We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Academy Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Academy Plaza Hotel
Ranked #46 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Our visit to the hotel was pleasant. The staff was polite, but would not go out of their way to help. The hotel rooms were smallish, but they were clean and comfortable. The hotel location is close to all areas. Eating and entertainment were close by. The hop on hop off buses were right up the block. Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ainsw88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear ainsw88

Thank you for taking the time of share your feedback. We were delighted to accommodation you during your stay in Dublin City Centre. Our comfortable and well appointed rooms, along with our friendly staff make us a great choice for exploring the city from.

We are delighted you choose us and we do hope you choose us again should you ever return to Dublin City Centre.

Thanks again for you kind feedback.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    1,860
    611
    145
    52
See reviews for
737
1,862
280
285
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (627)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Do not get a corner! Omg travelled from Australia and got a closet size room...on the second floor and could hear the club downstairs...front desk people very hospitable and friendly. Wifi all good with no issues just room was a closet size...

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank glenn c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear glenn c

Thank you for you feedback. We are delighted you chose to stay with us. We are very pleased that you found our staff very hospitable and friendly. They do work very hard on a daily basis to assist each guest query and request.

Due to TripAdvisors anonymous nature I cannot find or research your reservation. Could you please send me your reservation details to the team here on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie where we can fully investigate your stay. We would love to offer you a full follow up in response.

We would love if you would choose us should you ever return to Dublin in the near future. Where we could thank you for your feedback and loyalty.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Ontario
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Good location at the end of O'Connell St. and within walking distance to many attractions, transit facilities, restaurants and pubs.

Room was quite small, esp. the bathroom but adequate. Beds were comfortable and the room quite clean.

Room Tip: Advertised in-room wifi but did not work extremely well and had to go to the lobby for access. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T-Lockyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear T-Lockyer

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review. We are delighted you chose to stay with us in Dublin city centre. There are so many great reasons to stay with us apart from our well appointed rooms and our friendly team. Being so close to so many of the main attractions and being serviced by the 747 airline shuttle bus make us a great place to explore Dublin city from.

We do offer a very good WiFi service and I am sorry we didn't match that in your in room experience. Please contact me on wecare@academyplazahotel where I can fully explore what room you did stay in and I can offer you a full follow up in response to your comment.

Thank you so much for submitting your review. We would love if you did return to us should you ever return to Dublin City.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have stayed here before and we have found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. It is centrally located and convenient, walking distance, to everything Dublin has to offer. The on/off city tour buses leave from right around the corner.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room. I would recommend not accepting a corner room because it is very small a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bertram4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

I stayed in the Academy hotel in July this year with my Fiancee. The hotel is located in the heart of Dublin city center and in easy walking distance to the main shopping areas and it also has easy access to lots of great restaurants.
The room was very clean, well stocked with towels and toiletries and had a comfortable bed.
The gym is a bit small and gets very warm but the machines all worked fine.
We were given a complementary breakfast from the Deputy manager Seamus, which was really nice. There was a great selection of food.
Really nice hotel and well priced for its location. We will stay here again, when we are back in Dublin

Room Tip: Ask for a room that's not located above the bar next door. We had some trouble getting to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmci12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here our second time in Dublin. It is in a fantastic location, a short walk to Temple Bar, Trinity College and the Liffey. Our room was quiet, clean and cozy. The Airlink Shuttle picks up just 10ft from the front door, so an excellent hotel for airport access.

Overall it's just a hotel, but if you're looking for a great location and a clean, comfortable stay, this will do just fine.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChoicesAddUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear ChoicesAddUp

Thank you so much for submitting and sharing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and choosing us as your city centre hotel.

We would love if you would return to us in the near future and should you ever decide to return to Dublin City Centre please contact us so we can thank you personally for your wonderful review and look after you on your return.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

My boyfriend booked this hotel for valentines weekend 2014. Our room was lovely, the bed was comfortable and it was nicely decorated. We arrived very early, around half 8 in the morning so we where pleased we could check in straight away. The hotel is in a great location just off O'Connell street, just walking distance from shops. It is a short taxi ride away from the Temple Bar area which is great with a large variety of bars and restaurants. Over all we had a great weekend in Dublin and would recommend this hotel for short weekend breaks

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seamus B, Manager at Academy Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Dear Alexandra L

Thank you so much for you kind review. We are so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We do run some wonderful packages and we are glad you stayed during that time. Check in time is 2.30PM however we do our best to get our guests checked in as early as possible and we were delighted to accommodate you. We are a great hotel to explore Dublin from and its great to see you took advantage of that.

Thank you for submitting your review and we do hope you would return to us in the near future. Should you need anything further please contact us on wecare@academyplazahotel.ie

Thanks again.

Warm Regards
Séamus Brennan
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Parnell Square
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
1.4 mi away
Dublin Skylon Hotel
Dublin Skylon Hotel
#33 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Academy Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Academy Plaza Hotel

Property: Academy Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 - 14 Findlater Place | Off Upper O'Connell St, Dublin D01 X2X0, Ireland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Dublin
#46 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#56 Business Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Academy Plaza Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ACADEMY PLAZA HOTEL is located in the heart of Dublin, just off the capital's main thoroughfare. Our hotel boasts 304 stunning new bedrooms and suites, with modern facilities in all rooms. Hotel amenities include a stunning marbled lobby, Sir Harry’s Grill Bar & Bistro, 5 meeting rooms, an On Site Fitness Room, Beauty Salon and complimentary WiFi access throughout the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Academy Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Dublin
Dublin Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing