We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, convenient, excellent staff!”
Review of Kilronan House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kilronan House
Ranked #41 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Stayed here for a quick getaway for husbands birthday. Clean, quaint, lovely breakfast and the staff was above and beyond! Wifi, some parking and close enough to walk to some attractions! Would definitely stay again :)

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank renee1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear Renee1027,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and feedback about your stay with us.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Dublin so much, and that we were able to play a part in making your trip away so wonderful and enjoyable.

Thank you once again for your fantastic review, and we hope to see you again soon for another break away!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (917)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

374 - 380 of 917 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

The staff was not attentive and made us wait while they took several phone calls. We felt very ignored. Our room was disgusting, old and smelled bad. The carpet was filthy and had a big black stain on it by the vanity/sink. The bathroom was dirty, the shower hardly worked and there were no soaps or anything. The ceramic soap tray attached to the shower wall was broken off and the jagged piece that was still attached stuck out and was sharp. There was mold all over the shower metal part by the door, as if it had not been cleaned in ages. The shower clogged and filled up with water while I was in it and it almost overflowed. There was a loud clanking noise outside of our window that went one every 2 minutes all night and we got no sleep at all. The room was freezing and noisy, all the street noise was overwhelming. There was a clanking noise coming from inside the hotel that occurred every 2 minutes all night long. It kept us up most of the night. We wrote a review on booking.com and the owner replied back with a nonsense story about the rooms being "under renovation" and I feel that was bogus, because if they are under renovation, don’t put your guests in them and especially don’t charge $183 per night. We were so excited to stay at this hotel based on the pictures online, but in person it is nothing like how they make it look. I have stayed at many old buildings/homes across Europe that have great antique charm and character, this place did not. Guests beware- there are several rooms that are advertised with bathrooms but they have a shower, but no toilet in them. To use the toilet you have to walk to a "common area" and use it there. Our room was not like this, but I wanted to warn others before they get scammed. I have read several other bad reviews since we left the hotel, and the owner never does anything to help, they just reply with a bogus response that highlights the fact that they have a good breakfast. We left really early for our flight so we did not get the breakfast, but no breakfast could make up for the disgusting rip off that is this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Elena G,

I would like to apologise that your experience with us at Kilronan House was disappointing. I am grateful, however, that you took the time to write about your time with us, as we take every criticism on board and strive to provide the best possible service to all our guests.

You are no doubt aware that most of our guests comment on the excellence of our staff and our service. That the phone was very busy when you checked in is deeply regrettable, but unfortunately this is something that is out of our control.

I would make the same comment about the 'clanking noise' you describe from outside your window. We are aware of this problem and have requested Dublin City Council to address the issue.

I am truly sorry that your room was not up to standard, and that your bathroom was in disrepair. This is something that we try to avoid at all costs, and I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.

I would like to point out that the rooms you mentioned in your review, with the bathrooms separate from the bedrooms, are clearly advertised as such on all our websites. They are our 'Economy Rooms'. Please be aware that we are not attempting to scam anyone. All guests booking an Economy Room are made aware on the booking site of their choice of the features of the room, and the prices is also discounted to account for this.

We will certainly work with the constructive elements in your review, and would like to thank you for your feedback. If you wish to discuss the matter in more detail, please feel free to contact me at: info@kilronanhouse.com.

Your sincerely,

Seán Finnegan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Kildonan House is a pleasant bed and breakfast close to the centre.

The staff are welcoming and keen to help. We arrived from the Dublin ferry to a large pot of tea which has was greatly appreciated.

Our room faced the side of the building andwas quiet. The double bed was comfortable and the room looked as though it had been refreshed recently although the wrinkly carpet let it down. The bathroom was clean although there were some cracked floor tiles. Bath towels were a little small but in good condition.

Breakfast was well presented and hot. There was plenty of choice and everything was well cooked.

Parking is free on Sundays and the team manage the parking on weekdays as parking is on a meter on weekdays.

I would stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
2  Thank GinnieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear GinnieC,

Thank you very much for writing such a wonderful review about your stay with us at Kilronan House.

I am so happy to know that everything was to your liking and that we were able to make your trip to Dublin a wonderful and comfortable one.

Our staff, location and breakfast are truly wonderful, and we will always do our very best to ensure you have a memorable stay, and that you are eager to return for another visit.

Thank you once again for your wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Dublin very soon indeed!

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Booked on line for my wife's birthday. Rooms look hotel standard on the website, but not in reality, so a bit disappointed with that.
Staff throughout our four day stay couldn't have been more helpful. On three occasions coming in from the cold we were offered 'Irish coffee' with cake and biscuits, no charge.
Good choice of breakfast including full Irish.
Would recommend, quiet area only 10 minutes from centre of Dublin.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
4  Thank pcppjkts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2014

Dear pcppjkts,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review about your experience with us at Kilronan House.

I am truly sorry that your expectations were not met, with regards to the standards of the room. We do try to keep all our rooms in top condition, so as to provide the best possible experience to all our guests.

However, I am delighted to note that our staff, breakfast and service quality made such a massive difference and ensured that your visit was pleasurable and memorable. We always try our best to make you feel at home and comfortable, and our wonderful staff will always be willing to go the extra mile for you.

If you have any other issues you would like to discuss, please feel free to contact me at info@kilronanhouse.com.

Thank you once again, and we hope to see you again in the very near future!

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Place has charm and character but rooms are not as advertised. Carpet belongs in an alley way. The wallpaper is peeling off the wall. The shower would not drain. Bathroom felt dirty an unkept. Stay somewhere else. Can hear street noise too

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richvb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Richvb,

I would like to thank you for writing about your stay with us at Kilronan House.

I am truly sorry that your experience appears to have been less than you expected. We are currently undergoing a lengthy renovation process, and some of our rooms are yet to be brought up to the standard we want to provide to each and every guest we receive. Unfortunately, Adelaide Road can get very busy on a Friday afternoon and evening, and we can only apologise that this caused you discomfort. However, I am sure the noise did not carry on late into the night.

That the service and charm were of a high standard is wonderful to know, and I do hope this brought an element of enjoyment to your visit. You are welcome to contact me directly to discuss any other issues you may have, at: info@kilronanhouse.com

Thank you for writing and giving us such valuable feedback about your visit. We hope to be able to welcome you back on your next visit, and to provide you with an experience far more akin to that of the vast majority of our guests.

kind regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

First off the staff is among the greatest I have come across, and they know how to give the personal touch. When we arrived (early) our room wasn't ready but we were welcomed to have tea and some breakfast. Once the room was ready we were shown to the room and had help with our luggage. The building is about 200 years old and has been modernized. This is a quaint place to stay and is close to downtown without the downtown noise. This makes an excellent base to explore Dublin.
However this property might not be for everyone. If you need big rooms and bathrooms, and elevator, and a restaurant then you might be disappointed. If you want a break from the chains and enjoy a glass of Irish coffee in the evening and a good breakfast and the personal touch then this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank danderism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Danderism

I would like to sincerely thank you for writing about your wonderful experience with us here at Kilronan House.

Our staff will always go the extra mile to ensure your visit is nothing short of spectacular! I am delighted to read that this was appreciated, and that it made your visit that much more enjoyable.

Our proximity to Dublin city centre is indeed another excellent feature, but we remain very quiet at night, considering how close we actually are to the hustle and bustle of the city centre.

The building is old and in it's original state, and as such, we retain all the qualities of that period. unfortunately, this does mean the rooms are not the largest in Dublin, nor do we have an elevator. However, as you said, the charm and character, combined with our excellent breakfast and wonderfully attentive staff, provide an excellent base from which to explore our wonderful city.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write about your wonderful time with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Dublin for another visit very soon indeed!

Kindest regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed at Kilronan House over the weekend as we were attending a function in Dublin City Centre. It is easy to find, the staff are very friendly and the room was clean.

We were put into the B&B annex instead of the main building which was fine if a little disjointed. The look of the building is a little dated and the decor would not be to my taste but for the price we paid I was quite happy with the service we received.

The staff were very friendly and courteous which always makes a big difference, the breakfast was very good, clean and with good choice. We would definitely stay there again.

The only real low point for me was being woken at 07.20am on a Sunday morning by a City Bin Company bin truck clattering bins all over the place. This is obviously not within the control of Kilronan House but it did annoy me that this goes on.

Perhaps the owners might contact this company and ask why they are collecting bins at that time on a Sunday morning? That should not be happening.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the B&B to avoid listening to bin trucks early in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilronan_Manager, Manager at Kilronan House, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2014

Dear Grant G,

Thank you very much for taking the time right about your fantastic experience with us at Kilronan House.

I am very happy to hear that the service, price and value were all to your liking. We do try to keep the decor as true to the period of the building as possible, and we are constantly adding and/or removing features in a continuous attempt to find the perfect mix.

I would like to apologise that City Bin Co. were recovering bins so early on a Sunday morning. Unfortunately, as it is a private company and not the City Counsel, we are powerless in this regard. I do hope it did not spoil your experience, and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Seán Finnegan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
South City Centre
Stauntons on the Green
Stauntons on the Green
#69 of 150 in Dublin
820 reviews
Albany House
#62 of 150 in Dublin
823 reviews
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aberdeen Lodge
#4 of 150 in Dublin
591 reviews
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#11 of 150 in Dublin
1,403 reviews
Harrington Hall
#90 of 150 in Dublin
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilronan House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilronan House

Address: Kilronan House 70 Adelaide Road, Dublin 2, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#47 Family Hotel in Dublin
#49 Business Hotel in Dublin
#55 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range: $102 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kilronan House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kilronan House Bed and Breakfast is in the beautiful quite Georgian quarter of Dublin city centre just one minute from St. Stephens Green and downtown Grafton Street area. Built in 1834, the guesthouse is comfortable period house that still features its original cornicing, Waterford Crystal chandeliers and ceiling roses. The staff at Kilronan House pride themselves in spoiling their guests with true Irish hospitality and excellent customer service. The National Concert Hall and Dublin's main cultural and historic sights including Trinity College, The National Museum and National Gallery are within a short walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kilronan House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilronan House Hotel Dublin
Kilronan Hotel Dublin
Kilronan House Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing