We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #58 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 4 nights recently including over new year. Hotel was quite central (which was very nice), within walking distance of the city centre. Old style hotel, which was very full when we were there end Dec. Stayed 1 night in a very small room, then we requested to be moved to a different (larger) room and this was acted upon very promptly by the reception staff. New room was much larger, although the double bed was very small. Staff were very polite, friendly and helpful (both reception and restaurant). Free Wi-fi was very good in all places (several networks throughout the hotel). Breakfast was very basic (not a lot of choice at all) but good and filling, especially full Irish; in some mornings, very long lines for the toast machines (which presumbably can be very easily fixed by setting up couple toasting stations instead of cramming several toasters into the corner of the room). Hotel was very noisy, you could practicaly hear all activities / movements, etc from neighbouring rooms (especially top floors) and also from outside. Not sure what can be done about this, the noise is the main reason for the average rating for this hotel. Hotel was clean, bathrooms appeared recently modernized (which was quite nice). In the lobby lounge there was a baggage scale for guest use, which one could use at a cost of €1 (charging for this is something we found very strange; we did not need to use it ourselves since we did not have lots of luggage but just mentioning as a comment). Good value overall.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GreatTraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    793
    372
    122
    58
See reviews for
370
694
187
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Firstly I will start with the good points - the girls on reception were very helpful and the hotel is only a very short walk from the centre...however:

- our room was tiny and you can barely even move in the bathroom
- the room had 2 very large windows which meant it was quite cold
- we couldn't get any hot water on 2 occasions
- room was not very clean
- walls are very thin I could hear next doors conversation
- much needed painting was taking place however this meant our room stunk of paint
- toilet handle was broken (you had to press it against the toilet as it had come unstuck)
- breakfast was poor we arrived at half 8 to bread, cereal, slices of ham and cheese

I'm glad I only stayed here 2 nights

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank cocodaisy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel 4 times now, and I can only praise the service and wonderful staff.
It is situated on Parnell square at the top of O'Connell street so is central and the airport bus stop is just around the corner.
We had a very noisy family gathering in the bar downstairs, I had asked for an area to be reserved for us, and this was duly done the staff couldnt do enough for us. The bar food is lovely, although pricey, even by Dublin standards,and the breakfast was amazing.
The rooms are beautiful, however my only complaint is that they were cold. The radiators are in no way big enough for the rooms. We are hardy Scots and found the rooms really nippy.
Excellent value and I would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momo2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knaresborough
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

i stayed at the castle hotel with 2 friends and we couldnt have picked a better place to stay.the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us.the breakfast was epic and very tasty.the room was great with plenty of tea/coffee/shampoo etc and had the most comfortable bed ive ever slept in.the en suite was immaculate and the shower was great.the castle is ideally situated with a 10 minute walk to the temple bar area and away from any noise.on the morning we left the hotel receptionist had booked a taxi for us to the airport with a special rate,gave us all a wakeup call and provided breakfast all before 5.30 am.we would definatley stay here again and so should anyone who wants a first rate service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkybKnaresborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I visited the castle hotel for 3 nights on my first trip to Dublin. The location is great right at the top of o connor street, all within a 10-15 minute walk of temple bar and all the shops.
The room was fine and very warm. Also the complimentary wifi helped and prevented me being stung with roaming charges. The staff were also very useful..apart from the night shift receptionist not answering for 10 minutes while we came back from temple bar quite late! (we think he must have been napping)
The downside was the noise, from the traffic and sirens outside (still could hear on 3rd floor with windows closed) and the noise from the floorboards above us, we think their may have been some renovation work being done on the 4th floor as when we went to check it out we could smell paint. it sounded like people were jumping up and down in the room above for one of the days, didnt help when we were trying to sleep off our hangovers from a night down at temple bar.
also- the breakfasts are ok (me being vegetarian doesnt help though), same with the drink prices in the very warmly hotel vault bar which also plays live music which is a touch.
overall great value for money we paid £150 each with flights for the trip for 3 night stay inc breakfast. would stay here again but would request a room on the top floor!

Room Tip: request a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turts88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here November 30th for 2 nights. We drove and was told there was a car park on site. Unfortunatly no information was provided as to where this was located so after getting lost driving around the hotel we decided to go in and ask. The lady on reception was very helpful and directed us to the car park. We checked in with no problems, having paid through expedia there was no further information we needed to give and we were given our room keys to room 105. Now at first we thought this would be ideal as it wasnt next door to anyone and the room was huge,however in the evening even the slightest noise could be heard which resulted in us getting minium sleep the first night. Am sure they would have changed our room for us had we asked but we coudnt be fussed to be honest. Breakfast was average, not much and you have to queue ages for toast. The bar in the hotel was ok with some Irish music on in the evening. All in all it wasnt a bad hotel for the money we paid, and a nice walk into the centre about 10 mins to the Dublin Spire. This was my partners second visit to the hotel and my first but we will be back.

Room Tip: Avoid 105 if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAMCO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#46 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing