We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Trinity Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Trinity Lodge
Ranked #33 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
Odessa, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Dublin”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We selected this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisor. The room we were given was large and comfortable. The bathroom included a shower that I would consider compact. There was no bath tub. Our room was located downstairs below the check-in desk. The first night we were there, the check-in clerk was a bit noisy. Since it's an old building, the sound was noticeable in our room. My wife went upstairs and spoke to the clerk and she quieted down. Since the hotel closes at 10pm, it was not a problem after that. The remainder of our trip was fine. The hotel is close to Trinity College and a reasonable walk to most other Dublin attractions. If given the opportunity, I would stay there again, but not in the same room.

Room Tip: No Wi-Fi. Shower in bathroom was small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Gary,
Thank you for your review.
I am glad that you have enjoyed our location and that you found the room fine with the exception of the noise experienced in the first day. Unfortunately due to the fact that the 3 Georgian houses were built in 1700 (even though all of them were insulated) noise can sometimes travel from the rooms above.
Our rooms are en-suite with shower or bath and we allocate our bookings upon guests requests in this regard. Please note that the size of the shower is the usual European size.
I am a bit confused about your comment regarding the WI-FI as there is wireless internet facilities in all rooms and common areas and you should have contacted the reception in this regard if you experienced problems to connect to the internet.
In the end I would like to thank you for staying at Trinity Lodge and we hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    197
    116
    57
    52
See reviews for
135
187
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were allocated a first floor room in the building opposite. Seeing I was a senior I think spurred the receptionist to offer to take my case up. I can't say this was done with a smile as grumblings as to how heavy the case was were heard as we went upstairs. Our room overlooked the plumbing and roof of the adjacent restaurant and there was the faint rumblings of a possibly washing machine heard from time to time. That said, we had better things to do in Dublin than sit in our room during the day and look at rooftops. The bathroom was huge, the water hot and the towels soft and fluffy. However there was a shortage of power points ,- none in the bathroom and one on the far wall low down beside the bed. You had to boil the jug on the floor. Location is superb as has been mentioned previously. Personally we were happy to be in a room in the opposite building as we could come and go without the hassle of going past reception all the time.

Room Tip: Ask about room choices before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mitchbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, General Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear b walker,
I would like to thank you for sharing your experience at Trinity Lodge with other travelers. Please accept my apologies if you felt that the receptionist was not genuine in offering help-this should not have happened and I have brought this issue to her attention.
Unfortunately the downside of our premium city centre location is the view, as you may understand. However most visitors as yourself spend most of the time either visiting or attending business matters during their stay.
Thank you also for pointing out about power points issue - we will try to address this as soon as possible.
I am glad that overall you have enjoyed our location and your room and we hope to see you again.
My Best Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The desk of this lodge closes at 10 pm and no one is there to let you in after. We were given a card to call in an emergency but a lot of travelers abroad may have cell phone issues so that could be a problem for many. Our room was across the street, our keys had a sensor to wave over a key pad to let us in the front door. It worked well but I didn't like the idea that I would not have a convenient back up plan to get in late at night. Our room did not have a security peep hole, chain on the door, or extra lock in addition to the one the key opened. We left for the airport early Sunday and no one would be at the hotel desk until 8 AM so we just left the keys inside . There was no drop box for keys. Our room safe had a worn out key pad and wasn't usable. We were at the very top, many flights of stairs,no elevator.That said, our room was clean, freshly and nicely equipped and decorated, the slate floored, under the eaves bathroom was attractive and had a strong hot shower . The location is incredibly convenient -National museums the next block over, Trinity, Book of Kells, pedestrian street, bus connections, location super central. We had an excellent meal at the restaurant " Bite" downstairs. We slept with the window open and could hear a party going on - seemed like a late night bar somewhere- we slept fine but light sleepers might have been troubled.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Ruth V,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we are delighted that you have enjoyed your room and our location.
Regarding the safe we will address this issue immediately and I would also like to answer to your other concerns:
- Every guests has its own key and security tag to access the front door of the hotel and their room.
- In case the security fob fails, which was one of the points raised, if you ring the help line outside the reception hours the person on duty will provide you with a code that you can enter it manually on the security pad.
- There are no extra security locks on the guest rooms due to the fact that we are located in a very safe area of Dublin and secondly that there are 2 security doors between the outside and the guests rooms and most hotels even without this security level would only have one lock.
- There is a post box on the front door of the building that you have stayed in for the keys but they can also be left in the room.
In the end I would like to thank you for staying at Trinity Lodge and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcoming you again.
Yours Sincerely,
Roxana Cernat
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed in the Trinity Lodge for two nights.
The room was small but nice and very clean and warm. The personal was very nice and helpful and I have only compliments for the service. There is no possibility to have usual type of breakfast in the hotel, but I had no problem to get very good breakfast in numerous coffee shops in a five min walking distance. So, I would not take this as disadvantage. The only thing which I can comment is the point that hotel is old building and sound isolation is not the best. However, I am sleeping well and this did not disturb me at all. It's situation is simply great, very close to the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Owner at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jasmina M,
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our hotel & staff and we are delighted that your experience here was positive. We hope that we will be having the pleasure to welcoming you again at Trinity Lodge in the future.
My Best Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager Trinity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

This is an okay hotel in a great location in Dublin. Just a 5 minute walk from Trinity College and the same to the busy shopping street (Grafton street).

It is a bit old fashioned and pretty expensive but that is what you get in Dublin unless you can pay a lot more.

The staff were very friendly and the room was spacious. The shower on the top floor was temperamental, it was boiling and then freezing on one use and then good the next day.

Nice enough but I wouldn't rush back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear FO1989,
Thank you for your review and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay - especially our location, rooms and staff.
Regarding the old fashioned style comment, due to the fact that the buildings that are comprising Trinity Lodge were built in the 18th century, they can not be modern and is part of the charm that our hotel has for our guests that are enjoying a Georgian style accommodation.
We have checked the shower while you were staying with us and the problem encountered was due to the the fact that an incorrect pressure level was selected on your shower unit.
We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future and thank you again for selecting Trinity Lodge for your trip to Dublin.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager Trinity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Very nice boutique hotel, ground floor massive room was very good, quiet, and old fashioned bed linen... It is a pity they don't do bed & breakfast but they do offer 2 close by cafe that give discount when you mention the room and hotel. There is also a very good coffee shop next door, and Marco Pierre White restaurant around the corner so very good location. Happy Teddy :-)

Room Tip: Ground Floor if poss.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tel1Guitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear Tel1Guitar,
Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you found almost everything to your liking.
Regarding the breakfast options these may change in the near future as we are planning to serve again the Full Irish & Continental breakfast that used to be one of the best in Dublin.
We hope that you will consider to stay with us again in the future.
Kind Regards,
Roxana Cernat
Manager Trinity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

1) There is no lift. Senior citizens having to carry their luggage 3 floors is no joke. Plus go up 3 floors daily is not so easy. There is no help available.
2) Breakfast consists of (1 croissant, 1 bottle milk, 1 juice and 1 rotten pear). Any restaurant in the locality will give a hot much better breakfast for half the cost
3) There is no help available after 8 PM. If you ask for a non emergency help, you will be charged 50 Euros
4) The furniture is of the cheapest type
5) The crockery consists of 2 cheap dirty glasses. One cheap plastic ice box
6) The windows cannot be opened
7) The door needs a lot adjustments to open

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kumarnair483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterMurphy68, Manager at Trinity Lodge, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear kumarnair483,
I would like to say in the first place that all our staff appreciate reviews that are honest and written with the intent to provide other visitors with accurate information(regardless if they are positive or negative) and we are disappointed to see a review that is not following the same principles.
I would like to reply to your comments as follows:
- I would like to mention that the hotel was kind enough to change your original booking for different dates without any extra charge even though the reservation made initially could not be changed in any circumstances as it was a non-refundable booking.
-Trinity Lodge is comprised of 3 Georgian buildings and due to the city regulations regarding protected structures we are not in the position to install a lift which clearly states in your confirmation. In case our guests are making requests to be allocated on lower floors we would oblige but in your reservation form was no note in this regard. We also provide help with the luggage.
-Our Breakfast consists of 1 fresh croissant, 1 organic granola yogurt, 1 bottle milk, 1fresh orange juice, 1 bottle of water & 1 fruit. I believe was non-intentional to overlook the full description. If you found that the fruits were not fresh enough or you were not happy with the type of breakfast provided you should have informed our staff. As I mentioned before we only charge our guests for the breakfasts costs.
-Regarding reception hours, they are from 7:30-22 and we also open often outside these hours in order to facilitate all early/late arrivals. The telephone number provided upon check-in is for emergencies outside reception hours and the charge listed on the card is just to discourage any abuse in this regard.
- The building you have stayed in was completely refurbished 4 years ago and you are the first of our guests to complain about the furniture as is new and completely functional.
-The crockery consists of cups, saucers, teaspoons for the free tea & coffee facilities & water glasses - none of them dirty or cheap. The ice bucket is made by plastic as it prevents breakages and is the norm in the hotel industry. Should you have required a Wine Cooler which I believe is where the misunderstanding lies we would have been happy to provide you with one.
-Regarding the windows & door they are completely functional and again if you had any difficulty in operating the door or window closures we would have been happy to assist you in this regard.
Unfortunately none of your complaints were brought to the staff attention during your 5 days stay and as you may understand we can not provide any assistance unless we are informed.
Yours Sincerely,
Roxana Cernat
Manager Trinity Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#25 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#10 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Central Hotel
The Central Hotel
#92 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kildare Street Hotel
Kildare Street Hotel
#51 of 162 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinity Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinity Lodge

Property: Trinity Lodge
Address: 12 South Frederick Street | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trinity Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Georgian Hotel in the Heart of DublinSituated in the heart of Dublin's business district & cultural quarter, near Trinity College, this family-owned elegant guesthouse offers luxury en-suite accommodation in an authentic Georgian townhouse. Rich in character, Trinity Lodge is one of the finest examples of Georgian-period accommodation available in the center of Dublin and is comprised of 3 beautifully restored original Georgian houses .The Lodge is a splendid craft of Georgian elegance and contemporary style& comfort .Perfect for business and leisure travelers alike Trinity Lodge has a unrivaled location as Grafton Street, Temple Bar, O'Connell Street, the city's museums and theaters are just a few steps away. Aviva Stadium, RDS, Grand Canal Theatre, IFSC, Dublin Convention Centre, The O2 Arena, Croke Park, Gaiety Theatre, National Concert Hall are all within easy reach. Stephen's Green Park, Christchurch and Saint Patrick's Cathedrals, National Gallery of Ireland, Leinster House, Dublin Castle, National Library of Ireland, Iveagh Gardens, James Joyce Museum are all located within walking distance from us ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trinity Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trinity Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing