We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid it!!! Don't do it!!! It's terrible!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harvey's Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harvey's Guesthouse
Ranked #101 of 161 Dublin B&B and Inns
Brasil
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Avoid it!!! Don't do it!!! It's terrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2008

We had the very badly experience in this guesthouse since we get there. Our room was dirty, terrible, very, very , very bad. It was not clean, the bed linen was dirty, had not been exchanged, no way!!! We payed and went away... we stayed in guests houses during all trip, and it was a very good experience. But this one... please, be careful. We are a young couple, with no great expectations with hotels, but this one is unbearable...hope you have the chance to avoid it.

  • Liked — the exit...
  • Disliked — nothing
Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DaniLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    44
    22
    13
    20
See reviews for
22
37
18
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, FLorida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

I, every since I was little have wanted to travel to Ireland. Having spent two weeks there I was on my final stop, with a week long stay at Harvey’s Guest House in Dublin. Mr. Robert and his family, (mother) made the best part of my trip even better. Before my turn in by the second night I felt more like family than a guest. Long talks downstairs, about everything from Religion, to tourist spots, to the issues of the day. It is Harvey’s Guest House that I recommend to all that I encounter that might be going there way. I am quite sure that you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — The Owners, and the accommondations themselves.
  • Disliked — Nothing!!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lilsuwannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2007

I'll keep this short but sweet.

Harvey's is not situated in the best part of Dublin and does not offer a five star service, but at the price I paid for the accommodation I have no complaints whatsoever.

The B&B is within easy walking distance of the city centre and is clean, warm and friendly. The breakfast is a continental affair and is more than adequate.

For the price you will be hard pressed for find a better place this close to the centre of Dublin, unless you don't mind hosteling.

In short, Harvey's is what it is, and is fine for it.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank headshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

We arrived at the area and immediately became aware that it was frequented by people who were having social difficulties. We parked the car at the rear of the property and realised that this was not the place for us It was littered and looked like an untidy industrial area. The B&B unfortuneately reflected the area and I would not have slept there even in my own sleeping bag. The people were friendly and found it difficult to understand our dismay and I had booked for two nights which they kindly waived They need to revisit their web site and warn people that it makes the place look brilliant when it is less than ordinary and could do with major improvements --or am I to fussy a traveller--the other 5 places we stopped at were excellent

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank NorfolkJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Seattle, WA
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

Our family (with 1 toddler, 1 pre-schooler) and my brother-in-law and his family (with 1 toddler) showed up at the last minute in some awful weather and they are were able to arrange a room for us all to stay in. Robert and his mother bent over backwards to treat us well and check in on us. They also went WAY out of their way to find and book us on to a tour of Glendalough that would actually take our kids!

The location is excellent, just a short walk from the main attractions. The area did seem a little sketchy at night, but I think that had more to do with being tourists and having our kids with us.

Would definitely recommend this guest house based on service. Any of the recent comments complaining about accomodations are more than made up by service. They really are what one would expect from a guest house in this price range.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank peixeazul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2006

We formed a bad impression of Harvey's immediately when we were kept waiting for 10 minutes on the front doorstep. The guesthouse is in an interesting area of Dublin and is in easy walking distance into town. We had a noisy room on the ground floor and were dismayed to discover that the sheets were dirty. The next day we were moved to a nicer room at the back of the house. The first bathroom had chipped tiles and a dodgy shower curtain rail. We only bothered with breakfast once, the slurry-style sausages were a big turn off. A couple who arrived for breakfast after us were told that there wasn't enough bacon for them as it was being saved for tomorrow! Not recommended.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dirty sheets
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Frankie_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2006

We have been staying for a week in Harvey's and we only can say that it has been a wonderful experience. Robert and his mother are excellent people. The breakfast was brilliant and the room quite and confortable. Neihgborhood is very closed to the city centre.

Definitly, a perfect place to stay a few days in Dublin.

Víctor y Charo. Barcelona, Spain

  • Liked — Room, breakfast and owner
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BCNVMGCHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.7 mi away
Egans House
Egans House
#29 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkway Guesthouse
Parkway Guesthouse
#19 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Marilyn Mansion
The Marilyn Mansion
#60 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Broc House Suites
Broc House Suites
#66 of 161 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
2.2 mi away
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
Flyover Bed and Breakfast
#15 of 161 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ashling House
Ashling House
#126 of 161 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harvey's Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Guesthouse

Property: Harvey's Guesthouse
Address: 11 Upper Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 161 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Harvey's Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Harvey's Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Guesthouse Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing