We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Arcadia, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2010

The location is very convenient and most of the main attractions are within walking distance. The room was small, but comfortable and the housekeeping is excellent. The breakfast service was very good and quick, and the staff was very friendly, despite being extremely busy. They also served breakfast before regular time for some of us that had an early tour.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arcadian7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    783
    369
    119
    56
See reviews for
358
689
184
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

This was the first hotel on my husband and mine honeymoon to ireland. I was initially very excited to start our trip in dublin, but after a long flight all I wanted to do was take a shower. When we arrived at the hotel, only an hour earlier than the check in of 1430, they wouldn't let us check in early. Well not big its one hour, well I should have known then, because I really do not believe they even cleaned our room. Well we both were taking a quick nap and then maid came right in saying she needed too clean, but since we were already there, "no big". I went to take a shower, and was very grossed out by the bathroom. The grout was completely black, and the shower curtain had mold on it. I seriously wore flip flops in the shower because it was someone nasty. Also, if in room 132 the hallway smelled of pot the entire 2 nights we were there, a very distinctive smell that is hard to miss. Also, this hotel is old and.not in a good way. On the plus side the breakfast was good, they had a good selection top choose from. Location is ok, about a 10 or 15 minute walk top temple bar, and the attractions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Both myself and my husband stayed at this hotel for three nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We picked it mainly due to location and wanted somewhere traditional, rather than an impersonal hotel chain.

The reception staff were warm & welcoming on arrival and despite our early check-in, were able to accommodate us straight away with a room. The original Georgian features were inspiring and the hotel has a definite homely feel about it. However, we did feel as if the hotel could do with a lick of paint as parts of the hotel looked tired and dinghy. Our room was nice enough, with a very clean bathroom, but it was dusty & grubby in places.

Breakfast was very tasty and the service on our first two mornings was exceptional; very quick & well-presented. However, on our last morning, it was rather chaotic, but think it was simply the rush of Bank Holiday travellers booking rooms at the hotel.

All the staff were very friendly and helpful and it's a shame that I have to write anything negative about this hotel, but think a little extra TLC is needed to stop the hotel from looking neglected and tired.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolshack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great room, great receptionists, lift to rooms, clean and well run. A wee bit far from the centre of Dublin, but the walk will do you good. Firthermore, I'm embarrassed to say, its the only hotel I've stayed at in last 20 years where I could smoke in the room. (I dont even do that at home!)
Breakfast was a bit of a rush with waitresses running around trying to serve everyone. (And succeeding of course). The food was good and though I had mostly toast the plates looked full and tasty too.
What endeared me to Castle Hotel most was the fact that not only was the Wifi service excellent, fast, efficient and free of charge, but the hotel, as policy, blocks websites that are considered racist. One, a particularly virulent antsemitic site was unavailable to residents! I thought it a brave and especially human move on the part of the hotel and it certainly reflects positively on the management. Good for you at Castle Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark_davie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

we had a wonderful 4 days in the castle hotel, the girls on reception were brill told us everthing we needed to know . Trevor the bar man is so intelectual he knew everything ,,,apart from the zoo that only had a dog lol ohhh and he likes M and M'S that we give him for his kide but he ate them all,,,,,hope Mrs Trevor reads this brill time hotel grat . thank you for nice time

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaaronwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Firstly, some confusion with the Castle Hotel and the Walton Hotel which seemed to be physicaly linked and it looked like we were put in the Walton part which didn't look anything like the rooms shown on the website. The family room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a small bathroom. The shower was difficult to use as it was run off the bath taps. The breakfast was nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The receptionist(s) could certainly do with a course in customer care, just checking in felt like you were pissing them off! Overall this is more like a B&B and really not hotel standard at all.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel ticks all the right boxes - it's clean, comfortable, has a high level of service, and for a Dublin city hotel it's good value for money. Cleanliness - Nothing to complain here, hotel was very clean. Comfort - Again nothing to complain - beds comfortable. Service - Service was great - On our last day in Dublin, we had an early flight and asked the hotel if we could have breakfast early - we were offered a continental breakfast with cereal and toast at 4am which is not something you would get from any hotel - I was pleasantly surprised. Location - The location is quite good too - a couple of minutes walk from O'Connell Street and a 15-minute walk to Grafton Street.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alien26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,356 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing