We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proprietors were wonderful! Great service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harvey's Guesthouse
Ranked #74 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 21, 2006

Our family (with 1 toddler, 1 pre-schooler) and my brother-in-law and his family (with 1 toddler) showed up at the last minute in some awful weather and they are were able to arrange a room for us all to stay in. Robert and his mother bent over backwards to treat us well and check in on us. They also went WAY out of their way to find and book us on to a tour of Glendalough that would actually take our kids!

The location is excellent, just a short walk from the main attractions. The area did seem a little sketchy at night, but I think that had more to do with being tourists and having our kids with us.

Would definitely recommend this guest house based on service. Any of the recent comments complaining about accomodations are more than made up by service. They really are what one would expect from a guest house in this price range.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank peixeazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 148 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2006

We formed a bad impression of Harvey's immediately when we were kept waiting for 10 minutes on the front doorstep. The guesthouse is in an interesting area of Dublin and is in easy walking distance into town. We had a noisy room on the ground floor and were dismayed to discover that the sheets were dirty. The next day we were moved to a nicer room at the back of the house. The first bathroom had chipped tiles and a dodgy shower curtain rail. We only bothered with breakfast once, the slurry-style sausages were a big turn off. A couple who arrived for breakfast after us were told that there wasn't enough bacon for them as it was being saved for tomorrow! Not recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Frankie_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2006

We have been staying for a week in Harvey's and we only can say that it has been a wonderful experience. Robert and his mother are excellent people. The breakfast was brilliant and the room quite and confortable. Neihgborhood is very closed to the city centre.

Definitly, a perfect place to stay a few days in Dublin.

Víctor y Charo. Barcelona, Spain

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCNVMGCHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Expecting a pleasant, medium-priced B & B, from its website description, my daughter and I arrived at Harvey's Guest House.

The owner was friendly but we were surprised when he asked us, when coming in or going out, not to let in anyone at the front door, even if they were standing right behind us until we were able to recognize them as fellow guests!
We thought that this did not speak well of security measures at this B & B, considering that the neighbourhood was a bit iffy.
We were shown the room on the ground floor which had a double bed and a single bed. The carpet was very dirty: had many stains and there was dust in the closet, so that we could not put our clothes in.
My daughter's bed slanted towards the wall and she could not sleep in it, so shared my double bed. Neither of us had a good nights sleep.
The bathroom was renovated and the water was hot, however, the shower curtain rod was held up on one side with a piece of wood slipped under the edge and the whole curtain fell down when I put a clothes hanger on it with my just washed blouse.

The whole ground floor sitting room was a bit too depressingly shabby and we transferred to a hotel just around the corner the very next day.

Perhaps the other rooms were fine , but we needed a room on the ground floor and this one was not acceptable from a cleanliness point of view.

Breakfast was mediocre: besides the regular toast and tea which was good there were some dry scrambled eggs sitting in a wok, cereal and fruit on the self-serve counter and yogurt plastic containers standing open, lids off.

I'm sure there are better bargains that this depressing B & B.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank travellingmaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Philadelphia, PA
24
Reviewed June 20, 2006

My husband and I were very content with our stay at Harvey's Guesthouse. While it isn't THE most centrally located guesthouse, it is certainly a manageable walk from where the action is. The cost of Dublin accomodation (when we were there) was very high--as well as the cost for everything else!--and Harvey's was a solid choice. Clean, safe; rooms were comfortable if on the small side; excellent breakfast and fantastic service. We felt very welcome and were given good touring advice from the owner. If on the same budget we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
27
Reviewed May 1, 2006

We expected more in terms of charm and efficiency. Also the neighborhood was less than wonderful and they keep the doors locked (often turning off the bell), which makes for some frustrating moments when trying to check in. Frankly your money could be better spent elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HARVEY2006, Owner at Harvey's Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2006

You can not please all people all of the time but I assure you we certainly try. We love to get feedback from our guests and the vast majority we receive is very very positive. We do try to respond to poor reviews so prospective guests get a balanced view.

"We expected more in terms of charm and efficiency."

We are a family run guesthouse (one of the last remaining in the city) that does everything in our power to ensure a comfortable stay for our guests. We find that some people who stay with us expect a 5 star service but would rather not pay the price of a 5 start establishment. The house is full of charm, being over three hundred years old it contains many of the original decorative plaster work. Efficiency is a relative term; we measure in terms of comfort and quality of food and amenities. The person writing the review may have required room service 24/7; this is something we can not provide, for obvious reasons.

Also the neighborhood was less than wonderful and they keep the doors locked (often turning off the bell), which makes for some frustrating moments when trying to check in.

We live in a city like any other; Dublin has crime like any other city. In 20 Years of operation we have only ever had two guests attacked, both of which occurred on the most expensive shopping area near some of Dublin's fanciest hotels, nowhere near our establishment. Our house is located in a residential. Commercial part of Dublin’s inner city. It is in the heart of old Dublin, populated with real Dubliners. This being said we take every precaution with our security and that of our guests. We lock our door at night and give every guest a key. We ask all guests to ensure the door closes behind them when they come in at night. If a guest is unable to put a key in the door they can always use the "Door Knocker" and ingenious piece of equipment designed to alert the occupants of a building that someone wishes to come into the building. Obviously the person who wrote the review never saw one before. If asked we would have gladly demonstrated how it works.

Frankly your money could be better spent elsewhere.

I agree, perhaps in a hotel in the outskirts of Dublin. You could have rented a generic room that has the look and feel of millions homogenized hotel rooms that’s you will see in cities all over the world – cookie cutter rooms, with no feel. You would also have to spend a hour to get into the city, throw in the fact that the foreign born porter may have broken English and no idea of the key places to visit or be able to give you any pointers on what’s happening in the city or where to go. If that’s what you want fine, Harvey’s is very different and glad to be so; you will enjoy your experience with us.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2006

A bit disappointed really with the whole experience. Upper Gardiner Street is definitely NOT the best area of Dublin to stay for a weekend. The B&B itself was mediocre. The single rooms we had on the top floor were little more than the size of a telephone box and the carpets had seen better days. The bedding was very discoloured and wrinkled - possibly very old??? The breakfast was a bit of a let down too. Wouldn't recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScotlandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#15 of 150 in Dublin
343 reviews
1.5 mi away
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
Annandale Bed & Breakfast
#10 of 150 in Dublin
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Waterloo Lodge
Waterloo Lodge
#26 of 150 in Dublin
322 reviews
0.3 mi away
Egali Hostel
Egali Hostel
#13 of 126 in Dublin
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Guesthouse

Address: 11 Upper Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $112 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harvey's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing