We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but noisey”
Review of Wynn's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wynn's Hotel
Ranked #34 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but noisey”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed one night at Wynns during August.

The hotel is centrally located & so its quite easy to walk to most of the areas that would be of interest to tourists - Temple Bar and Trinity College are a few minutes away, the Guiness Store house about 15 to 20 minute walk. We found the reception staf to be very helpful and friendly. We had booked a superior room, which we found to be very comfortable with plenty of room. The breakfasts had a good choice & set us up for the day.
The only disadvanatge was the noise from the street below. All superior rooms are front facing & although we were on the top floor we were disturbed by nosie from the street - trams, dust carts, people celebrating. We would say there agin but would make sure that we had a room at the back of the hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentStjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    473
    116
    50
    28
See reviews for
195
428
151
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great location for luas/city tram and city centre in general. We had a quadruple room for myself and 2 young girls - loads of space, very clean, nice comfy beds and bathroom was small but well equipped. Breakfast was waiter service and food was really good. It was quiet on the night we stayed there although it can be noisy when they have functions (check when booking). Good value, really friendly reception staff and good size bedroom. We were very happy and would definitely return for a city break (when no car required).

Room Tip: check if function on; if there is ask for quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CALPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Donegal, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here a couple of times. Beautiful hotel, lovely friendly staff. Absolutely lovely breakfast with cereals, croissants and fruit to start with and then you can order full Irish breakfasts, Eggs Benedict (delicious), etc. The rooms are very nice, clean and cosy. Also very useful that they hold onto your luggage until you are ready to leave the city. Fantastic location.

Would definitely recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Choose a higher room to the back for minimal street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Fantastic location, right in the middle of everything. Beautiful old world hotel. Standard room more than adequate. Only draw back, no air conditioning and tends to be stuffy. Could only open windows slightly, and noise from outside would disturb a light sleeper. Staff is outstanding, could not be friendlier or more accommodating. The restaurant & bar snacks were excellent and good value for money. If we ever return to Dublin would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high room or a back of building facing room as hotel faces a very busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel is very well located, just around the corner from O'Connell Street and ten minutes' walk from Temple Bar. It has a tram stop just in front and you can get the bus to and from the airport just on the opposite side of O'Connell street.

The hotel has an old-style feeling: it looks as if it hasn't been renovated for a while. It's clean and comfortable, but doesn't look up-to-date. The room was just big enough and so was the bed.

Breakfast was good, but not excellent, not as generous as a full Irish breakfast is supposed to be.

The worst part of our stay in the hotel happened when we got back from Temple Bar at night: the door was closed and there was a strange looking receptionist there, with a stained shirt, smoking and talking with some friends. He looked at us as if we were trespassers and asked too many questions too inquisitorialy. I don't know if he was drunk or if he was just weird, but he made us feel quite uncomfortable and insecure.

All in all I found that this hotel was too pricy: it is probably living from its previous fame, but I don't think it's up to current standards.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Santi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here in Mid-August with a family of four in the Quad room. The room wasn’t large but it did sleep all of us just fine. We had one queen and two twin beds. Having an air conditioner was nice as was the heated towel rack. The key was a regular brass type (remember those?).

The hotel is well located for both the Airlink 747 airport bus and the Ireland rail service along the coast. It's about 4 blocks to either. The Luus Red line tram in front of the hotel is a commuter line that runs out to the suburbs. Taxis are everywhere as is just about any kind of food you want.

Some other tips:

1. Ask for a room off the street if you want quietness. The windows thin and there is a pub right across the street. Groups of young guys just love to sing at the top of their lungs after a few Guinness’. Fun to watch but, I wouldn’t want to try and sleep through it.

2. The room had a great rain type shower. Plenty of hot water. The hair dryer is pretty weak though.

3. The bar serves up draught Guinness (and has a nice looking buffet). Skip all other beers. You won't get Guinness like this again until you come back!

4. There’s an ATM just outside the hotel. It took a USA magnetic swipe type, (non-chip and pin) credit card just fine. A+ for my credit card for not having a cash fee for Europe.

5. Walking time from the hotel to Grafton Street is about 10 mins at best.

6. The hop-on-hop-off green bus leaves from the corner.

7. If you’re leaving early, tell the front desk and they’ll open the kitchen up early for you.

8. Tell the porter when you want a taxi. He had one waiting for us when we came downstairs at 6AM. Taxi time to the airport is about 15 mins on a Sunday morning.

Great service from everyone!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms are off the street. They'll open breakfast just for you if you are leaving early mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

i stayed in Wynns for 1 night midweek - price was reasonable enough, the room i stayed in was quite small (but maybe because i asked for smoking room). The receptionist was quite welcoming, bar staff were very friendly. Breakfast was good and served very fast and staff again very friendly, location is excellent right in the centre of town.

Room Tip: Dont ask for smoking room as they are quite small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mossy087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
The Morgan
#35 of 151 in Dublin
2,819 reviews
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
3,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Temple Bar
Temple Bar Hotel
Temple Bar Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
2,260 reviews
The Westin Dublin
#10 of 151 in Dublin
2,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynn's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynn's Hotel

Property: Wynn's Hotel
Address: 35-39 Lwr Abbey Street, Dublin D1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#51 Family Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wynn's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Dublin City since 1845, Wynn's Hotel is only a few minutes walk to the Abbey Theatre, Trinity College, Temple Bar and Dublin's two premier shopping streets. Recently renovated the hotel offers a full range of services for business and Leisure travellers. Our location is one of the most central in Dublin and with excellant Dining, Bar and Conference facilities we can meet all our guests requirements. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Wynn's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynns Hotel Dublin
The Wynn Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing