We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Cheap, decent, but nothing special.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cheap, decent, but nothing special.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Well priced. Small rooms. Breakfast is good but definitely not stunning as some reviewers claim. It's just average. The air in the dining room is fat and thick. Get a better exhaust system in that kitchen please!
But, the location is very central, staf is ok and the rooms are clean. Good beds.
However... Staff told us we could leave our luggage at Hueston Station. We took the Luas (20 mins) to the station only to find out there is NO left luggage in the station! That certainly didn't make us smile...

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pim75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    217
    121
    45
    25
See reviews for
60
223
38
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bamberg, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

I visited in November, this hotel is in a great location and the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially Anne. If I'm ever in Dublin again, I'll definately stay there. Don't understand why this is only rated a 2 star. The room was nice, the breakfast was good and the location was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor is you don't like to climb stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Soulangel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in December. Perfect location, everything is walking distance. Room was small but clean, all you really need if you are exploring Dublin. Next to the hotel there is Irish pub - The Celt - has live music every evening, there is also a restaurant, but we did not eat there. Staff was very helpful and friendly and very good was free transfer from and to the airport.

I can recommend this place, do not expect anything romantic or mind blowing, but for the price, very good standard and service.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noordbroek, Netherlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This hotel is a great place to stay when you want to go out all day to discover Dublin. If you’d prefer to stay in the hotel for the whole day, by all means: find something else :-)
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to use it for an overnight sleep and have a nice Irish breakfast. From where the hotel is located, you can visit most of Dublin’s highlights by foot.
Breakfast is great. Even my wife had a full Irish and she loved it. Once we had to wait for half an hour until there was a table available.
Staff is very helpful and very friendly. Some of them speak English even worse then I do. I don’t mind, but then again: I don’t work in a hotel in Dublin.
We travelled with friends, and our rooms (3) were next to each other, perfect. Rooms were small, and OK. Bathrooms were even smaller.
We used the Paddy coach to travel back to the airport, which was a great experience. I was in luck, and sat right behind the driver. I was not aware that a bus could drive with that many lights on the dashboard, blinking in all kind of colours. Anyway: we made it in time and even saw places in Dublin we haven’t been before (nor we shall probably visit ever after).
Whenever I want to visit Dublin again (with friends or family), I will sure check the availability of a room in The Celtic Lodge.
And last, but not least (after all, I am Dutch): the price was very, very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsfkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The Celtic Lodge is ideal if you want basic digs for a good price in a great location. And 'basic' might differ from person to person. We stayed at the Celtic Lodge on two occasions during a month long visit to Ireland. We didn't mind that due to the size of the second bathroom we had to come out, turn around and then re-enter. Nor did we mind that for a twelve hour period during our three night stay there was no hot water. We did appreciate the OK breakfast and that the staff looked after us when we needed it served before the usual hours on one morning. Other things we liked: the general friendliness of the staff, the clean and cozy beds, the free shuttle on the Paddywagon bus to and from the airport on two occasions (right to the hotel's doorstep), the atmosphere and the music of the Celt Pub, and most of all the central location that gave one easy walking access to all that central Dublin has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesmvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

........Very warmhearted welcome. Perfect service. Paddybus shuttle made it easy, comfortable and for no charge to get from and to the airport. Very good breakfast. Perfect location in the city center!.................................................................................................. Thx

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

This lodge is situated in a perfect location. If you do not mind small room/space which we didn't mind since we only stay in the room at night this place is perfect. Cheap accommodation, friendly stuff, great breakfast. We definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivian a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#72 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Beresford Hotel
#94 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Maple Hotel
#123 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Citi Hotel
#71 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 902 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#100 of 151 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 stars 238 reviews
North City Centre
Hazelbrook House
Hazelbrook House
#131 of 151 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 stars 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Celtic Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Celtic Lodge Guesthouse

Property: Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Address: 81 - 82 Talbot Street | North City Centre, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Celtic Lodge Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Celtic Lodge Guesthouse - Restaurant & Bar is located in the heart of Dublin city, within an easy 5 minute walk from both Connolly Train Station and The Central Bus Station, and only 20 minutes from Dublin Airport. Dublin City itself is filled with culture and learning, with lots to do within easy walking distance. It is rich in historic sites, theaters, museums, music and comedy venues, restaurants, including our own Award Winning Restaurant Le Bon Crubeen, serving very reasonably priced French / Irish cuisine, which can be followed with a "Pint" in our Award Winning Traditional Irish pub The Celt Bar, which with its friendly atmosphere and nightly live Traditional Irish Music Sessions makes a "must" after a day out. City Centre - 5 mins walk from train and bus stations, 5 min tram ride to The 3Arena from the Bus Station - the most popular music venue in Ireland. Own Award winning traditional Irish Pub - The Celt Bar with free live Irish traditional music nightly. Own Award winning Restaurant - Le Bon Crubeen. 24 Hour Reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Celtic Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse Hotel Dublin
Celtic Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing