We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Average - but certainly won't be back” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maple Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Maple Hotel
Ranked #128 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average - but certainly won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Went over to see NKOTB on the 25th of May & struggled to find somewhere who hadn't shot their prices up due to the One Directions concerts so when we came across The Maple we were impressed they hadn't followed suit with the rest of the hotels in the city.

Easy enough to find and in a great location a few minutes from O'Connell street, the staff we're helpful even before we arrived in regards to a few emails sent back and forth and we're great upon arrival helping us to organise a taxi to our concert & at the end of our stay allowing us to keep our cases in the hotel so we could walk around the city without them.

Rooms were relatively modern and they were kept clean and tidy and towels were changed daily and having free wifi in the rooms were fantastic.

However, the hotel had an awful smell of smoke throughout and there was nothing that could get rid of the smell, considering all the rooms were non-smoking this smell had clearly stuck into the walls and carpets of the stairways and halls. The smell was extremely off putting and made you feel like you smelled of it all day.

Also, for a double bed we were given 3 pillows which just made no logical sense to anyone, another pillow would have been nice.

We will not be returning to this hotel simply because of the awful smell throughout the hotel, I would much rather pay an extra 100euro than stay in a place that smelled the way that did.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shauni822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    132
    120
    77
    76
See reviews for
62
173
27
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Our trip to dublin was to see WWE in the 02 on the 22 of may. We wanted to stay till Saturday and due to the one direction concerts almost all other hotels had bumped up their prices in a crazy manner to the Friday night.

We ended up finding the maple hotel and got a great deal which included a voucher for dinner in a restaurant in Temple Bar and a voucher for two irish coffees at the bar.

It is an old building but the room was clean with plenty of tea/coffee available in the room.

We stayed in a family room and everybody slept very well, the beds are very comfortable although maybe a few extra pillows would be nice!!!

Staff were all very friendly and efficient, the staff in the breakfast room were as good as any five star!!

This is two star accommodation, and it suited us perfectly.

One tip for the bar - If somebody orders tea, please serve in a mug!!!! My partner is tee total and it was the first time ever we served a mug of tea in a glass!!!!!!


We would stay here again as location suited us as a base for the touristy stuff perfectly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birdie086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel was perfect for what we as a group needed it for. Although not the most stylish and modern hotel, it was clean, comfortable and had all the amenities one could wish for when on a city break with friends. Extremely close (5 minute walk) to the city centre - O'connel Street, which was great for getting the tour buses from, and using the spire as a point of reference.

Four of us shared a triple room at the back of the property. Although it's situated above a pub, we heard nothing during the night and slept very well. The beds were comfy, but a small downside was that there was a slight lack of good pillows on offer. We were purely using the room to sleep and wash in, and it suited our needs very well.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. They let us leave our luggage when we arrived at 8am, long before check-in, and again when we checked out at 11, but weren't flying until 5.

If you want 5 star treatment and amenities, then this isn't the hotel for you, but if you're looking for a very reasonably priced place to just lay your head at the end of the day, then this is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Helpful?
Thank Pico1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, Kent
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

We stayed here for two nights recently. From the outside it looks okay but when you walked in you could smell cigarette smoke not just in reception but all up through the stairwells, that old ashtray smell. Didn't find the staff over friendly or helpful , no offer of help with our bags up 3 flights of stairs. The room was sort of okay , bed was comfortable. Chewing gum stuck to carpet by the bed and some strange liquid stain on the bed throw. Gardiner St is a main through road so it is very noisy traffic wise from early morning and from people returning from a night in Temple Bar.The general decor of the hotel is drab , dated and untidy. It is only rated 2 star but you do expect cleanliness however many stars you are awarded. We stayed in far better hotels on our week long trip for the same sort of money. Sorry but wouldn't stay here again or reccommend it .

Room Tip: At least try to get a room at the rear, it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kev_xjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dublin hotels

worcs
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

when we stayed last november I complained about the illegal smoking in the ned keenans bar . despite saying I would not stay there again as you replied to me saying you had looked at yout cctv and could find no evidence of this illegal activity I belived you had stopped it , so we booked three rooms last weekend . we went in the bar and people were still smoking including the barman (MOSSY) and in the pool room ashtrays are provided. again the music was good and again we had sore throats from the smoke. I also noticed that you do not have any cctv, so in your reply to my last review you were telling me lies . why do you allow people to break the law in what is a very good hotel , or do you only obey the laws you choose for instance do you serve alcohol to under age persons? . Iwill stay at the maple again but the illegal activity must be stopped

Room Tip: not a good hotel if you dont want to breath in second hand smoke
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparksredditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

I stayed there 2 nights and although I had a lovely week end break, this was not thanks to the hotel for sure! It is roughly clean but lots of basic stuff were broken such as the toilet flush, the main light. The staff is friendly-ish but there is bar inside the hotel which is accessible to any clients, not only the hotel's and they let the customers smoke inside so when you go in you feel like you are entering an ashtray (and I am a smoker!!) the smell go up to the rooms on the first floor... Also they do play live music until 2.00am, which obviously involve alcohol and so people being drunk and singing along really loudly (which is ok for a good time), however if you are unfortunate enough to come back tired before that do not expect to sleep then! As for the breakfast, well it is basic too but was cold (try to have beans, egg, sausages and bacon cold... Lovely! -that was sarcastic ;)-)Anyhow all in all I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ema20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
North City Centre
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
Celtic Lodge Guesthouse
#87 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
North City Centre
Dublin Central Inn
Dublin Central Inn
#76 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
O'Shea's Hotel
#97 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beresford Hotel
#99 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Ripley Court Hotel
#93 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Maples House Hotel
#96 of 150 in Dublin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Hotel

Property: Maple Hotel
Address: 74 / 75 Lower Gardiner Street, Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Maple Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Maple Hotel & Guesthouse in Dublin City is centrally located in the heart of the City on Gardiner Street, within an easy 5 minute walk from either Connolly train Station in Dublin or Bus Aras (central bus station) and only 10 minutes drive from Dublin Airport on the 'Airlink' bus service. Dublin's famous Temple Bar area and Trinity College are also within walking distance from this beautiful Dublin city centre hotel. O'Connell Street and Grafton Street all within a 5/10 minute walk. The Maple Hotel Dublin is a Bord-Failte approved Guesthouse located in the Dublin City centre with 39 well appointed en-suite bedrooms.•5 minute walk from Connolly Station•5 Minutes from Bus Aras (central bus station)•30 Minutes from Dublin Airport•5 /10 Minutes from Grafton Street & O'Connell Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Maple Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maple Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing