We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very goog but not bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stauntons on the Green
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The hotel is very old and the doors don't close well (we see the light of the corridor between the junctures!) and it's a little bit noisy. I think for the price we should find something better.
But the location is perfect and the room is clean.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrinityFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (845)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 845 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2010

If your budget doesn't stretch to one of the smarter hotels in Dublin and you want a central and quiet place to stay - this is ideal. The old fashioned charm of the Georgian buildings is most attractive and the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are clean and warm and the position is really central. I will definitely return and will recommend it to friends.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank 3sisters3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2010

Just after staying in the hotel for the last two nights and really enjoyed the hotel and service. The hotel room was spacious and clean. The hotel backs on to the Iveagh gardens where we went for a stroll and at the front you have the beautiful Gardens at Stephens Green. The location is ideal as its in a quiet area however walking distance to everything. The staff were very helpful and when I was leaving they guided me out of Dublin. Service like that is very rare and great to see. The breakfast was fine, you had the choice of Full Irish or Continental. As with previous reviews, its not wheelchair friendly and there is no bar. The hotel looks like its been renovated and the Georgain character is very much maintained. On Dublin we used the hop on hop off bicycle system which was excellent to get around the city. For location, value for money, Good sized rooms and friendly staff then this hotel is a gem.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coyle_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Taxi driver's did not know this hotel but it is in walking distance of The Temple Bar and just across from St. Steven's Green. You will recognize part of the opening scene from the brilliant movie "Once" at the main entrance to the park.

Rooms were very quiet. Our first floor room had full length windows that opened on a walkway that led to a deserted but beautiful green park behind the hotel. The walls are paper thin but the neighbors and cleaning staff did not wake up until after 10:00 AM.

Price was great.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CyberResearch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2009

Room was nice-ish and was ideally located in the city centre.

However the build quality of the new part of the hotel in which i stayed is quite bad. I could hear every foot step of the people above me magnified 10 fold which made it impossible to sleep...

seriously it was really really bad, i actually took a blanket into the bathroom and tried to sleep on the floor as it wasnt as bad in there.

To make the noise matters worse a staff member on a Sunday morning thought it was appropriae to start hoovering at 8:45am not good considering the poor build quality she may as well have been hoovering on my head it was so noisey.

Hotel is ok, staff unhelpful and due to the noise and lack of sleep i wouldnt return.. sorry.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed in Stauntons on the Green for one night as we were going to a gig in the O2 Arena in Dublin. We got a taxi from Heuston Train Station to Stautons which cost €10 (including tip). Staff were lovely and very helpful. The location of the guest house is so close to Grafton Street that we were able to get a shuttle bus from close by to the arena for €5 return. This was ideal as when we were dropped back after the gig we only had a 5min walk to the guest house. Breakfast was okay. Overall this was great value for money especially for central Dublin. TIP: Ask for a room in the new section as these are brighter, airier and less chance of outside noise as you are in the back of the building.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkversey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2009

Having stayed here many times on business trips I felt it was time to post a review. The best thing about this hotel is its location; it is literally 3 minutes minutes walk to Grafton street and less than that to the luas which brings you out to Sandyford. The reception staff are extremely friendly and kindly upgraded me to one of their rooms in the 'new wing' on a few occassions at no extra cost. The old rooms are average but could do with some modernisation. I stayed in a single room once and it was tiny with a tiny bed and tiny bathroom (I almost had to brush my teeth outside the bathroom door!!). Double rooms are of an adequate size but I would definately advise you to book a double room in the 'new wing' if you are staying here. The new rooms are excellent, modern and spacious with large comfy beds and flat screen tv's. The breakfast is aveage and consists of what I would call a half Irish (not a fill Irish as many elements of the full Irish are missing) or various other options. On the whole I would stay here purely for location alone. If your looking for something more modern with mod cons this is not for you. If you are happy to be close to the centre of things in Dublin and not too fussy then this is for you!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannigan007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Castle Hotel
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,109 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Morrison, a DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.4 mi away
The Westbury
The Westbury
#6 of 150 in Dublin
4,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stauntons on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South,, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $98 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing