We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and really needs a refurb!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing and really needs a refurb!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

Very disappointed with our 3 night stay and have been ill on my return cannot stop vomitting, rooms far too hot, had the windoow open all the time, a distinct smell of chip fat on entering the hotel, breakfast room not clean saw waitress pouring orange juice slops into teapot, also tea pots were not being washed as tea leaves or dust floating in them. Hotel generally needs a refurbishment but it has probably been left too long now a lot of furniture needs putting on a skip, dirty and tired, even if they spent money on the dining rooms and receptions areas it would be a start. No hot water, had one hot bath, one cold, one lukewarm, shower unuseable.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarlett008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    785
    369
    119
    56
See reviews for
358
689
185
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Stayed on the 1st floor of the hotel for 2 nights, Room. Hotel looks really nice on the web site and talks of newly refurbished en suites. We chose the hotel because it has a decent location and a competitive rate.

Positives - Friendly welcome, good breakfast, comfortable bed.

Negatives - The walls are paper thin. I had a conversation through the wall with our friends in the next room without raising my voice (no exaggeration). Heard couples arguing very clearly, TV's, toilets flushing and showers. Worst noise was the pipes ticking and creaking in the ceiling void when they heat up.

En-Suite was as clean as could be, but has certainly not been refurbished any time recently as the web site suggests. Very dated with a missing, grotty seal around the bath, grotty silicone/putty behind the basin, the bath is installed way too high for those of you less abled, no extractor fan, WC lid jumps up with a loud dunt when you flush (so does next doors as we kept hearing) and worst of all a lack of hot water (nothing to do with water restrictions as there was plenty cold water) I had 1 hot shower, 1 cold shower and 1 lukewarm.

The radiator in the Bedroom has no thermostatic valve so the room becomes very very hot. The heating was off a lot when we were there so the room then became very cold!!

Room was pokey and dated. TV very small.

Should have pushed the boat out a little and found somewhere else, would not go back unless the hotel was refurbed. Cant believe the company that owns the Atholl Palace in Pitlochry near where we live owns this hotel - they should look there for a little inspiration.......

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scots2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your review, I actually remember speaking to you when you checked it about your plans for New Years Eve in the Guinness Storehouse - hope you had a good evening.

I am glad that there were some positive notes in your review and that you felt you received a warm welcome and a good breakfast and had a comfortable bed and I would like to thank you for these kind remarks and I would like to address the negative points -

I checked both of the rooms which you were allocated on the first floor and it seems there is an empty cavity above the bathroom in one room which is allowing noise to travel. I hope to address this and also to improve the general soundproofing of bedrooms in our winter refurbishment programme which happens each year from January to March. I also plan to completely refurbish the bathroom of one of the rooms in this programme. I have raised the other points mentioned with our maintenance manager and I hope I can work with our maintenance team to improve on all the points which you raised.

Thanks again for your comments, as I have said before it is with the help of feedback from our guests that we can learn what aspects of our service are working well and most importantly what points of our product and service which must be improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham U.K.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

I fell for the classic trick in the book "pretty pictures".....
As the saying "Don't judge a book by it'sa cover", I thought i'd stay away from your mundane standard service of Ibis or Travelodge etc. and try something new .
On the whole the hotel is presented very well on the internet, alluring the customer with it's colourfull pictures and modern style bedrooms. However, in reality it's nothing what is promised. Old interior, very poor customer service and extremley poor kept rooms. I stayed for 3 nights, and i soo wish i would have stuck to the normal Ibis or travel lodge hotels.
I had booked a single room for 3 nights, room was extremley small, with very old decor infact, the bathroom was horrible. Cracks all up the wall and an extremley filthy shower curtain. The window in the room had a mind of it's own. Once opened you needed to have the strength of an olympic boxer to shut it back. Window in the room was adjacent to a building next door. All 3 nights i heard people arguing, drunks outside and did not feel safe at all.
Was soo dissapointed with the service aswell, no helpfull friendly staff as other guests mention....
Breakfast was fine if you are a non-vegetarian. But, for vegetarians no fuss or "special breakfast" as the hotel advertises.
Only saving grace for this hotel was it's location on O'conell Street, apart from that nothing...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Birmingham-Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Dear Sir

I am very sorry that you did not enjoy your recent stay with us, if you would like to contact me by email at yvonne@castle-hotel.ie I would gladly look into this complaint in detail as I do not understand the cause of some of the complaints. I believe the room you were allocated looks onto to the lane which allows access to our car park and adjoins to an office building therefore I don't understand where the noise can have emanated from.

I am also sorry that you were unhappy with our vegetarian breakfast which offers eggs to order, beans, mushrooms & tomatoes as well as a choice of cereals, fruit juices, teas/coffee, hot chocolate as well as a selection of cheeses, fresh fruit selection and yoghurts. I would be delighted to hear of any suggestions you might have to expand on this menu for our vegetarian guests.

I hope to hear from you.

Kindest Regards

Yvonne O'Keeffe
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

At time of booking and through Email, requested a Handicapped equipped, No Smoking room. Was assured that I could be accomodated in these respects. Upon arrival was given a room that had no facilities for a handicapped person. Was offered other rooms, but they also were not equipped for a person with limitations. Was never shown to the rooms, we had to find our way to each and ended in making do with one.

We had to ask for the heat to be turned on each day. It was turned off each morning for some reason. The heating did not warm the room and we had to ask for a portable heater to get the room temprature into the low 60's. The huge Georgian style windows allowed constant drafts and even shutting the drapes over the windows did not offer much improvement.

The draft from the bathroom window was so strong it would flap the curtain 3 to 4 inches up from the window. In order to use the shower safely, I had to place my walker in the shower stall, lock the wheels, hold on with one hand while I washed with the other.

As this time of year was a slow period for the hotel, we were allowed to check in early, one nice thing about our stay. Our trip was to celebrate our Thirtieth Wedding Anniversary. The accomodations really let us down.

The only parts of our stay in the hotel that were enjoyable was the Traditional Music in the bar on Friday and Saturday evening. The barmen were fantastic and many of the local folk we met the bar were great fun.

Mike & Dorothy Ellis
Milwaukee, WI

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tokengoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We stayed in this hotel Dec 9-11. We chose the hotel over one of the bigger chain hotels as our dealings over the phone had been very friendly. We also particularly liked how the manager had responded to some of the negative feedback on this site. We hoped that our stay would be more personable than the bland chain hotel and it turned out to be just that. We arrived early on in the morning due to early flights from East Midlands, but this was no problem as our rooms were ready. We did ask to change rooms as our original was situated next to the lift and the receptionist, Michelle could not have been more helpful. We had travelled with my brother and his wife and Michelle gave us some keys to an alternative set of rooms to check out their suitability. These rooms were great and the issue was sorted in a very amicable manner. This was to set the tone of the stay, the staff were very helpful and friendly which made our first visit to Dublin all the more enjoyable. The hotel is situated at the top end of O'connell St a short walk from the airbus, tour bus, shopping, River Liffey, Temple Bar etc in fact just right. All in all a great mid priced hotel being run by people who wish you to have a good stay. Would certainly use it again

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 187048Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2010

Excellent hotel, the staff were all very friendly, great entertainment in the bar on an evening, breakfast is lovely and again staff great - very obliging. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bev86England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

Spent three nights 03/12 to 06/12. Main concern was the lack of sleep due to traffic noise buses run all night and hotel right on busy cross roads. Had room 221 bedroom not badly kitted out for a medium ranking hotel, well heated, needed it in -5c weather, however bathroom stone cold, no heating at all in there, hot water ran out sometimes Sunday morning, put this down to numbers of people staying. Great breakfast all you could ask for, full irish and all the trimmings. Would stay again but only with inside rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinsp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,368 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing