We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heineken Cup Weekend.......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here from Thursday until Sunday and we found the accomodation actually very good overall, comfortable and clean, fresh towels every day but bed linen not changed daily (Doesn't worry me unduly after all do you change it daily at home?)
Breakfast is good if you are not vegetarian......but plenty of cereal & toast (A Full Irish breakfast for a veggie is grilled tomato fried egg and baked beans!!)
The breakfast service is so hit & miss it's laughable with the staff running around like headless chickens......you do get what you ask for eventually!!
All in all I would stay here again but not at 100 euro per night but it was Heneken Cup Final weekend so what did I expect??

Room Tip: Make sure you book the free transfer bus.......it'll save a fortune!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 646 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Never again!!!

I booked this place for my parents. On check-out day, my parents left their bags in the hall in the morning and went shopping for a while before catching the shuttle bus to the airport in the afternoon. When they came back to collect their bags, they were accused of stealing a blanket from the room. Without asking any question, the hotel owners (more than one was present) told them straight in their face that they had stolen it. My parents replied they had not stolen anything, but given that the hotel owners were insisting they decided to open all their bags (four in total, two big and two small) and show their stubborn counterparts that they only had their personal belongings with them. When the hotel owners saw that no blanket was in their bags, they kept their puzzled faces and did not even say sorry.

I will not dwell on how unpleasantly patronising these people were (to say the least), but I would like to ask them 3 questions:

a) If two hotel guests really wanted to steal a blanket from their room, would they leave their bags in the hall for a few hours and then come back, as my parents did? Or would they leave straight away?

b) If you have reason to believe your hotel guests have stolen anything, why not asking them first instead of jumping to conclusions?

c) After being proven you were wrong, which can happen to anyone, why don’t you say 3 simple words: “I AM SORRY”?

The hotel in itself was not bad, but after this incident I will make sure nobody I know will go there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paolo_ditraglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

From Anne, Manager at The Celtic Lodge. I do apologise for your experience; however, two fleece blankets were taken from the room and have not been found since. They were there at check-in and not at check out. You must see it from our point of view that this sort of thing happens quite often and nine times out of ten the item taken is packed in the luggage of the people that stayed in the room. When anything goes missing from a room it is the policy of The Celtic Lodge to find the missing item or charge the guest for it. No one else was in the room, the items have not appeared, no explanation came from the guests to say why there were blankets on arrival, but not on departure, it is a mystery. However, it is clear that from your return when the bags were opened by the guests, the items were not in there. We do not think that it is unreasonable to ask people if they took these items. We did ask you if anything had been taken, but people that steal usually can't be trusted with their replies, so it is both policy, prudent and reasonable to ask for the luggage to be opened. We are sorry if this embarrassed you and your parents, but we will not change our policy; and, in future cases of suspected theft the Gardai may be called.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Had a very nice time at this hotel. Clean, decorated in good taste, helpful staff and very good breakfast all contributed to a swell vacation in Dublin. The hotel is well placed, near the city centre. Make sure you visit the bar down stairs, "The Celt" great Irish atmosphere, live music, delicious cooking and friendly bar owner and staff.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

The staff at this B&B could not be nicer. The gal that makes breakfast knows what she's doing and is wonderful. We had a room over the pub/bar and the "music" from 9:30 to 12:30 am was load and not very good. We ate at the restaraunt once. The chicken was good, but the INSTANT potatoes were not expected. High prices for what we got. Don't miss the sandwich/bread shop a few doors toward Oconnel street

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room away from over the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaldV606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

From Ann Heaslip, Manager of The Celtic Lodge; thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your visit. Sorry if there was lots of noise from The Celt Bar, but the music and 'craic' is part of an authentic Dublin experience, we encourage everyone to join in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

we stayed at the Celtic Lodge guesthouse in Dublin over the Easter holidays, it was a lovely experience, nice rooms, a good breakfast, pleasant staff, a fair price and also this guesthouse has a perfect position, close to many of the Dublin attractions.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zanetag_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago. V comfortable room. Staff were very friendly and helpful! Nice breakfast! Very good locatin as well. You are in the centre of everything. Beside a great restaurant too. Would definately recommend it. I'll be back.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
Thank EmmaJane261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at the Celtic lodge for three nights at the end of our UK trip and loved it. Very reasonably priced (the same price as some of the hostels but with a private room and shower, and full breakfast included!). Also much quieter than staying on the other side of the river. You really can't go wrong. The staff was helpful and friendly. The free shuttle bus to the airport is definitely a bonus. It felt quite luxurious after 2 weeks of hosteling across the UK!

We will definitely be back to the Celtic Lodge next time we find ourselves in Dublin!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Krista K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,169 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 150 in Dublin
683 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $64 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing