We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Eliza Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Lodge
Ranked #83 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2006

We stayed at the Eliza Lodge for a weekend jolly during the rugby international season. We booked way in advance which is a must at this time of year.

The location is perfect for the Temple Bar area and the views from the rooms that we were allocated were brilliant.

We did not actually spend much time in the hotel itself but we had everything we needed when we were there. The rooms were a decent size and clean. The ensuites were also perfectly fine (no bath).

We actually dined in the restaurant which was fab and the breakfast was also delicious if not a little slow but all credit to the girls they were rushed off their feet.

I would definately recommend this guesthouse for anyone wanting good value for money and a central location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — no room service or bath
  • Tips/Secrets — book early if travelling in November
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    240
    80
    33
    14
See reviews for
68
218
44
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The O.C.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2006

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It just is not worth the money, nor worthy of the hype and/or reviews the "hotel" receives in TripAdvisor. We booked based on those reviews. Hotel is well located in Temple Bar. No hotel type facilities, no internet etc. Staff is so unhelpful they are essentially non-existent. You climb a narrow set of stairs to a telephone booth size front desk and after they give you the key, you are literally on your own. The room was passable. The bed was essentially two twins pushed together with a widget in the middle. Sheets were hospital quality and comfort. Mattress was well passed it's useful life. Rooms in need of renovation. Bath was small, but the shower and bath worked well. If you have no other choices and want to stay in the heart of Temple Bar, this may be a choice for you. If you are looking for any luxury or comfort beyond a basic place to lay your hat in a small room, you probably should look elsewhere.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No wi-fi and not very comfortable
  • Tips/Secrets — Skip it!
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Peaceman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2006

We stayed here for two nights in late August, and found the hotel to be in a prime location for exploring Dublin. It's literally on the banks of the Liffey River, around the corner from Temple Bar district and within walking distance of tons of attractions including Trinity College, Guiness Storehouse museum and frankly just about everything. You simply couldn't ask for a more prime location, in our opinion.
(One downside to this location, however, is you can hear some street chatter at pretty late hours into the night.)
The rooms were very spacious and we had a great view over the Liffey. Some of the amenities such as the towels and bed clothes looked a little worn, so we felt the room could have used a little sprucing up.
The breakfast at the downstairs restaurant was good with plenty of choices. There was no Internet computer for guests to use, but the hotel manager kindly let me check my email on the work computer.
Overall, we thought this was a very nice hotel and would consider staying here again.

  • Liked — Location and View
  • Disliked — Rooms were a little worn
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelBear12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

Had a wonderful romantic weekend with my Wife at Elizalodge..
The rooms were top class, service excellent and the location and atmosphere was exactly what we were loking for...

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Tom_Gui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Dublin Citi Hotel
#75 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Temple Bar
Handels Hotel Temple Bar
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Inn
Temple Bar Inn
#45 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Clarence
#43 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
South City Centre
Blooms Hotel
Blooms Hotel
#80 of 153 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#135 of 153 in Dublin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Lodge

Property: Eliza Lodge
Address: Eliza Lodge 23/24 Wellington Quay | Corner Of Eustace Street, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Eliza Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel located in Temple Bar area, near Grafton Street, St Stephen's Green & Trinity College. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Eliza Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing