We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money. Location was great. Place surprisingly clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
A TripAdvisor Member
Malibu, CA
13
Reviewed September 6, 2005

Value for the money. Great location. 5 minutes walk from Central Bus Station. Surprisingly clean. A bit noisy but dies down by midnight. Would stay again purely for the location. Friendly staff. Since I am a woman traving alone I was concerned for the safety of the area. But it was all right and people very helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 646 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2005

My husband and I recently returned from an amazing trip to Ireland. We began our vacation at the Celtic Lodge Guesthouse on Talbot Street in Dublin. From the airport we hopped on the #16 bus for only a few bucks and it took us almost right to the doorstep. The lodge is situated north of the Liffy river and is just down the way from the spire landmark on O'Connell Street. It is only a 5 minute walk or so from the trendy Temple Bar area as well. It couldn't have been in a better location, however don't forget, it is a big city and some nights the streets were loud with drunken laughter until the sun began to rise. I felt completely safe at all times in this area and walking late at night didn't phase us at all.

The rooms in the guesthouse were very clean, although definitely small. There was only about a foot and a half of walking space on either side of our queen size bed. Keeping this in mind you might want to pack lightly. If you have a lot of luggage it will be a tight squeeze.

If and when I return to Dublin I would definitely consider staying at the Celtic Lodge again. The staff was very hospitable and the breakfasts were very good. It was a great way to begin our wonderful vacation.

17  Thank mkmcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
south yorkshire
19
Reviewed May 4, 2005

we stayed (6 ladies) at the celtic lodge on the1,2 of april 2005 left 1pmish, we read some reviews before going some were good some were bad an we were worried what we had booked. we are not snobs but we like clean places,and we found it met our needs perfectly. the rooms were clean had good facilities, hairdryer as well, . The ladies came with clean towels the next day and to empty the bin. I would go again for sure we had rooms 109,110 and111 .

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Durham, UK
111
Reviewed October 20, 2004

A very decent hotel. Receptionists were extremely friendly and helpful with lots of advice. Excellent location in the heart of Dublin, however, our room was quiet and both the bedroom and en-suite were clean. Would recommend this friendly guest house to visit this great city.

  • Stayed: October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Scotland
19
Reviewed September 13, 2004

The first room had a dirty toilet and a cracked sink, the second room had an even dirtier toilet and hadn't been visited by a vacuum cleaner in quite some time. The area around the hotel is not the type of place you'd like to be after dark. We didn't stay.

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
England, UK
17
Reviewed June 2, 2004

A group of us stayed in 2 rooms, both needed a good clean, there was splashes of coffee or dirt on the paint work, the skirtings were full of dust. Someone elses hair was in the shower and the tiles had dirt stuck to them. There was also a smell to both rooms, our room was frying smells from the kitchen below but I don't know what the others was. One of the windows was extremely dangerous as it would not shut and you only had to lean on it to end up on the pavement below, also the light in our room vibrated and needed wedging with paper towel. Also the toilet cistern continually filled and I had to bodge it with a coat hanger. The other room's curtain was hanging off. I expected basic but clean, and am not one to demand a large room to run about in but the shower/toilet was so small I could go to the loo and brush my teeth at the same time. In fact I had to leave the door open so that I could get off the loo! Anyone elderly or tubby or with children - not recommended. Good points - friendly/helpful staff, good breakfast, great friendly/lively pub downstairs, great location although a bit dodgy after dark, comfy bed. Tip to the hotel - get new cleaners!!

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Cambridgeshire, UK
15
Reviewed March 26, 2004

Six of us stayed here for St.Patricks Week and what a week it was !!!! Guesthouse is clean but basic and the staff were very friendly although there are several different faces on reception in the evenings. Good breakfast served very quickly. The problem was our room overlooked Talbot Street and we found it was very noisy - lorries,sirens and lots of shouting. Never heard any noise from the Celt Bar next door although this is a very basic place and small. Overall nice clean place to stay but would not stay again as we were kept awake by other guests banging doors, shouting late at night etc.

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,169 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 150 in Dublin
683 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 150 in Dublin
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $64 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing