 31 Leeson Close | off Lower Leeson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Dublin
#16 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#23 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Number 31 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Number 31 is famed for its unique hospitality,excellent service and probably the best breakfast in Ireland.Number 31 is situated between a classical Georgian Townhouse and a stunning modern mews by Ireland's most famous architect. Each of the 21 en-suite bedrooms is fitted with luxurious Hastens beds and are individually furnished. Wifi available. The famous sunken conversation pit was the meeting place for Ireland's elite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Number 31 Hotel Dublin
Number 31 Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing