We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite Average”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #54 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Stayed at the hotel for a 3-night break in Dublin with my girlfriend. Good location. Upon entering the hotel I was pleased it was warm and cosy. This did however wear off quickly. The rooms were either very warm and stuffy, or quite cool/cold. The breakfasts left a little to be desired with warm pre-prepared/precooked food in what felt like a rushed school canteen. Staff however were a credit and extremely friendly and informative. Standard priced hotel with basic rooms.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for your taking your time to write these kind words about our hotel. I do apologize for the heating issues you had during your stay in our hotel. We made notice of it and try our very best to sort it out as soon as possible. I do also apologize for your ‘school canteen’ experience but unfortunately it can happen that a high number of guests are having breakfast at the same time especially on the weekend. Our breakfast staff tries their very best to serve everyone in time. We hope we can welcome you in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,056)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 2,056 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Adequate facilities and rooms, good breakfast and excellent location for exploring Dublin. Reception staff were friendly, rooms were basic but tidy. Cleaners did a great job every day without disturbing. The only downside was our room overlooked a noisy car park (only noisy during the day)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ellie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for the great review. Unfortunately a few rooms from the hotel do overlook the car park. We do hope that you are going to stay with us in the future and if so please let us know that you would like to face the street and we can organize that for you.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

We recently booked this hotel for a upcoming concert in Dublin (in July 2014) only to find ourselves unbooked 2 days later and the room let out (probably at a much higher rate) to someone else.
My bank confirmed that the hotel had gone into my account looking for the full room payment rate and when it wasn't there they cancelled our booking even though both they and Booking.Com say that your bank card is only to secure the room and that you pay at the Hotel.

If you can afford to pay in advance go for it...

We called the hotel for an explanation on the Thursday and it wasn't until the following Wednesday that we got an unsatisfactory answer from the Manager

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Steviejohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, the staff were friendly and really helpful. They let us check in 5 hours early and the breakfast was nice.
The room and bathrooom were spotlessly clean and there was plenty of tea and coffee in the room.
Noise did travel from one room to another, but in such an old building and for a reasonable price you have to expect some flaws.

Thank Talanie506
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this great review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are hoping to welcome you soon again in our hotel.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a weekend really enjoyed it.Rooms were spotless and bed very comfortable the staff are fantastic and couldnt do enough.Live music was great and craic with other guests great would return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maj085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to give us this excellent feedback. I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay at the Castle Hotel so much. We hope that your are going to stay with us in the future again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014

A simple hotel with friendly staff who offered us some warm hospitality.

Yes, the rooms and decor are a bit dated, but the hotel was clean, tidy and the staff very friendly.

Whilst we were there was live music in the bar each night, the standard of which was remarkably good.

Situated just off the end of Grafton Street, the location is great for those looking for a city centre base.

Not the most comfortable of beds, never-the-less a good choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Service at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this nice comment about our hotel. I am sure you have mixed up Grafton Street with O’Connell Street and yes we are very close to the city center. According to your comment about the ‘bit dated’ rooms, we are at the moment in the middle of a decoration process in the whole hotel, so we hope to have this ‘problem’ sorted in the very near future and you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Good location within easy walking distance of the main Dublin areas. Arrived early and the staff checked us in straight away. The room was pleasant as well as clean and tidy. Breakfast was reasonable with a good selection, waiting staff very attentive and helpful. Both myself and my wife are vegans, thus the cooked breafast consisted of a full fry up minus the meat. The result being a plate of beans and some mushrooms. Situation normal there for a hotel then!
The second night we hardly got any sleep due to your usual drunken idiots using the rear courtyard to smoke at 3am. Maybe you could do so a little more quietly and with consideration for other guests? Perhaps the hotel could look into this?
The real disapointment I think came when we went to check out. Handed our key over and received a "Thank you" that was it. Call me fussy but I like something along the lines of "Hi, Hope you enjoyed your stay with us, was everything ok?"
A mediocre hotel that could be better I think.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, Customer Relations at Castle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2014

Dear guest, thank you very much for taking your time to write this review about our hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not fully satisfied with your stay at our hotel. We are trying our very best to keep the noise as low as possible from the smoking area during the night, unfortunately it can be very hard sometimes as people do not realize how loud they talk at 3am in the morning. For your future stay please request a room facing the lane way as this would be one of the quietists’ areas in the hotel, or a room on the 4th floor. I do apologize for the fact that no one asked you if you have enjoyed your stay on check out, unfortunately this can happen when we are having many check outs, but I will keep an eye on it in future. However we hope you will stay with us again.

Marleen Hermann, Customer Service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#34 of 151 in Dublin
2,022 reviews
The Belvedere Hotel
#64 of 151 in Dublin
1,395 reviews
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#67 of 151 in Dublin
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $96 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Splitty, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing