We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A weekend in Dublin”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A weekend in Dublin”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

A pleasant hotel within walk distance to the Centre. Suitable for a short visit. Breakfast room rather crowded in the morning. Staff is friendly and helpful. Live Irish music on Friday evening was really great. I will be back soon.

Room Tip: Rooms in higher floors are small. You can hear your neigbours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miroslav V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Miroslav,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your stay at the Castle Hotel. I was delighted to read that you have enjoyed the location of our hotel as well as that our staff members have looked after you so well. I do apologize for the experience you have made during breakfast. Unfortunately it happens, especially on the weekends, that many of our guests are having breakfast at the same. Therefore I am happy to tell you that we are extending our restaurant facilities at the moment and these problems will be solved soon and you will be able to enjoy a quite breakfast. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    793
    372
    122
    58
See reviews for
370
694
187
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

A really good hotel, perfect for a long weekend and in the perfect location, friendly helpful staff. Some places of interest right on the door step and bus stops within a five minute walk. The bar found in the Vaults was great and fab live Irish music playing Thursday and Friday.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bogge27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for reviewing the Castle Hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay so much and that you have experienced a great time in our bar with the live Traditional Irish music. We hope to welcome you back at our hotel soon.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

Had a long weekend with my friend the room had every thing in we needed very clean. Breakfast was manic but once you got a table food was good. Staff very helpful and friendly.We had a meal at night in the resterant which was also very good

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank lindsay c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Lindsay,

Thank you very much for taking your time to review your recent stay at the Castle Hotel. I am pleasant to read that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff members have been looked after you so well. I will forward your kind words about your meal you had at the restaurant to our chef. We would love to welcome you again at the Castle Hotel.

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was our third time back to the Castle Hotel and like my previous 2 trips i could not fault it. We arrived on Friday Morning around 8am and our room was ready immediately, which was a nice touch after our flight. We found the room/bathroom clean and loved that the windows were open to let the fresh air in! :) The bar downstairs was always welcoming with Irish charm and the live music on Saturday Night was a great touch. The Hotel is literally a 2 min walk to O'Connell Street and within a 10 min stroll you can be at Temple Bar! The Reception Staff were helpful and efficient. On Sunday we entered the breakfast room at 9:45am, i was apprehensive that we would be rushed as it finished at 10am but the staff were more than accommodating and we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. As before i thoroughly enjoyed my time in Dublin & my time at The Castle Hotel, i will be back!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Explore_Cities84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Thank you very much for taking your time to write this excellent review about the Castle Hotel. I am delighted to read that this was already your third stay with and that you have enjoyed your stay so much. It is also great to read that you experienced great customer service. I am sure all of our staff member will be very happy to read your nice words. Many thanks again for your feedback and we are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel. Please contact us direct under info@castle-hotel.ie and we will be able to give you the best rate we have available.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here just for 2 nights and that's was far to long!
There are signs up all over saying that are getting a refit, so needed but no signs of this taking place! The reception staff made you feel you unwelcome, the room had no heating, plug sockets didn't work, hair dryer provided didn't work, holes in the wall and paper peeling off! And the walls are paper thin so you get no sleep!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank j-mul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marleen_Hermann, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about the Castle Hotel. I am extremely sorry to hear that you were so disappointed with your stay. Unfortunately there was some construction work in the area being carried out by Dublin city council for the new luas line and this is what caused the electrical issues you had in your room and unfortunately this was totally out of our control. Overwhelmingly our guests comment on the friendliness of our staff and have said that they haven’t made such a good customer experience before. I am sorry that you have made such a bad experience and I kindly ask you to contact us in order to discuss this info@castle-hotel.ie

With kind regards,

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just returned from Dublin, party of 8 adults and stopped at the Castle
Hotel.
Ideally placed for the city center and 5 minutes from were the airport
Shuttle bus stops.
5-10 minutes walk and you can be anywhere in the city.
Staff very friendly and helpful, room we had 138, clean, tea and coffee facilities tv, bathroom excellent. Breakfast, hot food cooked to order without a long wait, buffet for cereals juices toast. All excellent.
Bar is downstairs and on Saturday night was rocking with an Irish ballad singer playing to a packed room of hotel guests English, Dutch, German & Norwegian.
We ate in the cellar restaurant on Saturday night nice setting and again the food was excellent.
Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Quieter at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank src-silverfoxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this wonderful review about our hotel. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your whole stay as well as the location of the hotel. Especially our restaurant team will be happy to hear that you experienced a great time in our bar/restaurant as well as during breakfast. We are looking forward to your next stay at the Castle Hotel.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

A ten minute walk from the city centre so nicely out of the way but not to far. Staff where very friendly and went out of their way to help. Had an issue with the room on the second night and was offered a new room. Manager was very helpful and apologetic and not only gave us a refund for the night in question but paid for a taxi back to the airport. Room was comfy and well equipped, bathroom was a little small but there was always hot water.

Breakfast was VERY nice. Great start to any day.

Recommend this hotel of your visiting Dublin.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Dear Robert,

Thank you very much for this nice review and for taking your time to tell us about your experience. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay and that our staff members have looked after you so well and that your issues have been sorted straight away. I am also happy to read that you are going to recommend our hotel and we would love to welcome you back in the near future.

With kind regards

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,411 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing