We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location - Great Price!”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #57 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Good Location - Great Price!”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is in a good location, just at the top of O'Connell street which is basically the gateway to most of the attractions in Dublin. The hotel is very old, but kept up, our room was very clean. Our only complaint was the water pressure was low in the shower. Breakfast was great, but the best attribute to the Castle Hotel is the staff. Gillian was extremely helpful. She went above and beyond to help us book the tours we wanted during our stay. Taxis were always right on time and getting around Dublin was made easy. Castle Hotel was great for us!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    816
    387
    128
    62
See reviews for
398
715
197
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here from March 2-March 14. The place really is a maze! I had to laugh at myself as I made my way to my room: loads of steps, bumpy floor boards, long hallways mixed with 2 heavy suitcases was probably a good sight to see! I didn't mind any of that, though, I think it adds to the charm of the hotel. The room was very nice and cozy. I was expecting a single room with a twin bed, but the room had a full size bed instead! The bathroom was basic (but who really needs a fancy bathroom??) and the heated shower rack was a nice added touch, especially after walking around in the cold all day!! I always wrapped up in a towel to warm up! The shower is very small and water always seemed to get on the floor of the bathroom. There was a good-sized wardrobe with some provided clothes hangers for all of your belongings. I always had to keep my window open because the air within the room tended to get really thick after having it closed for awhile. The walls between the rooms are VERY thin and the doors are loud. I had to make sure I closed the door quietly in the morning to not disturb everyone around me. A couple was staying next to my room and I could clearly make out all of their conversation. My room faced the back side of the hotel, which was nice because I wasn't disturbed by street noises. The only downfall of this is when people took a smoke break outside, the smell of the smoke would travel up and into my room. The cleaning staff was very thorough and always made the bed, took the trash and straightened up the bathroom. A couple of times they would take the handsoap I was using and throw it away, so I'd have to open up a new package, it seemed like a waste to throw out perfectly good soap. The complimentary breakfast in the vaults was pretty good. I never tried the full Irish breakfast, it was too much food for me personally. I ate eggs, bacon and toast, which were all very good. If you have to be up early and want breakfast before 7:30am, you have to tell the reception so that someone can set up the food for you. It's not a full breakfast, just the basics like toast, cereal, fruit, cold meats, and cheese. On two occasions during breakfast (before the main 7:30am breakfast), the dishes were dirty and had food residue on them. I would just switch out the plates for cleaner ones. I ate at the restaurant downstairs a few nights, I always got the chicken with mushrooms & onions with chips...very simple, but it was delicious and I find myself craving it at home now! The prices seem to be just right for a hotel. Instead of ordering a drink, take the hotel up on their offer of a free Irish coffee with purchase of a meal! You'll find the offer in their menu. The location of the hotel could not have been more perfect. I didn't have a car, so I had to walk everywhere. It's a 2 minute walk to O'Connell Street, tons of shopping, various options for food, and about 10-15 minutes from the Temple Bar area. I met the owner of the hotel a day before I left, such a nice man and I could tell he truly cared about his visitors and his hotel. Lovely hotel and I would definitely stay again! Thank you!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back and higher up from the street. Less noise pollution from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chromaticbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013 via mobile

On the tail end of our recent trip we stayed at the Castle Hotel to be close to the sights and it was a nice hotel. When checking in we met the charming owner and the staff was very kind and helpful. They let us know about the live music that evening and we got to our room, settle in and headed to the restaurant the Vault downstairs. Very charming, lots of history and quirky features to this place. We had some nice small plates and pints while watching the musicians which was brilliant. The weekend and hotel were busy for the 6 nations rugby match yet the service was very attentive. Our room was just right for us and while a little noisy with sold out nights, very comfortable and roomy with a lovely ensuite bathroom. The breakfast was great and all suggestions from the front desk were spot on for the sights in the city or restaurants down the street. We enjoyed all the common spaces in the hotel and more. Thank you for the lovely stay!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kgplough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my partner and i have to say what a great hotel. This is my third time to Ireland and by far the best experience i have had largely due to Michael the bar man who really added to our experience he was really fantastic. Our room was beautiful and really enjoyed our stay. Defiantly Come again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I think this hotel was fun. When we first got there, we thought it was hard to get around because it's little halls and doors every where, but after we got the hang of where our room was and explored the hotel a little, my friends and I enjoyed it. the hotel is decorated pretty well. It has a lot of rooms. It was a bigger hotel chain than I expected. The location was right off O'connell street but at the end of the street away from Temple Bar and the areas we planned to go. I don't think it was a bad walk to and from. We could stop and shop on the way to and from. The floors were old and creeky. The window in the room didn't seal well so there was a breeze. There were 3 of us in a room with basically 4 bed. 2 twins seperately and then 2 more pushed together to make a larger bed. The heat in the room worked well so that was nice. It had 2 mirrors (one full length) a small en suite bathroom, a small tv, black out shades, a closet and chairs. We had breakfast in the morning which was nice. They had a small restaurant and bar downstairs as well. I think it was called the vault. On St Patty's they had live Irish music. It has a nice atmosphere and was relaxing. The food was really good. It was definitely a home cook feel vs the fast food that you find in a lot of areas and hotels. I would defnitely reccommend this hotel if you're willing to do some walking.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilbit1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel was great. The staff was friendly and informative, the rooms and public spaces were clean and comfortable, and it was an easy walk to the Temple Bar area, Dublin Castle, Guinness Storehouse, Grafton St., St. Stephen's Green, etc. My only advice is to ask for a room not overlooking the street as it was a bit noisy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of a hallway and not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizMcCo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

I stayed three nights for St Paddy's day with a couple of friends. It was on the second floor facing the church. There was 2 single beds and a king (2 single beds put together) Everything was nice and comfortable in the room. Bathroom kinda small but its ok. The windows did not have a seal, so you could feel the a little breeze, but it wasnt bad, I kinda liked it, kept the temperature balanced in the room. I did feel people moving on the room above us, but not that bad. The hotel is like a maze, there are stairs and hallways everywhere, it was interesting. The staff were all nice and so was the restaurant at the bottom of the hotel which had live music and nice atmosphere.
The location is ok, about 20 mins walking to temple bar area, it does get tiring after a while having to walk everyday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,352 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
684 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing