We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harvey's Guesthouse
Ranked #66 of 150 Dublin B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I really enjoyed this small hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I got a good weekday deal on this room online, so I maybe had lower expectations than some reviewers. It's a very charming Georgian building, and my room was bright and comfortable with a bathtub (an amenity I was VERY happy to have, having a cold). I don't understand other reviewers' complaints that it wasn't clean. Everything wasn't up to date or in perfect condition, but it was clean and comfortable. The innkeeper was kind and made sure I got my room in good time because she knew I was ill. However, I was told breakfast was not included for my discounted room, and I found out later that it actually was.

Room Tip: They posted a deal on hostelworld- you may want to look there for weekday specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lysmerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    53
    23
    13
    20
See reviews for
23
39
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed at this guest house for one night. It is located about 10 minutes (by walk) from O'Connell Street Upper and it is easy to find. The price we paid was a bit higher than we would normally pay but as almost everything had been booked out, we had no other choice. Also the price did not match its quality. We booked through booking.com where it stated that check-in is from 8am-10pm. We arrived shortly before 2pm and were told that our room was not ready as the cleaner arrives at 2pm. We were really disapointed by this as we wanted to rest after travelling. However, we were allowed to leave our bags in the room (not cleaned yet) and come back later which we did. The room itself was tired looking, the carpet dirty with lots of stains. The bed was comfortable. No tea/coffee making facilities. All in all it was ok for 1 night, but we would not come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank lia21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We had an amazing stay! I can see why it wouldn't be to all tastes - the house has a very 'lived in' feel. Sure, it could do with some paint here and there, but give me a house like this - full of character - rather than a generic concrete Hilton-type hotel which would be boring and twice as expensive.

The owner is warm and friendly and clearly loves the house and takes her time to make everyone welcome and comfortable.

Room Tip: Basement room is very quiet and not dark, as you might imagine. Rooms to the back of the house are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MattEddolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed here on four occasions over the last six years and cannot fault the place or staff and family that own and run it. Sure, there are more luxurious, well equipped hotels in Dublin but they also happen to cost more than twice as much. Harvey's is clean, comfortable accommodating and tasteful. It is also only 15 mins walk in to town and convenient for buses to and from the airport. Some rooms are better or bigger than others but this is reflected in pricing and availability.

Unless I am working in Ballsbridge or other parts of South Dublin this is where i stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank papalamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this guesthouse last weekend Although my room was on the 7th floor it was very clean and it had an on suite, The lady who owned it was so lovely and the breakfast was suburb. The atmosphere was fabulous here and I would return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bmcf12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

on our last vist to dublin we stayed at harveys gusthouse in dublin and founf it very good, it is a family guesthouse, were you are made very welcome clean good breakfast kind and very helpful people, i have stayed in a few bed and breakfasts in dublin i rate this as one of the best, harveys for value you can,t beat the area is quite and a 10 min bus ride to connell street, if you want a clean good breakfast, quite stay you beat this gusthouse and the prices are good i will be back as one famous actor said.

Room Tip: rooms clean, food good, great service and very helpful people
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surelynotpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Have stayed in dublin many times before....usually in Temple bar area or close by. However due to the massive influx of Americans staying the weekend for the American football match, I was pushed to find anywhere and ended up here. My heart sank when I arrived in this area and new immediately I wouldn't be walking back in the dark! The b&b looked very shabby from the outside but the entrance hall.was better. The host was very friendly and explained that there was a mix up with the rooms and instead of the twin room we'd booked we had a room each.......unfortunately they were in the attic of the townhouse - 5 flights up!! My room had a double bed and en-suite but no wardrobe (luckily my sons room opposite had one) It was noisy, facing the road and although grubby, it was comfortable. The bathroom was fine. The whole house needed a good 'fettle'. Breakfast was housed in the basement which smelled fusty. It had an array of different things but disappointingly only sausage and eggs that were warm. Again the hosts were very friendly and willing to provide more tea/orange etc.
I wouldn't choose to stay here again, but it met our needs for a brief stay.
Despite this, it was an amazing weekend thanks to all the wonderful, friendly Americans who appeared to have a fantastic time and rubbed off their enthusiasm on everyone!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnyrovers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
3.0 mi away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#55 of 150 in Dublin
175 reviews
0.5 mi away
Durban Residence
Durban Residence
#82 of 150 in Dublin
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#17 of 150 in Dublin
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clifden Guesthouse & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Tipperary House
Tipperary House
#13 of 150 in Dublin
295 reviews
0.7 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#23 of 150 in Dublin
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Guesthouse

Property: Harvey's Guesthouse
Address: 11 Upper Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Harvey's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harvey's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing