We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a double room,not so clean and very noisy at night.
Moreover they have been shutting off the heating for all day we were not in..so when we came in the evening the room was very very cold.
Bathroom very unpleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank melx77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

From Anne Heaslip, Manager at The Celtic Lodge: Thank you for your review; sorry if the accommodation did not reach your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 646 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

This was in great location 5 mins from o'connell street 10 mins walk from temple bar. We arrived at 9 am and were told our room was available if we wanted to check in , which we did , at no extra charge. Staff lovely apart from miserable blonde haired girl in dining room, never cracked a smile all the time we were there . Breakfast was good but not great, just to say warm and had to go out and buy apple juice as only orange available, which we do not like. Only downside was trying to open door as you had to turn key as you pushed door with your shoulder, not good as people coming in late in the next rooms, woke everybody up trying to open their doors. Paddy wagon was free airport transfers which saves you 12 euro each return and drops you off, and picks you up outside door. Wanted to book for paddys weekend but prices more than doubled which is a shame. Overall nice stay .

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeachBabeTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

From Anne Heaslip, Manager at The Celtic Lodge: Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable stay! Room layout - ok! Service 5*! breakfast ok! Location - just perfect! A good value for money!
Celtic lodge guesthouse is just the perfect place for a lovely quiet stay in the city centre without having to travel too much from and to the main attractions!
If I ever go to Dublin again, I will definitely stay there again!!! Is worth it!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savvymmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

the hotel was well placed for the city centre, the room was tiny but clean,we stayed 4 nights and in that time they did not make the bed or clean the room at all, they did change the towels but not the cups we used for the tea-making. The breakfast was well cooked and good portions, on the day of checkout we had to vacate the room by 11am and at 11 on the dot they turned the water off! so you couldn't even flush the toilet. Service was disappointing but we would stay there again because of convenience

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Thank you for your review; I've investigated what you said and I just wanted to respond. Firstly we are pleased you liked the location and the standard of cleanliness and we would be delighted to welcome you back. We do service the rooms every day and bedding is changed on check out or every three days; however, if rooms are not vacant on a stay over before 2 pm; they cannot be serviced. As regards the day you checked out; we have no control over the supply of water to each room; you give us powers we simply don't have! You did not tell us when you stayed; but the fact you had no water after 11am tells us it was in September as the local authority were digging up the roads and they do control the water supply; it wasn't only your room that had no water; the whole building and area had no water that lunch time. So we really are blameless there. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to clarify that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sinead P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Celtic is perfect to visit Dublin staying in the center of town. Talbot street is a nice shopping road full of life. The rooms of Celtic are small but clean. Breakfast is ok. The reception is always open and the two ladies are so lovely. All the stuff is friendly. Good the free shuttle to and from the airport. You have to reserve it. Very nice the pub and the restaurant. Simply reccomended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosaneranera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The location is great but the accommodation is truly awful. We paid 90 euros for friday and saturday and 47 euros for sunday night (227 euros total). The rooms are small and basic, the cleaner didn't even clean the very small floor of the shower room. For the heating to work you have to phone reception for it to be switched on. The breakfast (full irish) looked and tasted as if it had been kept warm for hours. We had a room at the front and the street noise was terrible early in the morning. Reception staff are very friendly but this is a very basic B and B not worth the money.

Room Tip: Don't accept a room at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Celtic Lodge Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Thank you for your review, we are sorry if your stay with us did not live up to your expectations; we can only say that the points you made are not the usual experience of our guests. The Celtic Lodge usually scores very highly on our cleanliness and our breakfast is also much loved; however, we cannot appeal to all tastes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#83 of 150 in Dublin
1,169 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#102 of 150 in Dublin
1,148 reviews
Maple Hotel
#134 of 150 in Dublin
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North City Centre
Charleville Lodge
Charleville Lodge
#109 of 150 in Dublin
683 reviews
West County Hotel
#84 of 150 in Dublin
312 reviews
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#44 of 150 in Dublin
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $64 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing