We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh - So So”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
nyc
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Eh - So So”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Staff - not as friendly as reviews claimed. First room given, was freezing, tiny and awkward. The staff did listen to our concern and changed to a much better room.
Room - walls are very thin - you can hear everything - specially hallway. Don't plan to sleep in.
Distance - about 20+ min walk (moderate speed) to temple bar etc
Restaurant - food is not great and over priced (as every hotel) but has very homey interior and just for that have a drink there one night when you're tired.
If you are not planning to sleep in or hang out in hotel, don't mind bit of a walk and don't want to spend a fortune - this hotel will do the trick.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    815
    386
    128
    62
See reviews for
396
713
196
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stay here for our wedding anniversary for two nights from 3rd-5th November. We booked through a third party website and specifically requested a double room. when we got there we where given a twin room which had two single beds pushed together with single bedding on each and the beds kept moving appart. Hardly the best recipe for a romantic break away. The hotel is currently undergoing extensive renovation so we wheren't sure if the booking agent made an error or there wheren't any doubles available, leaving it to the booking agents to investigate. Our room was on the 4th floor and the window catch on one of the windows was broken and we had quite a noise night, we did complain to the staff on the sunday morning but this wasn't fixed. All the staff however where extremely helpful, I was on crutches and all the staff we encountered where always willing to help. The hotel rooms where very clean, and the meal we had in the resturant was good. I would be happy to stay at this hotel again especially after the renovations are complete.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank piplees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed there for the dublin marathon.
Very accommodating and nice staff.
Paid very little money and got exactely what I paid for. No more, no less in terms of quality of the room.
Deffinitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinsaude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mesa, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed two nights in an adequate room as far as size, bed comfort and amenities. Winding hallways, a small elevator and steps up and down everywhere let you know you're in an old building that's been remodeled to handle a hotel. Breakfast in the Vault was typical Irish fair with smiling waitresses.

Room Tip: Outside noise can be a problem, though we had a room towards the back which didn't have this pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My mate and I booked in here for 2 nights in middle of October. It was very cheap for two single rooms in the city centre. Excellent location, as it is only a short walk to the top of O'Connell Street. The car park is small but very secure. Staff were very helpful in letting us leave the car parked for a couple of hours after we had checked out on the Sunday.

I felt the breakfast could have been hotter coming from the kitchen. The toaster didn't work either, so, it might be time to get a new one, I put slices through twice and they still came out white.

I would still recommend the hotel though, as we enjoyed our stay and would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oconnell_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here last weekend for 2 nights , small tired room with a tiny shower and uncomfortable bed . Staff friendly and good service of a decent breakfast . Location of this hotel is excellent for the sights and bars . Cheap hotel in a good location .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigkingsize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2012


Location of this hotel is brilliant. Approx a ten minute walk to the shops and start of the bars, about 20mins to Temple Bar (too far to walk in heels on a cold November night!) .
Costs about 10 Euros in a taxi from the hotel to Temple bar. (NB it costs about 3 Euros extra callout fee from the hotel.)
About a 5 min walk from the red 'Hop on Hop off ' bus stop on Parnell square.
The rooms are adequate, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms small and tired looking - in need of a makeover but clean.
Couldn't get the TV to work but that may have just been us.
Breakfast was varied and very tasty - ample to full you up until mid afternoon.
The walls of the rooms are quite thin and we could hear people walking up and down the corridors late at night but probably no more than any other hotel.

Friendly and welcoming bar downstairs playing live Irish music - worth a try after a long day sightseeing.

Staff friendly (infact everyone we met in Dublin was friendly and helpful!).

Would use again for a cheap / budget weekend away in Dublin.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank DublinGirlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#61 of 151 in Dublin
1,350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#43 of 151 in Dublin
4,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel St. George
Hotel St. George
#80 of 151 in Dublin
681 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#45 of 151 in Dublin
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing