We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanigans Bar, great pub, great craic, a gem in the heart of Dublin”
Review of Clifton Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Clifton Court
Ranked #139 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Galway, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lanigans Bar, great pub, great craic, a gem in the heart of Dublin”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The Hotel, well its not the Ritz, it made us laugh. But what do you expect with the very low price. we booked into this hotel cause there was a birthday party for a family member in Lanigans, it was fine it was cheap and safe. no complaints from any of the family, some of the rooms are much better than others. its very central close to everything in the city there is an underground car park around the corner was very cheap Irish life mall car park.
Enough of the hotel.
Lanigans bar is a gem loved the place can not fault it in any way., I can't get over how friendly the staff were, not just one or two of them all of them, they bent over backwards for us. Words can not express the good thoughts I have for these good people who work in this amazing place. The craic we had was mighty the sing songs of old Irish music was just brilliant brought me back to when I was young. great place to host a party.. well done guys..

Room Tip: Ask them for a good room. This hotel is so Central to Dublin City.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taste-of-Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    82
    123
    61
    151
See reviews for
49
149
52
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
limerick
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

i found the Clifton Court Hotel spotless, and comfortable,, it does what it says on the tin, if you want a 5 star hotel then go to one, if you want a nice clean and comfortable room, here`s the place to stay, as we already made plans to eat else where we did`nt eat in the bar, so i cant comment on that, and we paid for room only, but the price was right, and for 2 rooms in was not expensive, the staff were pleasent, and help full, ignore the other the knockers of this hotel, i`d go back here again, we had a room over looking the river Liffey . even though it was next to the road, he heard no noise, except the flags blowing in the wind,, no one can be accountable for that except mother nature, :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paddy2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Have stayed here 3 times now while attending concerts in the o2. Very handy as not only is it right off O'Connell St but also only about 15min walk from the o2. Rooms are very basic but at minimum price I expect nothing more, cannot fault the place, spotless clean, staff lovely and the bar downstairs is a great spot for a pint and their food is gorgeous with massive portions. The hotel and bar great value for money. Will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile


Did not no what to expect after reading reviews , well I was glad I made my own mind up . Room was clean and well stocked with tea and coffee clean towels on both days . The hotel staff were very helpful the pub below was absolutely great never had so much fun food was great everybody friendly , as for being noisy after few brandy who cares !!! Would defo go back jill mark Julie Liverpool

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jillian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Six of us traveled to Dublin for Ireland v Australia rugby match in Nov 2013 and stayed at the Clifton Court on Eden Quay. I had read the reviews beforehand and to be honest I did not take much notice. The hotel is in a fantastic location and from the outside is very inviting however the rooms just need an upgrade. My room was clean and tidy but in bad need of refurbishment. The bed was comfortable and clean but the TV would not work and the room was quite small. My friends rooms were almost the same, clean but also in need of an upgrade. The 2 bars Lannigans,downstairs were hopping after the rugby match and a great night was had by all here. A lot of actors seem to socialise here as their is a small theatre upstairs. We had the full Irish breakfast in the morning which was fantastic and at only 7 euro which was very reasonable

Room Tip: Budget hotel..No frills. You get what you pay for. Very helpful staff but you feel a lot of money ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy W W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Looked at the reviews, took them with a pinch of salt. Clients seem to think it will be the ritz on a shoestring budget. Well it ain't the ritz, then again it wasn't ever going to be.
What it is ?.... It's a budget hotel in an excellent location, courteous staff and a nice pub downstairs. We stayed for a night, less than 40 euro for two people ! ..... That can't be beaten. Rooms quite small but for us that was absolutely fine, facilities OK, TV didn't work (brilliant !) tea and coffee in room was good. Would I stay here again? ..... Hell yes, absolutely fine and with a great price it can't be beaten.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank c42pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clonmel, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed at the Clifton Court for one night with my wife as we were getting a tour bus on O,Connell street at 6 45 the following morning The room itself was perfect the only problem we had was with the heating it was on most of the night we asked if it could be turned off but was told it was on a timer We were leaving to early for breakfast and had no problem with that There is a narrow stairs going up a couple of floors but when you know in advance there is not a problem It suited us prefect for our overnight and would use it again

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nedlon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Abbey Hotel
Abbey Hotel
#103 of 151 in Dublin
175 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#78 of 151 in Dublin
1,122 reviews
North City Centre
Arlington Hotel O'Connell Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South City Centre
Fitzsimons Hotel
Fitzsimons Hotel
#133 of 151 in Dublin
321 reviews
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#90 of 151 in Dublin
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clifton Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clifton Court

Property: Clifton Court
Address: 11 Eden Quay | O'Connell Bridge, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clifton Court 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Clifton Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clifton Court Hotel Dublin
Clifton Court Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing