We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what we wanted!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stauntons on the Green
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
North Ferrisburg, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just what we wanted!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We wanted a hotel in the center of Dublin, but not a huge hotel. Staunton's provided exactly what we were looking for in a reasonable place for the last two nights of our trip to Ireland and Wales. Facing the south side of St. Stephen's Green in a handsome classic building. The front desk is staffed 24/7 and is very helpful, giving us maps and good directions when we needed them. Our room was attractive, large, newly furbished, clean and comfortable, with a view of the Iveagh Gardens. The bathroom was also new, clean and well appointed. You should be aware that there is no elevator, so if that is a problem, ask for a room on a lower floor. Breakfast was good, service was quick and pleasant, and the breakfast room was nicely decorated. We certainly recommend Staunton's on the Green.

Room Tip: For a quiet room, ask for one on the back of the building. Ours was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vermonters05473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    318
    150
    69
    44
See reviews for
155
258
94
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

A pleasant stay in a very clean, comfortable room. Service was completely fine and breakfast on par with what is usually on offer in hotels such as this. Great location. Smaller room than average. Good bathroom facilities. Go for it:- if you want your usual clean, no fuss - hotel experience. Keep looking:- if unique is more your thing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was the last night of my trip to Ireland. I had been traveling with a girlfriend who was living in Dublin, but was spending my last night alone. I wanted to be in the city centre to enjoy some of the Saturday night festivities, where it was also easier for me to catch the Airbus to the airport early the next morning.

I am young woman who values charm, history, location, and comfort. But I am also very mindful of staying within the parameters of my budget. I normally spend a great amount of time searching for accommodations that meet all my criteria. My decision to stay at Staunton’s was last minute, literally made after a quick web search around 4 PM that day. The proximity to the city centre was excellent and the price for a single person was the best I found. I knew that it would satisfy my needs for the night. However, once I arrived, I quickly found that it exceeded my expectations!

The hotel is across the street from Saint Stephen's Green, a beautiful gated park in the center of the city. This location can't be beat! Grafton Street meets the entrance to Saint Stephen's Green on a different side of the park from the hotel. So there is plentiful shopping, coffee shops and pubs a very short and enjoyable walk away.

The hotel is charming! It's old and VERY well maintained. It's clearly cared for in a way that honors its history. There are parlors throughout the main level that have cozy areas for sitting. I adored the staircase, located in the back of the building. As you walk up it you can look out the giant old windows to the lush gardens in the back of the hotel. It took me several minutes to get to my room as I had to keep stopping to take in the scenery.

My room was two flights up. When I opened the door I immediately was drawn to the large window that faced directly out to Saint Stephen's Green. The window opened all the way and the windowsill was large enough to sit and look out at the park directly across the street. I left the window open all night and when I woke up the next morning I could hear the gentle sounds of the birds across the street.

The room itself also kept to the historical charm of the rest of the building. it was also very comfortable with a full sized bed with very soft linens, fixings for coffee, as well as toiletries in the bathroom. It was priced for a single person but was much more spacious than I expected. It was also very clean!

Additionally, the staff in the hotel was wonderful! They were friendly, inviting, informative, and they had a great sense of humor! They genuinely cared that I was comfortable and well taken care of the whole time. They answered all my questions and I was able to schedule an early morning wake up call for the next day. Additionally, the breakfast they provided the next morning was included in the price of my room. It included three different options as well as cereals, fruits, juices and coffee. I opted for the full Irish breakfast and was very pleased!

My stay at Staunton’s on the Green was the perfect ending to my visit to Ireland. I highly recommend this hotel and cannot wait to come back one day soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereNext208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A wonderful location and a view of Stephen's Green which was asked for on booking was delivered. A bit of traffic noise but I have no problem with traffic.Staff pleasant and breakfast fine and hearty.

Room Tip: I think bothe sides have a view. Iveagh gardens to the rear and Stephens Green to the front. The fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Besana in Brianza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I've been there for St. Patrick's day 2013. The hotel is near st. Stephen's green and Grafton St and you can be in Temple Bar or O'Connell'St in 10 min. Our room was clean, the bathroom was very clean too. They change towels every day and you can find shmapoo, shower gel and soap every day. The building is old because it's in the Georgian district and there's no elevator but it's very, very nice inside!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrancescaM84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

There are variable standards of room here with those in the new annex out back much better. Those in the front part of the B&B are old and in need of refurbishment. Also not well laid out with respect to light switches etc.. There was no soap, shampoo or shower gel in my room so had to ask for these. Clean enough though - even if needing a coat of paint and some oil in the door hinges. The "dining room" in the basement is not the most inspiring place to start the day and the food is nothing to get excited about. That being said it is not bad either just other B&Bs in Ireland have much more variety. Tea at Breakfast was nice. This is not a terrible establishment it is just that it could be so much better. Overall disappointing given the utterly fabulous location in Dublin - would some hotel that knows what to do take it over please?

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBlunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

mayo ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

just back from a stay in stauntons on the green .first off the location is really good .its only a few minute walk to grafton street the main shopping street in dublin .the room overlooking the green was lovely and bright the bed was really lovely. the breakfast was good and the staff on reception were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.4 mi away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 151 in Dublin
1,458 reviews
0.2 mi away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.1 mi away
Albany House
Albany House
#67 of 151 in Dublin
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin
0.3 mi away
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
The Dawson Hotel & Spa
#104 of 151 in Dublin
702 reviews
0.4 mi away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#22 of 151 in Dublin
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stauntons on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Property: Stauntons on the Green
Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing