We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A soft spot for this place”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Great room, great receptionists, lift to rooms, clean and well run. A wee bit far from the centre of Dublin, but the walk will do you good. Firthermore, I'm embarrassed to say, its the only hotel I've stayed at in last 20 years where I could smoke in the room. (I dont even do that at home!)
Breakfast was a bit of a rush with waitresses running around trying to serve everyone. (And succeeding of course). The food was good and though I had mostly toast the plates looked full and tasty too.
What endeared me to Castle Hotel most was the fact that not only was the Wifi service excellent, fast, efficient and free of charge, but the hotel, as policy, blocks websites that are considered racist. One, a particularly virulent antsemitic site was unavailable to residents! I thought it a brave and especially human move on the part of the hotel and it certainly reflects positively on the management. Good for you at Castle Hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark_davie_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2010

we had a wonderful 4 days in the castle hotel, the girls on reception were brill told us everthing we needed to know . Trevor the bar man is so intelectual he knew everything ,,,apart from the zoo that only had a dog lol ohhh and he likes M and M'S that we give him for his kide but he ate them all,,,,,hope Mrs Trevor reads this brill time hotel grat . thank you for nice time

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizaaronwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Firstly, some confusion with the Castle Hotel and the Walton Hotel which seemed to be physicaly linked and it looked like we were put in the Walton part which didn't look anything like the rooms shown on the website. The family room was spacious, clean and comfortable with a small bathroom. The shower was difficult to use as it was run off the bath taps. The breakfast was nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The receptionist(s) could certainly do with a course in customer care, just checking in felt like you were pissing them off! Overall this is more like a B&B and really not hotel standard at all.

Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
Thank Jim8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2010

The hotel ticks all the right boxes - it's clean, comfortable, has a high level of service, and for a Dublin city hotel it's good value for money. Cleanliness - Nothing to complain here, hotel was very clean. Comfort - Again nothing to complain - beds comfortable. Service - Service was great - On our last day in Dublin, we had an early flight and asked the hotel if we could have breakfast early - we were offered a continental breakfast with cereal and toast at 4am which is not something you would get from any hotel - I was pleasantly surprised. Location - The location is quite good too - a couple of minutes walk from O'Connell Street and a 15-minute walk to Grafton Street.

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alien26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

This hotel was great. I have nothing to complain about apart from the beds - which is usually the most important part of a hotel.
It's a shame really, but my mattress had collapsed springs where you could see (and feel!) an imprint where other peoples bodies had been laying for the past 30 years. It is beyond me why they couldn't just buy some new beds.
The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast was yummy, honestly though, i would definitely not recommend this hotel if you were hoping for a good night sleep. I am not normally a fussy sleeper but this was beyond a joke.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellypiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

There were two of us sharing a twin room at this hotel for 3days in which we found the room most comfortable, spacious and well equiped, all the staff were very helpful, friendly and efficent. The breakfast was very tasty, well presented and fulfilling. 24hour reception enabled us 2 come and go as we pleased. Most city centre hotels do not have the friendly atmosphere of the castle, were we got to meet the owner Fionn who was very chatty and full of irish charm, we would not hesitate to go back 2 the castle again, and the sooner the better.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jono44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2010

Our room was very spacious and clean. The service in the breakfast room was very friendly and efficient - not always what you expect from larger hotels. Recpetion staff freindly and helpful when asked. The hotel generally was good value for money and well located (out of the town centre but within easy walking distance).

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nab12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,682 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $91 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing