We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and value in Dublin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stauntons on the Green
Ranked #65 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed two nights at the Stauntons. There was an international legal convention in Dublin, so most of the larger hotels were fully booked. Nonetheless, we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

It is located on the south side of St. Stephen's Green. This is in a quiet area, where there are embassies and government offices; it also makes for a peaceful night. It is a short walk to most places - the farthest place we visited was the Guinness Storehouse, which was a 20 minute walk. It was nice to walk through the park on our way out and when coming back; it is beautiful setting.

The staff were welcoming and provided great information and dining/pub suggestions during our stay. We also used the hotel safe for our valuables during our stay, since there are no safes in the room.

We had a room on the second floor of the main building. This is a large old house and so has "character", so expect older decor and lots of steps (no lifts). We were concerned that the walls might be thin, but it was not an issue when we were there. (Our fellow travelers had a more modern room at the back of the hotel and they did experience some noise from the adjoining room.) Our room were clean and was quite large, with a double and a single bed. There were two large windows, one of which did not open. Beware of the heating. It was a bit chilly when we arrived, so we turned on the radiator and pretty soon it was roasting! We actually kept the heating off at night and cracked the window as the weather improved (early October), especially with the warm comforters provided. The bathroom was small, but adequate (again, an old converted house).

There is free wifi in the rooms and a computer in the large lounge area, although you have to pay for printing.

Breakfast starts a bit late at 8:00, but on our second day, we got there at 7:45 and there were many people already eating and staff bustling around. There was a small continental buffet and an a la carte hot breakfast, typical for Ireland. This one was average.

This is not one of the best hotels in Dublin, but the staff are friendly, the location is right, and the value is good. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the stairs and an older setting, ask for a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (834)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

538 - 544 of 834 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

I had a very pleasant 2 night stay at the Stauntns. I was on the third floor , single room facing the Green. The noise others talk about was minimal and stopped by 2am. It was very clean and the breakfast was great. Staff was always helpfull and since I was traveling solo it was nice to have someone there 24/7. The location is perfect for seeing all the sights fo Dublin, walk to Trinity college and temple bar. Will stay here everytime I am in Dublin.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank greecgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is in a wonderful location right on St. Stephens Green in central Dublin. A short walk to many many places that you will be wanting to go, Grafton Street, Temple Bar area, pubs and restaurants etc.
The staff is very accomodating and knowledgeable. The hotel itself is quite an old building with the circumstances that accompany that fact, but comfortable and nice. Kind of pricey but that's to be expected for the center of Dublin.
We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Five of us stayed in Stauntons last night, Saturday the 6th October 2012, and I really wish we hadn't! The rooms were shoddy, the walls paper thin so we were kept awake all night and from very early this morning with banging and noise from corridors and adjoining rooms. One of the maids opened up a room beside us at 8 am to walk in on a guest, thinking the room was empty. I know because I heard every word of the conversation from behind my locked door! The room, in fact the entire hotel was overbearingly hot and stuffy and needed some windows open to let in some air. As we were on a ground floor I was reluctant to leave the full window open and struggled to open the top window. The towel rial in our bathroom was rusty and the whole place dirty and unloved.
Breakfast was truly appalling, firstly breakfast is normally from 8-10 am, but because it was a Sunday it was only from 8.30-10. We arrived down to the dining room at 9.40 to find no free tables and three waitresses who ignored us for ten minutes as we stood at the door, in the way of people trying to get their breakfast from the buffet. The second we walked in, the three waitresses looked at us,mid don't acknowledge us and disappeared into the kitchen. No welcome, no hello, no please wait for ten minutes. I asked one of them when she reappeared what was happening and she said it was normal for this time on a Sunday morning, at this stage there were 7 people behind us in a queue. My advice to the owners being to increase the size of the dining room and instead of reducing the breakfast time on a Sunday, you might lengthen it instead. And train your staff in customer service. The breakfast when it came was cold, the poached eggs rock hard and swimming in water on the plate. We asked for three glasses of water, one glass and a jug came and when we asked for two more glasses I thought the waitress was going to throw the water all over us. Appalling service.
Will not be back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beaded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

From Check-in to Check-out. Nothing seems to much bother for the staff at Stauntons. On Arrival check-in was fast and painless, The keys to our car handed to reception and not seen again until checkout, for 10 Euro per night. Well worth it for central Dublin. (Note: You handle your own luggage in the hotel and there are quite a lot of stairs, room allocation dependant.) Our Family Room was facing the garden at the rear with large Victorian Windows and fireplace(The latter.None working!) You have a kettle and supplies for tea and coffee, ample sockets and a Hairdryer. We also had a trouser Press and ample table and chairs to sit at, for pre dinner drinks. It should be noted, Stauntons, does not have a bar Facility, but if you have your own with you, they will supply glasses and ice. For the Ladies reading, the room has large full length mirror with sockets close by.A large wooden wardrobe (With hangers) is adequate for most stays and also contains extra pillows and blankets.The room does lack drawer space! Lighting in the room was again adequate. TV is the old type sitting on a wooden table, it has limited channels, mostly local.. The beds, hmm... our double and single were comfortable although small in length. Switches are close at hand to control the lighting from the bed. Only one of the windows opened, which for large Victorian sash windows, did the job for ventilation. The bathroom was average with shower over bath and soap, shampoo etc supplied. The hotel has a big plus, in that it has free Wi-Fi and a computer in the downstairs lounge areas, for all you technophobes!!
Our two night stay, was totally faultless, we all agreed we would stay here again and that was on the first day. The receptionists are amazing, from arranging taxis, to researching and booking event nights out, not to mention printing confirmations. Your very own concierge, all in one. The location as you will be aware is paramount for your stay and Stauntons presses all the buttons, located just across the road from St Stephens Green and a short stroll through the beautifully kept Green and you arrive at Grafton Street, the hub of shopping with restaurants/bars close at hand too. Temple Bar for the younger crowd is about 10 minute walk away, as is O'Connell Street..( Like most main cities,in Europe you have to be be a bit street savy, in regards, to your own personal security, Dublin is No different..)
Breakfast is as,... your in Ireland, a Full Fry-Up after a night frequenting the local taverns is a must. Ample tables and fast service, the breakfast hit the spot on both mornings.
Smokers are also catered for with outside facilities in the rear garden/grounds...
Remember this is a large VICTORIAN style house/houses and you have to take that into consideration, yes it has no lifts, yes it has windows that don't open, yes you have loads of steps. BUT this is reflected in what your paying for staying in central Dublin with the amenities/Staff to make your stay homely and comfortable.

Room Tip: Rooms in the extension to the rear are modern but if you want character choose the Main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

As other reviewers have mentioned, location is very good and the staff is really great. I went to Dublin for a wedding and left two dresses in this hotel. I hadn't even realized I had left them behind until I landed in the US and had a voicemail from the hotel letting me know and offering to mail them, if I they could charge it to my credit card. A few days later, the dresses arrived home, which is why I give this hotel five stars. It's the kind of service you really appreciate at the end of the day and certainly this hotel's biggest asset.

A fee comments in terms of the installations:

-It's one of those charming old Dublin houses so you know not to expect a big hotel or something more contemporary, but the furniture, carpet, etc. could really use some updating.

-The bathroom was tiny (and I mean tiny, Japanese hotel' bathrooms have nothing on this one -- at least in the room I had).

-When we checked in, they gave us a room on the first floor, but we wanted the view of Stephen's Green and got a room on the third floor, with the warning from the staff that it'd be quite a few stairs...by the second day doing all those stairs it started to get to me.

-Breakfast was OK but not amazing -- dining chairs need some serious cleaning.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor unless you love stairs and no elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We arrived at this hotel at 6:00 a. m. after a transatlantic flight. We were a bit skeptical upon entering as the lobby is certainly dated, and the common rooms lack visual appeal. But, the staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and addressed our needs with speed and humor. Our room was exceptionally clean and looked out over a "secret garden" at the back of the hotel. There were plenty of pillows and blankets and the bed was very comfortable. We enjoyed the full Irish breakfast which was prepared to order. The location was perfect as we could easily walk to all of the sights, pubs and restaurants. Having been out late one evening on the opposite side of St. Stephen's Green where the pub activity was loud and boisterous we were very happy to be staying at Stauntons where it was quiet. As for the aforementioned common rooms- in the lobby and both of the common rooms on the first floor, the furniture was lined up against the walls in a practical, but uninviting arrangement. (the furniture is basically lined up against the walls. A little rearrangement and a few well placed accessories would make those rooms much more inviting for those first entering the hotel. However, the staff was so wonderful and the room was great so would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyweston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
Drury Court Hotel
#22 of 150 in Dublin
1,570 reviews
Castle Hotel
#54 of 150 in Dublin
2,074 reviews
South City Centre
Jurys Inn Dublin Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Buswells Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,554 reviews
Sandymount Hotel
#25 of 150 in Dublin
2,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stauntons on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stauntons on the Green

Address: 83 St. Stephen's Green South,, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range: $112 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stauntons on the Green 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated close to Grafton Street in the fashionable heart of Dublin City, Stauntons on the Green is the perfect place to stay, whether for business or pleasure in Ireland's Capital City. Housed in a Georgian building steeped in history, overlooking two of Dublin's most beautiful parks -St. Stephen's Green and the Iveagh Gardens - this hotel has everything you could possibly need on its doorstep. It remains a building of unique character (original build 1750) with spacious relaxing rooms and wonderful views of the parks. Well appointed rooms, all with either Park or Garden views, coupled with excellent customer care and service, are what make a stay at Stauntons on the Green a special and rewarding experience. Room facilities include Private Bathroom, TV, Direct Dial Telephone, Hairdryer, Complimentary WiFi and Tea/Coffee facilities. Breakfasts are served each day, Monday to Friday 7am-10am and Saturday Sunday 8am -10am ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Stauntons on the Green reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stauntons On The Green Hotel Dublin
Stauntons On The Green Dublin
Stauntons Green

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing