We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money - ideally located”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #54 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 11, 2011

This hotel is ideally located as you are within short walking distrance from the Airlink-bus, the Hop-on-Hop-off sightseeing bus, local buses and also within comfortably walking distrance from the Temple Bar district and the main attractions on the other side of the river. There are also plenty of local pubs, restaurants and shops in the neighbourhood. The hotel staff were very nice and serviceminded and the breakfast was very good, and included the choice of full Irish and vegetarian hot breakfast. Our room was facing the O'Connell street, which is a busy street also at nights (cars, buses and lots of happy people walking home from partying in the week-end). Since the window was old, the noise was disturbing wether it was opened or closed. The room itself was clean and ok, with comfortable beds and tea- and coffeemaking facilities. The bathroom was a bit old-fashioned, but spacious, clean and with plenty of warm water. All in all a charming hotel and I would not hesitate to stay there again, but I would then ask for a room with less noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190479Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,493 - 1,499 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

This hotel is in a very good location for sightseeing, within easy walking distance of O'Connell Street and very close to buses. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was a bit chaotic, too many people for the staff to cope with. They had trouble keeping up with clearing tables and resetting them but the breakfast itself was excellent with a vegetarian option. The staff here again were very friendly even though they were rushed off their feet the whole time.
Then it comes to the rooms - room 134 is to be avoided at all costs!! It is nothing like the rooms in the photos of the hotel. The door opens straight onto the bed and the window is in an alcove with a wall jutting out, making the room extremely dark. There is a small cupboard in the corner of the room which serves as a wardrobe. The door to the bathroom is very narrow, a larger person would have trouble getting in there. All the walls are at odd angles with bits of wall jutting out - but you can get used to that. The walls are so paper thin that I heard the entire phone conversation of the person in the next room. The room is also next to the housekeeper store cupboard which someone went into at 6am, and there is a very musty smell coming from the cupboard.
The room might be OK if there were quiet people next door but we had very disturbed sleep with next doors TV on and banging of doors etc.
We didn't sample the evening meal at the hotel so can't comment on that except the price seemed a little steep.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valbritton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We booked this hotel as a special on wotif and had not even checked it out. We were pleasantly suprised to find this charming old terrace hotel close to the centre of town and in easy reach of everything. The staff were most helpful and knowledgable with regard to the area and local restaurants. We ate one evening in the hotel and it was a pub meal and service was slow but they apologised and gave us a complimentary drink. Reception rang and booked us 2 great restaurants in town, The Church, which was great and a bistro owned by Marco Pierre White which was fantastic and just buzzing. Breakfast was hearty and tasty but seating was a bit of a problem. Parking was a bit of a nightmare at the hotel but it did not detract from our stay. Yes it was not modern but that was the whole charm of it. we loved it and if in Dublin again will definately stay there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haznig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here in December 2010 for a weekend in Dublin. We had a laugh singing along with the musicians in the bar. It's also not too far from the centre of Dublin. Downside was the service in the restaurant both in the evening and at breakfast. Also had problems with lack of hot water in the shower. But other guests in our party didn't have these problems. It was reasonably priced for a weekend in Dublin.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliWorks2holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Castle Hotel is a nice, comfortable hotel near the city center. It's located across the street from the Writer's Museum and just a 10-15 minute walk from the Temple Bar area. The Hop On Hop Off bus stop is nearby as well. We had the family room on the first floor- very roomy with a large bathroom and great view of the Abbey Church. A little street noise, but to be expected when you're room faces the street. Clean, comfortable beds and nice to have a hot pot in the room with selection of tea and coffee. Yes, the hotel has kind of a shabby chic decor, but everything is clean, and I found it rather charming. Free wi-fi is a plus, though the computer in the lobby has a charge for it's use. Didn't try the restaurant as it seemed pricy to us; try dinner at Flanagan's just down the road- excellent food and great service at a reasonable cost. The breakfast was good, I'm vegetarian, so it was nice that they offered a vegetarian breakfast. Small selection of cereals, yogurts and fresh fruit available as well. The breakfast room did seem to be bustling every time we were there, but always received friendly service from the wait staff. Just go in, find a table and sit down. Don't be afraid to wave down one of the staff if no one comes right away. They are very busy, but very nice and helpful. Reception staff were always friendly and helpful. Overall, a great stay at a comfortable hotel for a great price.

Room Tip: If you like a quiet room, ask for one not facing street side, though you will sacrifice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieG11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

very friendly staff, and nice breakfast unfortunately it goes downhill after that, there was a musty smell throughout the hotel, when we were getting dressed to go out in the evening the shower door fell off and as we had'nt time to complain we just managed without the door. when we returned later that night there was a smell of vomit and disinfectant. In the morning there were no lights in the breakfast room so we ate by candle light. When we returned to the room to collect our luggage I noticed a dead bed bug in the bed, we got out or there a.s.a.p.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavangirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

well with in walking distance of the city centre. shopping and temple bar area. rooms well presented and equipped. staff friendly and helpful, but could do with staff greeting guest at breakfast to direct them to a table rather than guest just standing there not knowing what to do.

Room Tip: we had an inside room which was quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann_lomax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
1.3 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#35 of 150 in Dublin
2,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#42 of 150 in Dublin
4,691 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere Hotel
The Belvedere Hotel
#60 of 150 in Dublin
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Address: Gardiner Row / Great Denmark Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#67 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $91 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Dublin city centre, just two minutes from O'Connell St, The Castle Hotel is within minutes walk of everything that the city has to offer including Temple Bar, Croke Park, The Gate Theatre, Dublin Writers Museum, James Joyce Cultural Centre and the principal shopping districts. Boasting grand staircases, magnificent crystal chandeliers and marble fireplaces, The Castle Hotel provides guests with a glimpse into the Georgian era while staying in touch with the demands of the modern world. We offer single, double, twin, triple and family rooms, all are en-suite and elegantly decorated in warm tones to offer both comfort and style to our guests. Our converted 19th Century wine cellars are the setting for the Castle Vaults Bar and Restaurant which serves a pre-theatre and an a la carte menu daily. The bar stocks a wide variety of craft beers, wines and spirits to please the most discerning of tastes. Each weekend the hotel offers live entertainment with traditional Irish music playing in the bar in the evenings from 9-11pm. The hotel has its own secured, gated private car park at a cost of €15 per night and the 747 Airlink airport shuttle stops just a 1 minute walk away. As far as local attractions go, Croke Park, The Hugh Lane Art Gallery, The Garden of Remembrance, The Abbey Theatre, The Gate Theatre and the James Joyce Cultural Centre are all just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing