We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #60 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Very central located hotel. Perfect if you are looking for a pleasant city break stay as it is closed to all kind of entertainments in the Irish capital. Very convenient as well for transport from and to the airport. Brilliant breakfast and tidy clean rooms. Just one "but", can get a bit noisy as even it is a old building the walls are very "thin"

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viatgerdelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    516
    767
    365
    119
    56
See reviews for
351
679
182
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012 via mobile

Recently spent two nights here in family room. Room was what you would expect for European hotel- smallish but functional. Location is great and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also good. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank TechSMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Saline, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2012

This was my first trip outside the US & I undertook it alone. I arrived in Dublin at 5:30 am & took a taxi to the hotel *big mistake, as there's an airlink bus pickup just down the block that would have saved me 20 euros*. There was no one at reception until 8, but they did allow me to check in as soon as staff arrived. The duration of the stay was very pleasant, the staff was knowledgable and the location of the hotel allowed me easy access to all the tourist-y bits without being on a busy street. Also, as a bonus, the St Patty's Parade started just down the block. Breakfast was decent, the only problem being that the waitstaff is very rushed. Overall, I'd definetly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AshleyM428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

This hotel was ideal for my 4 night get away with my friend, the hotel was decorated nicely, rooms were spacious, beds very comfortable and food was delicious!
Only problems were the doors banging so loudly the room shook, this could be solved with door closers fitted to stop them slamming! This would stop us staying here again as the sleep was disturbed. If your a heavy sleeper however this would be fine!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nizhny Novgorod, Russia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

It was a little bit cold in the room at first, but they have hot whiskey to deal with it. Friendly and helpful staff, clean

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatashaKu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2012

We found ourselves stuck at the airport and having to spend another night in Dublin (April 2011). We were able to get a room at The Castle Hotel and couldn't have been happier. Just a short walk to the General Post Office, The Liffy River with all the pubs and restaurants just minutes away. The hotel is a Grand Old Girl, past her prime but still looking good. Plenty of charm, beautifully funky rooms and more character than you can measure. The excellent breakfast was served in an elegant dining room by one of the friendliest wait staffs I've ever met in Ireland. It is by far one of the best values in Dublin. We loved it and will stay here every year from now on during our annual Ireland trip.

Room Tip: Off the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruce h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#62 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,425 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,300 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#70 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing