We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy - ask for room without a view ie at the back”
Review of Trinity Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trinity Lodge
Ranked #32 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Bishop Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Noisy - ask for room without a view ie at the back”
Reviewed November 5, 2006

Stayed 3 nights in October 2006.

Good bits - excellent location, very central; irish breakfasts - very good, fresh and cooked to order. Italian 2 doors down is also excellent.

Average bits - room large and clean, more guest house than hotel, and bathroom small though functional.

Bad bits - noise from the bar across the road. not open Tues but loud from Wed onwards - opens for the late night crowd about 11.00pm til 3.00am. around 4am by time crowd disperse.

I'm not a light sleeper and thought I'd sleep through it after a guiness or two. But no - it really is loud. And you know how you feel after a couple of poor nights sleep, heavy eyed and grumpy.

Shame really - cos apart from the rain, Dublin is a good place to visit. My favourite place was the gaol - moving and atmospheric.

  • Liked — Location is great
  • Disliked — Noise from bar opposite
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the italian 2 doors down for a delightful snack / coffee / wine. Best guinness at the smallest bar in town.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alatbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    201
    118
    58
    53
See reviews for
137
195
45
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

this review is only to tell you to ask them well about their policy! beware!

i 've never been to trinity lodge...BUT but some days ago i wanted to book there for next november... i was decided...i was sure...

BUT in an email I asked about their cancellation policy:

if you cancel your booking LESS THEN 7 DAYS BEFORE your arrival date they charge ALL the amount from your credit card!!!!

in 7 days could happen almost everything!!!
normally hotel charge 1 or at max 2 nights... but ALL the amount no!

so, reluctantly, i had to change hotel for my next trip...

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank mkvalya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey (NYC)
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

I have stayed at Trinity Lodge on a number of occasions over the past seven years. The rooms are lovely; the staff, pleasant; and the breakfast, just what you need to start the day. All the Graham Knuttel paintings are a treat as well (apparently he lives nearby). I have seen the complaints on this site that the noise from the club across the street is awful, and my sister did experience this one night. If you're booking early enough, I would suggest asking for a room in the main building in the back. The only noise you might have will be the emptying of trash in the alleyway. It is a walkup, so beware if you have a lot of luggage. Otherwise, I would highly recommend TL. The location can't be beat. While you're there, treat yourself to the wine bar, Dunne and Crescenzi, which is just a couple of doors down from it!

  • Liked — Beautifully decorated rooms
  • Disliked — Walkup
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room in main building at the back
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mmdoherty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2006

My 2 night stay at trinity lodge was fantastic. I read the reviews before I went and was slightly put off by the comments about the noise. We stayed during the week, not at the weekend so i could not comment on weekend noise, but I can say I found it the quietest street in Dublin City centre. The rooms were fantastic and the breakfast was great (they also did breakfast in bed free of charge) The rooms had full size hairdryers, irons and airconditioning in the room which was good. I would reccommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Disliked — No lift and 4 floors
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dodswortha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2006

The location is GREAT! 1/2 a block up from Trinity College, in a really nice section of town. The staff was energetic and very helpful. The breakfast more than we could finish. The price (160 Euros) was reasonable. All in all, it's a lovely hotel.
We stayed in the annex across from the main building, in Room 17. It's on the top floor (4th) and you have to walk up - no elevator! No fire escape either!. The room itself was pretty.

BUT--- We would NEVER return here !!!!

The clamor from the incessant music did not stop until 4 AM. If you've read the comments here about this problem from other guests, you'll realize it's NOT a now and then kind of annoyance. Many people, including ourselves, went basically sleepless all night. Nothing helped to alleviate the condition. The drumbeats penetrated the night like hammer blows.
The top floor is markedly hotter than the lower floors (you notice the difference immediately upon reaching the 4th floor landing.) So even though you would like to close the windows to keep out the noise, you can't or you'll bake. Our room, (#17), had a huge active water heater stuffed into a closet, which served as our own private oven. Just what we needed !
Maybe things are better in the main building. But if they're not, AVOID THIS HOTEL !!

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank brufanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 11, 2006

I have just returned from a week at Trinity Lodge and wanted to comment on what others have said about this lovely hotel in the heart of Dublin. The rates are very reasonable, especially for longer stays; It is ideally situated for walking to everything in the city centre; it has extremely friendly and helpful staff; the deluxe twin rooms are huge, compared to most European rooms, with loads of storage space; the beds were very comfortable and all the linens and towels were good quality; the breakfasts were generous and good. However, the one problem with this otherwise great hotel is that it has to share the street with an after-hours club which means that some nights the music goes on until after 3:00. With the new non-smoking laws, people come out to the street to smoke. The club doesn't seem to be noisy every night but it was 4 out of our 7 nights. Also, the unfortunate thing for people who want a twin room is that they are only available on the street side of the hotel and the annex. Doubles are available at the back and they would be quieter. We did find the noise was tolerable if you close the windows and run the airconditioner. It is a great shame because otherwise, this is the perfect place to stay in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2006

My friend and I stayed for a long weekend at Trinity Lodge. We were allocated a large room with a double bed each, sofa etc. Our room was on the top floor, there are no lifts and it is a long way up with your luggage. It also meant the room was very warm. We resolved this by opening the windows as wide as we could. However, we went out for the day and came home to find that an mobile air con had put in our room and left on - this was fantastic as Dublin was sweltering in early June sun. Trinity Lodge gets the simple things right, the beds were comfy, the shower was powerful, the towels were fluffy. Breakfast is delicious and again simple things are very well done, freshly squeezed OJ and home baking - yum! The location is ideal for 2 party girls like us but you might find the clubs/bars noisy if you like to get to sleep before 4am. We would stay again. Caroline

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank superstarhume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 151 in Dublin
1,478 reviews
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,487 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#102 of 151 in Dublin
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,402 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#95 of 151 in Dublin
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Property: Trinity Lodge
Address: 12 South Frederick Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Guesthouse in the Heart of Dublin. Situated in the heart of Dublins business district & cultural quarter near Trinity College, this elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses. The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style & comfort. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar and O'Connell Street are all located within walking distance from us. Please note due to Trinity Lodge being a period property there is no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing