We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms vary greatly”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #59 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Rooms vary greatly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Our first night was on the third floor with a creaking and sagging floor and noise from above, the passage and adjacent rooms.
We considered leaving but were readily offered an upgrade for the second night.
What a difference! We had to negotiate a warren of corridors, but the room on the fourth (top) floor had a solid floor and soundproof walls.
Apart from the noise on our first night, the hotel was great. Clean rooms, friendly staff and a great breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Noddy3102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    526
    783
    369
    119
    56
See reviews for
358
689
184
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

That was the prime reason I chose the Castle as my first accommodation in Dublin. That and the fact that reasonably priced hotels were a scarcity when I was trying to find one. My trip to Ireland was a last-minute vacation between jobs and about two weeks prior to my arrival. Rifling through TripAdvisor didn't yield many attractive options, and I knew from the reviews of the Castle that it would be on the older side. But I decided to give it a try, and I have to say it was decent for what it was - an old Georgian-style hotel just two blocks from the heart of O'Connell Street, Dublin's main thoroughfare.

My standard/single bed room was small but clean (see photo) with a large window that couldn't be completely closed. Given the chill that time of year, I spent an inordinate amount of time under the extra woolen blankets I requested to keep warm. The only awkward moment came when a loud woman came barging in to ask about turning over the bed when it was clear I was taking an afternoon nap. She saw me in my skivvies and alerted me that she wasn't looking at my privates. Good to know. On the upside, they accommodated my early-morning arrival by accepting my suitcase into a parlor room where all the other waiting luggage was.

Breakfast was somewhat lacking mostly due to the haphazard service. Although I wasn't necessarily looking for a hot Irish breakfast, I wasn't even aware that was an option for me until the second day after I finished my toast and coffee. Good to know. The free WiFi did work just fine though, and the service at the front desk was reasonably good if a bit standoffish. But it was all about location, location, location, and it was nice to be able to walk to the city center without thinking about which bus line to take. Especially convenient was being close to the first stop of one of the local hop-on, hop-off buses, a blessing when I was suffering from a severe case of jet lag. For two nights, I paid € 160, a relative bargain near the center of Dublin.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed_Uyeshima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

I have just returned from a 4 night stay at this hotel, and found it an excellent base to explore the city from. My room was of a good size, very clean and well kept. The hotel is created from a row of Georgian house, knock though to create one building, its a bit of a maze of corridors and stair cases but the buildings retain a lot of their Georgian charms internally, if you don't like stairs and their are lots of them, not to panic they have lifts.

Full Irish breakfast each morning was always well cooked but on the small size but enough nevertheless to start the day with.

Would stay her again should I return to Dublin which I intend to do;

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omega65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel was awesome! If i could say one thing about these guys it was their service was impeccable! We were coming and going quite a lot and even though we left at 5:30am some days, they still had a breakfast available for us and couldn’t help us enough. The owner/manager of the hotel was a hoot! Such a cheerful and welcoming man! The rooms were lovely too! After a busy day out travelling, it was nice to come back to such a nice hot shower and a comfy bed. Definitely would recommend this place to others and go back again if I had the chance!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleesha2186
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived well before our check in time of 2.30pm with the intention of leaving our cases so we could go sight-seeing. Receptionist was very obliging and found a family room which was ready and checked us in which was about 9.30am. Brilliant start. Room was spacious and very clean. Tea and coffee provided which was replenished daily, as was bedding and towels. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast very nice and plentiful. Location excellent short walk to O'Connell Street and city centre facilities. Would fully recommend and will certainly use again.

Room Tip: We were on the fourth floor which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Extremely nice place to stay- people are friendly and helpful. Could leave car parked after checkout while you walked the city of dublin( which saves on car park prices) breakfast was delicious. The great wifi password ever, lol

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amazingireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eveee, General Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Amazing Ireland

Thank you so much for your very kind words, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff and facilities to your satisfaction and I am glad we could help with your car. Thanks for the thumbs up for the complimentary WiFi password and of course I have to return the compliment by saying yours is the best username ever !!! ha ha :)


Hope to see you again in the future !

Kindest Regards

Yvonne O'Keeffe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Lovely hotel, lovely breakfasts, lovely rooms, lovely staff.
Staff are really friendly and very very helpful and accommodating. Any problems (there were a couple of initial niggles!), and they were dealt with pretty much immediately. They moved us to another, nicer room, which suited us better, they gave us an extra electric heater, to make the room warmer. Nothing was too much trouble. Customer satisfaction definatley came first at this hotel!.
It's ideally situated, being on the north side of the Liffie, and a 10 minute walk to O'Connell Street, and the river. Nice pubs and eateries nearby, without even needing to go to Temple Bar!.
Have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others, and would happily stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't like traffic noise at night, don't pick a room overlooking the road!!. Some ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sp34Yeovil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#73 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing