We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Honeymoon”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Honeymoon”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband and I stayed there two nights in June 2013 on our honeymoon while we explored Dublin. The people were very friendly and the rooms nice. We got an upgrade when we mentioned the honeymoon and that was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJE707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    806
    380
    126
    60
See reviews for
389
704
193
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Really would recommend this hotel in Dublin, we always read the reviews and with this one we were not disappointed. It is very centrally located, easy walking distance to everywhere and we felt safe exploring this city in the day and at night!
Hotel is lovely, staff very friendly and the room was great. Breakfast is good. We also had an evening meal at the hotel and the food was nice and the service excellent.
Recommend a trip on the DART to Bray just to see the coast-line if nothing else, but if you fancy stretching your legs when you get there take the coastal path to Greystones it's about a 7km walk and it's fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaza21England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trumbull, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Castle Hotel in Dublin this past summer. It's an older hotel, but it's a nice facility. The restaurant is very good. The staff friendly, courteous and professional. The rooms are clean and comfortable, but my room had very noisy plumbing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived early on the Saturday morning to a pleasant welcome from reception staff, we were allowed to store our cases as our rooms weren't ready and we headed out for the day. Before doing, we asked for some help from the desk and they spent a good 20 minutes giving us really helpful advice, really good service. All the way through the stay nothing was too much, my wife and sister both wanted baths in their rooms and our rooms were changed without any hassle. Breakfast time and Carmel was a star, she memorised 7 different breakfast and drink requests and delivered every time without fail. Extra eggs, no problem, extra sausage was no issue. We ate in the restaurant the first night and again, service impeccable by a young Argentine man on his travels and good food for a fair price. Overall the stay was great, my only criticism is one that really can't be helped and actually one that you would expect from a Georgian hotel with character, but the walls are incredibly thin, you can hear everyone walking past, talking and early checkouts are obvious with loud dropping of suitcases potentially giving earlier than needed wake up calls. Personally, none of this bothered me, but I know it affected some people in our group.

I would recommend this hotel as the service was great and the location handy right at the top of O'Connell street, just may not be right for you if your a particularly light sleeper!!

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank SamJCook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Alpine, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

My wife and I recently spend three nights at the Castle Hotel in Dublin. We were very pleased with the location, service, breakfast, and room. Plus the price was very reasonable. We would definitely use it again for our base when visiting Dublin.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms at the very front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaxPug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Pleasant stay at friendly, well-located hotel. Desk very helpful with local information. They have a contracted cab for transport to airport scheduled as you request. The decor is faded Georgian elegance,
but clean and a good value less than a block from O'Connell Street and easy walking distance to many Dublin sites.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinmam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed in this hotel while attending a concert. I come to Dublin often and I would defiantly stay in this hotel again the staff at reception were so nice and that really made our stay. So looking forward to booking it again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nichola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
1,337 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.5 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#81 of 151 in Dublin
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing