We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic B&B, unbeatable location”
Review of Trinity Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trinity Lodge
Ranked #27 of 149 Dublin B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 22, 2005

I must admit that I booked a room at the Trinity Lodge with some trepidation because some of the reviews spoke of noise, lukewarm showers, etc. Still others spoke with praise about Trinity Lodge. I decided to take a chance and booked a room for 5 nights, arriving on a Friday. I was assigned Room 17 in the "annex" building across the street. The building is a beuatifully restored Georgian home with about 6 rooms in it (two per floor). My room was a standard double and was very spacious by European standards and comparable to many US hotels in size. The bed and furnishings were of very high quality and the room was pleasantly and handsomely decorated in reds and warm yellow/tan tones. the room was comfortable and QUIET!! I detected very little outside noise (and I slept with the window open most nights as I like it cool when I sleep). There were no loud discos/nightclubs...not Friday, Saturday, Sunday, Monday, or Tuesday night. The bathroom contained a sink, shower, and toilet and a nice natural stone floor. The shower contained a "point of use" hot water heater common in Ireland and provided copious amounts of hot water. The water could be made so hot, in fact, that I am sure you could boil eggs in it! The room was, in short, a comfortable and welcome respite after a day of sightseeing in Dublin.
The breakfast, even by Irish standards, was remarkable. There were choices of cereals, yoghurts, much fresh fruit, and three juices, including fresh squeezed orange juice. You also could order (and I did) a full Irish breakfast (or any portion of it). It included two sausages, two "rashers", an egg, fried potatoes, mushrooms, fried tomato, and other Irish "delicacies". Toast and coffee or tea was also served with this. Needless to say, I never ate lunch in Dublin and was filled until dinner.
Location wise, you cannot do better in Dublin. Trinity College (and the Book of Kells) is steps away, the National Museum of Ireland, St. Stephen's Green, Archbishop Ryan Park, the National Library of Ireland, Grafton Street shopping, Temple Bar, Dublin Castle, St. Patrick's Cathedral, Christ Church Cathedral, etc. are all an easy walk. You are about 2 miles from Kilmainhan Gaol and the Irish Museum of Modern Art (and a little closer to the overpriced Guinness Storehouse), but there is really nothing closer to these attractions as they are located in the far industrial/residential areas southwest of the city center.
All in all, believe the great reviews about Trinity Lodge. It is located on a quiet, mostly residential street and I honestly cannot even identify what is the club/disco people are talking about. I wonder seriously if they stayed in the same place I did on South Frederick Street! Dublin isn't cheap, but this is an economical and great choice for this expensive city.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank TR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 573 reviews

Reviewed October 4, 2005

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Maximum-Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Macomb, MI
18
Reviewed August 13, 2005

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2005

Stayed: August 2005
9  Thank cshut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2005

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beach1402016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
29
Reviewed April 30, 2005

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2005

  • Stayed: March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PK_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,524 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#103 of 150 in Dublin
735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#23 of 150 in Dublin
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 150 in Dublin
2,375 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 150 in Dublin
3,469 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#105 of 150 in Dublin
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Address: 12 South Frederick Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range: $135 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Guesthouse in the Heart of Dublin. Situated in the heart of Dublins business district & cultural quarter near Trinity College, this elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses. The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style & comfort. Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar and O'Connell Street are all located within walking distance from us. Please note due to Trinity Lodge being a period property there is no lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing